1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [One Click][Updated]LG Spectrum All in One Pkg for Root, CWM Touch Recovery, and Unroot

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mtmichaelson, Mar 7, 2012.

  1. atomilluminati

    atomilluminati Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012

    Feb 26, 2012
    148
    27
    43
    Male
    Well I do alot of things.... but professionally ..
    Detroit, MI
    Not quite sure if it's going to be different or not but my advice would be to open the batch as a text file and make sure that you have the directories to match what the batch is looking for... If you have the zip though you should just have to extract all and run the batch...
     

    Advertisement

    KB12 likes this.
  2. KB12

    KB12 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012

    Apr 9, 2012
    22
    0
    15
    Thanks. The file path was different coming over from parallels. instead of editing batch file, I put the whole .zip folder on a thumb drive which is read the same across both mac and windows and that did the trick. It successfully added CWM. Now I don't know how to use it! Everytime I go into ROM Manager, it says I need to install CWM before I can boot into it.

    Do I choose the AT&T Nitro label?
    LGS is not a choice.
     
  3. atomilluminati

    atomilluminati Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012

    Feb 26, 2012
    148
    27
    43
    Male
    Well I do alot of things.... but professionally ..
    Detroit, MI
    No just hit reboot into recovery and that's it...we have no other functionality from ROM manager yet
     
  4. admn81

    admn81 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    641
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010

    Nov 20, 2010
    641
    150
    93
    MN
    Thanks for this script and to the people who helped test it..works like a charm
     
  5. javilo

    javilo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012

    Apr 12, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Support Engineer
    Houston,Tx
    Im new to this, until yesterday I had a Iphone 4s and I had it unlocked, Jailbroken and I knew what to do after I had jailbroken it. I literally just got my new LG last night to try Android and I just ran through the ROOT steps and it worked like a charm....Now what can i do with my newly ROOTED device?
     
  6. laflumboise

    laflumboise Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    Wondering if you could tell me what went wrong with this part....I picked option 7 from within the dos window, my phone then appeared to reboot but never came back on.

    I did get the notification in the dos window that the process completed, but again, nothing happened on the phone other than being powered down and it took a couple minutes before it would recognize any button presses to turn back on.
     
  7. BadgerRed

    BadgerRed Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012

    Apr 17, 2012
    20
    7
    16
    Wisconsin
    Hi everyone, new Spectrum owner here. I used this AIO package to root and install CWM Recovery. I used ROM Toolbox to reboot into recovery, and performed my first backup via CWM Recovery. The backup took a few minutes, and I saw a couple of messages while in process:

    No /sdcard/ .android_secure found. Skipping backup of applications on external storage.
    No sd-ext found. Skipping backup of sd-ext.

    It did indicate "Backup complete!" at the end.

    When I rebooted my phone, I noticed that all of my apps that I had moved to the SD card can no longer be found. I see a generic gray icon for each of those apps in my app drawer, but when I touch it I get the message "Application is not installed on your phone."

    Whoops! So did something go wrong? Is there a way to recover from this?

    Thanks!
     
  8. Neph81

    Neph81 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,399
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012

    Mar 3, 2012
    1,399
    823
    213
    Male
    Wisconsin
    While I don't have a fix for your issue, I do have a question. Why are you installing stuff to the sdcard when the phone has so much space on it, not to mention the better performance speed and battery savings? As for the real issue at hand, I will check into it and see if maybe one of the fstab settings is not spot on.
     
  9. BadgerRed

    BadgerRed Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012

    Apr 17, 2012
    20
    7
    16
    Wisconsin
    A fair question, and I guess I was moving any apps that were capable of being stored on the SD card there to save as much of the 1.4GB of free internal memory. I wasn't aware there were any limitations, but you certainly hint at that, and I should probably rethink how I'm managing my memory.

    When I connect via USB to a PC and browse the .android_secure folder on the SD card, I can see the .asec files for those apps that I had moved to the SD card.

    Using the App Manager in ROM Toolbox, I can still see these "missing" apps. The app location is listed as (using Flixster as an example): /mnt/asec/net.flixster.android-1/pkg.apk
    This file (and the net.flixster.android-1 folder) no longer exist, so perhaps it was wiped during the backup process in CWM Recovery.

    I didn't have anything all that important in those apps that were on the SD card, so it's not the end of the world to re-install those from the Play store. Maybe I'll take this opportunity to try the new PopcornKernel with V4.

    Thanks for the assistance, I truly appreciate it! It is experiences like this that help me learn how this damn thing works!
     
  10. BadgerRed

    BadgerRed Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012

    Apr 17, 2012
    20
    7
    16
    Wisconsin
    As a follow up, I noticed this morning that the photos I had taken with the camera (stored in the SD Card DCIM folder) are no longer accessible. So I tried to connect to a PC to pull the photos off that way, but Windows says that it doesn't support the file format even though the photos are JPEGs. Did the files get corrupted somehow during the backup process? The music that I had loaded onto the SD card seems to play just fine.

    Similarly, when I tried to do a restore from CWM Recovery, the MD5 sum is a mismatch, so that nandroid image is useless now? Ugh. Perhaps my SD card, which is the one that came installed on the phone, is now faulty. It was not causing me any troubles before attempting the backup from CWM Recovery yesterday.

    I'm just trying to determine if my experience is unique, or if there is something that I did wrong in the process.

    Thanks!!
     
  11. Neph81

    Neph81 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,399
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012

    Mar 3, 2012
    1,399
    823
    213
    Male
    Wisconsin
    I've only seen CWM Rec corrupt a sdcard once before on the Spectrum, but it can apparently happen. My best suggestion is to find someone good at pulling files from a corrupted drive to get your photos back and then replacing your sdcard with a better one. The previous person that corrupted their card was also running the memory card that came with the phone. I'm using a 32GB class 10 and have run into no issues so far.
     
    BadgerRed likes this.
  12. hager03

    hager03 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012

    Mar 30, 2012
    48
    2
    36
    const. superintendent
    lower al.
    Badger I am new to the rooting thing also.
    I used titanium backup pro and made a backup using it.
    I had no problem restoring apps on sd card.
     
  13. BadgerRed

    BadgerRed Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012

    Apr 17, 2012
    20
    7
    16
    Wisconsin
    Which brand card are you using? I see the pre-installed 16GB card is class 4; do you notice a big improvement in access speed with the class 10 card?

    I've learned some lessons from this! In the future I'll likely be more OCD about backing up my photos from the SD card. I was able to backup the data for some of my apps using ROM Toolbox, and I'm in the process of re-installing my apps. Hopefully I'm able to restore the data for those apps.

    Are you saying you did a nandroid backup from the Titanium Pro app? My ROM Toolbox app has a nandroid backup option, but it just brings up a prompt that ROM Manager (CWM tool) has blocked other apps from creating backups in recovery unless ROM Manager Premium is installed. A lot of different methods to achieve a reliable backup!
     
  14. hager03

    hager03 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012

    Mar 30, 2012
    48
    2
    36
    const. superintendent
    lower al.
    Titanium backup is an app that backs up all data and apps
    You can also use it to freeze apps you didn't use.
    You need the paid version.
     
  15. mtmichaelson

    mtmichaelson Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    138
    Posts:
    471
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011

    Aug 5, 2011
    471
    767
    138
    Antioch, TN
    Get dropbox and download the app. It will auto upload your pictures to your dropbox when you take them.
     
  16. MrB206

    MrB206 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,879
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012

    Quick question... I thought I saw Neph say this install of CWM will prevent us from being able to take the OTA. Is that true or did I read it wrong? I was going to restore my stock, take the OTA, see what's new and then get back on to BrokenOut.
     
  17. finndo77

    finndo77 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    860
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    860
    107
    103
    Male
    Unix/VMware admin
    Richmond, VA
    That is correct, he disabled OTA if you have his CWM installed. Because the 2.3.6 update (ZV5 i think) will kill your root.
     
  18. Neph81

    Neph81 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,399
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012

    Mar 3, 2012
    1,399
    823
    213
    Male
    Wisconsin
    Mr. B , my CWM Recovery will not report back that it is a VS920 4G, which is required for it to get past the asset check in the upgrade package. If you are familiar with what you are doing, you can remove this check and flash manually. The main reason I did this thou, was so that some OTA update didn't sneak in and leave everyone without root/CWM/etc as we still don't have a pure ASOP build for our phone to turn to.
     
  19. Neph81

    Neph81 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,399
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012

    Mar 3, 2012
    1,399
    823
    213
    Male
    Wisconsin
    I use a Lexar 32GB class 10 that I bought when Amazon was doing a massive sale. I get very good performance out of it. The one hiccup that I have noticed thou, is that the one area of the phone that gets warm is also right behind the SDcard slot. I do worry that this will kill the SDcard at some point.
     
  20. MrB206

    MrB206 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,879
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012

    Honestly, I'd prefer that wasn't the case. I figure if someone knows how to flash a rom, they should know taking an ota will remove root and also know how to reroot. Just my take.
     
  21. finndo77

    finndo77 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    860
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    860
    107
    103
    Male
    Unix/VMware admin
    Richmond, VA
    I equate figuring to assuming... And do not think anyone wants to be blamed for an OTA messing someone's phone up...

    Also a note, my first spectrum, that I bought at Verizon for $200, received the ZV4 OTA while I was in the DMV two days after I bought it, the phone was on vibrate only, so I never heard the little beeps it does to alert you to the update. It had a count down timer that auto ran the update when it ran down, without any user input.

    So in that case it ran and I didn't know it (I had previously hit the delay update button at 2am after it woke me, my wife, and my baby up with the beeping. There was no cancel button, only start now and delay, until I could get home and check to see what the update was going to do to my phone). When I got out of the DMV I was stuck in the CWM boot loop, at the time I did not know what that was, and my phone was my only source of internet access while on vacation, because I brought the wrong charger for my laptop and it died the first night while trying to root the phone (would not have died if the rooting instructions did not assume everyone knows that LG phones require you to be in ethernet internet sharing to enable debugging).

    So, auto updates without user initiation is a darn good reason to block OTA updates.
     
  22. sic4672

    sic4672 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    484
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010

    Feb 3, 2010
    484
    114
    68
    Electronics Engineer
    East NC
    So question from left field.... I just made a nandroid earlier today, but the date on the files is 31 Dec 79!!!!! My actual phone date and time are correct. Is there a way to set the proper date and time in CWM or is that a bug in the current version? (or did I just find a way to time travel?!?! :afraid:)
     
  23. mkl4466

    mkl4466 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012

    Apr 20, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    Thanks for all your hard work on this. I've installed broken out ROM, but I'd like to restore some of the stock apps that are deleted from this build. For the revolution, you had a fantastic tool for installing stock system apps. Do you think a tool like that might become available for the spectrum? If not, can you provide any guidance on how to install system apps? The apka are available from Joel Perry on his site, link is on the broken out ROM thread, but I can't get them to install, and putting the apks into /system/app doesn't do any good.
     
  24. Neph81

    Neph81 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,399
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012

    Mar 3, 2012
    1,399
    823
    213
    Male
    Wisconsin
    It's a glitch in CWM that I do not know how to fix. I have sent a request out to Koush to build an official build for our phone, but have not heard back from him yet.
     
  25. mtmichaelson

    mtmichaelson Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    138
    Posts:
    471
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011

    Aug 5, 2011
    471
    767
    138
    Antioch, TN
    With the update so close I am not going to do it right now. Possibly after the update lol. That tool was a fun one to write from scratch, took a day off sick to get me to do it lol.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...