1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

Root One Rom at a time

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by New2G2, Sep 2, 2011.

  1. New2G2

    New2G2 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    28
    0
    15
    I want to make sure that I get this concept straight. After many years as a windoze user understanding Linux has been challenging!

    I can have many custom ROM's on my SD card but only one can be "Flashed" as the operating ROM at a time. If I want to run a differnt ROM I have to flash the new one.

    I think what is throwing me off is I have Clockwork Recovery and I flashed it. If I turn my phone off and turn it on I am still on the stock T-Mobile configuration.

    I may or may not flash Cyanogen, I know I don't want 2.2.3 with all it's problems.

    Sorry for this Noob questions but I don't want to brick my phone by thinking I know more than I do.
     

    Advertisement

  2. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    31,501
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,501
    22,914
    3,118
    Scotland
    In it's simplest form, that's right yeah, 1 ROM at a time, then you can flash others when you want to change. There are other steps involved (backups & wipes etc)

    Normally your device won't boot into clockwork by itself, there's a special button combination you need to do in order for it to boot into the recovery image. This will differ dependant on handset. On mine, it's volume down whilst powering on.

    Which phone do you own? I'll move your thread to the relevant forum and users of the device can give more specific assistance.
     
    cds0699 likes this.
  3. cds0699

    cds0699 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,545
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010

    May 22, 2010
    1,545
    347
    163
    Shenandoah Jct WV
    I do know one phone has a custom kernel that does have dual boot support :)

    but ya, El Presidente is correct.
     
    El Presidente likes this.
  4. New2G2

    New2G2 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    28
    0
    15
    I have the G2X, thank you for you explanation.
     
  5. Rusty

    Rusty Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,635
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    1,635
    192
    143
    Pompey, UK
    Then you're in the wrong forum, I'll move this.

    That does however throw a small spanner in the works as you're new. To install ClockworkMod so that you can boot directly into it, you have to use NVFlash, ROM Manager will only fake flash it (need to use RM to enter CWM)

    If you have NVFlashed, then hold both power and vol down until the blue LG/orange Android appears, then release.
     
  6. dan330

    dan330 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    11,819
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    11,819
    3,411
    923
    yes.. only 1 OS/ROM can be on the phone at a time. you can have as may files that you want on the SD card (space permitting). a file is a file is a file is a file.

    it should not loose the flashed rom.. when rebooting..
    i am going to guess... your phone does not have a full root.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...