1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General One X - EE/Orange uk

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dazzler22, Aug 9, 2013.

  1. dazzler22

    dazzler22 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    11
    1
    36
    Male
    IT Network Engineer/Software breaker :p
    SouthWest UK
    Ok so weird question has anyone else on orange noticed that since it has changed to EE the signal has got much worse.?

    I as as im not sure if it could be a phone issue.

    For the last couple months the signal down here in the southwest has been terrible. At least 90% of my calls get cut off twice or more....

    At home right now im on wifi with no signal where before i used to have 3g+ throughout the house. now it comes and goes and talking to someone is hard work with it cutting out all the time...

    So peeps is it just me? Any ideas could it be the phone?

    Or is anyone else getting this with EE (everything everywhere is more like nothing nowhere for me!)

    Cheers
    Dazzler
     

    Advertisement

  2. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,513
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    1,513
    237
    153
    Button Moon
    I am on the same network, but i have noticed no difference at all.
    Have you tried contacting them to see if a mast in your area has a fault.
     
  3. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,107
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,107
    24,090
    3,118
    Scotland
    Conversely, I've seen an improvement.

    As anoniemouse says, try giving them a call, see if there are any issues in your area?
     
  4. thicks56

    thicks56 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    335
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012

    Apr 18, 2012
    335
    37
    43
    I agree my signal has got worse since they changed to EE, I used to have a strong singnal all over hull, now it just drops out completely every couple of minutes for about 20 seconds.

    If it happens in the middle of a call it cuts off the call,

    I wasn't sure if it was my phone either but my mother in law is having the same issue and she has a HTC Desire S
     
  5. dazzler22

    dazzler22 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    11
    1
    36
    Male
    IT Network Engineer/Software breaker :p
    SouthWest UK
    Mmm ok so mixed responce. I will give them a call and see what they say then.

    Cheers
    Dazzler
     
  6. coos lick

    coos lick Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    359
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    359
    81
    53
    Scotland
    My data connection seems to have got worse, voice the same - central Edinburgh. Used to be fine at my usual bus stop home, but now drops in and out. Pain as like to browse to kill time while waiting.
     
  7. dazzler22

    dazzler22 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    11
    1
    36
    Male
    IT Network Engineer/Software breaker :p
    SouthWest UK
    My Bro was down from Bristol this past weekend, without me mentioning it he asked me when the signal for orange became sh** as it was fine last time he was down.....

    Must call orange! (but at least it is not my phone as he has an iPhone 4s and the same problem)

    Cheers
    Dazzler
     
  8. coney

    coney Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010

    Apr 28, 2010
    71
    8
    16
    My Data is certainly poorer near London.
    Heard a muttering that they are pushing all they have into the 4G side and it's having a detrimental effect on the 3G, but surely they won't do that???
     
  9. Cessquill

    Cessquill Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012

    Apr 12, 2012
    48
    5
    16
    In Stamford it seems up and down for data. Sometimes Speedtest reads <100kbps, sometimes >8000kbps at the same location. Go out east and I frequently lose all signal (I was working near the coast the other day and had nothing at all).

    Unless you've got a signal you can absolutely rely on, how can data be anything more than a novelty? If I can't trust a consistent data speed, then I can not use it as a serious business tool. This is only going to be made worse with 4G, where you could go from - say - 30mbps down to 80kbps in a few seconds.

    Sorry, slightly off-topic rant for a moment, but my signal's not great. I'd certainly expected an improvement following the merger with T-Mobile, but there are still four or five spots on a 15 mile journey from Stamford to Peterborough where calls will always be dropped.

    What you're getting sounds like transmitter issues though; has the merger put extra load on some of the masts? (I'm certainly no expert though).
     
  10. thicks56

    thicks56 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    335
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012

    Apr 18, 2012
    335
    37
    43
    Just to clarify are all these people having signal/data problems on the Orange side of EE?

    Is anyone on the t-mobile side of EE having any problems?

    My wife had just to a new HTC windows 8 phone on EE/t-mobile and in the area's when my HTC and my mother-in-laws HTC (both on EE/Orange) completely loose signal my wifes is still at full strength.
     
  11. Cessquill

    Cessquill Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012

    Apr 12, 2012
    48
    5
    16
    That's interesting - I thought the networks were merged and sharing infrastructure.
     
  12. JamBon87

    JamBon87 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010

    Sep 29, 2010
    34
    1
    16
    Im with Orange/EE, the signal since merger has been shocking. My mate is TMobile/EE and he is also having the same problems. Despite them saying that nothing would change with regards to signal. Frankly if I wasnt getting 40% discount off them I would be elsewhere.
     
  13. rod9669

    rod9669 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    277
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    277
    41
    43
    I'm on T-Mobile in South West Wales - gone really shite around here. Just smashed the screen on my One X so thinking of going to phones4u to buy me out of my contract (6 months left) and get the One on Vodaphone instead
     
  14. Cessquill

    Cessquill Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012

    Apr 12, 2012
    48
    5
    16
  15. dazzler22

    dazzler22 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    11
    1
    36
    Male
    IT Network Engineer/Software breaker :p
    SouthWest UK
    My office has trackers built into the vans. They run on tmobile SIM cards and now they are failing to update location and data I'm guessing also with signal problems. This problem is showing with my usage too only 200mb of data used in a month and 60 mins.

    Cheers
    Daz
     
  16. dazzler22

    dazzler22 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    11
    1
    36
    Male
    IT Network Engineer/Software breaker :p
    SouthWest UK
    So finally managed to get some signal to call orange.

    They told me that my local mast has been switched off.... They can't tell me why and are investigating... But it has been off for at least 3 months.

    They are calling me back on Sunday to do diagnostics.

    Cheers
    Daz
     
    El Presidente likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...