1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Only FAT32 drives?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by hawkeye680, Jun 3, 2011.

  1. hawkeye680

    hawkeye680 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    44
    3
    16
    Trying to decide between an Acer and an Asus.

    I read in a Best Buy review that the Acer can't read anything but FAT32- is this true?

    See comment:
    2: There is a usb 2.0 connection, this was good cause you are suppose to be able to access external hard drives or usb sitcks. BUT it will only reconize them if they are in fat32 format, unfortunally these days windows vista/7 only formats to ntfs, so u have to buy software to format the drive, oh and btw, fat32 wont hold files larger then 4gb at a time, so theres a delima.

    Thanks all.
     

    Advertisement

  2. mplevy

    mplevy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    861
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    861
    135
    123
    New York, USA
    Umm, Vista and 7 can format FAT32. The issue is that there is a partition size limitation on FAT32 preventing you from using one partition in FAT32 on a 2 TB drive. Looking at an external on my Win 7 machine right now, a 60 GB partition will not format FAT32, it will allow exFAT though. A 4 GB partition will allow it to format in FAT or FAT32 as well as exFAT and NTFS.
     
  3. mrcaptain

    mrcaptain Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    194
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010

    Jun 22, 2010
    194
    19
    38
    You have two options, you can either root your Acer and you can download the hack which will allow your device to recognise NTFS hdds. Or you can use a free programme called easeus (google for the website) and it will format your hdd to FAT32 within seconds. This is what I used on the recommendation of another forum member, pzalesky.
     
  4. Hajile_Ibushi

    Hajile_Ibushi Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #315
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010

    Nov 3, 2010
    151
    16
    38
    That's one of the reasons I'm waiting for the archos gen 9.
     
  5. mrcaptain

    mrcaptain Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    194
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010

    Jun 22, 2010
    194
    19
    38
    Is the ability to only read FAT32 drives not an android limitation?
     
  6. gabeyong

    gabeyong Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    725
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011

    Mar 3, 2011
    725
    288
    113
    One must go back to the roots of Android. It was originally developed for mobile phones. Android OS was tweaked later to run on tablets. Android Mobile phones & Tablets use SD cards formatted with FAT32. There was no need for NTFS compatibility...

    With Root - The Iconia A500 Tablet reads NTFS. It is only a matter of time before compatibility with NTFS HD Drives will be integrated into the Android OS.

    Cheers :)

    p/s
    I currently have a rooted A500 Tablet watching HD movies from NTFS formatted HD Drives. But other than watching movies I hardly have any other need to access files greater 4GB files on the tablet.
     
  7. splatoid

    splatoid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    630
    Joined:
    May 12, 2011

    May 12, 2011
    630
    83
    78
    Repair Technician for Grocery stores Auto meat wra
    Washington State
    I like to keep all my android apps that I may want to use later on my 500 gig WD drive and it works great with root. and the fix from XDA.
    I loaded a 720p video onto my drive and tried to play it and it lagged and the voice was off. So I loaded it to the TAB and it still was messed up. I used mobo player is there a better player for high def?
     
  8. mrcaptain

    mrcaptain Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    194
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010

    Jun 22, 2010
    194
    19
    38
    I've not been able to play any 720p movies i've put on the tab. Tried a few different players.
     
  9. gabeyong

    gabeyong Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    725
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011

    Mar 3, 2011
    725
    288
    113
    I have been using MoboPlayer to play all my Blu-ray rips at 720p via mini HDMI to my Samsung Smart TV. You have to install the ARM V7 VFPV3 software codecs, then long press any 720p MKV formatted Blu-ray rip movie from your HDD and select <software decoding> and it will play perfectly, no lag, skips or pixilation issues (btw... I am using a LaCie d2 2 TB External hard drive).

    cheers :)
     
  10. splatoid

    splatoid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    630
    Joined:
    May 12, 2011

    May 12, 2011
    630
    83
    78
    Repair Technician for Grocery stores Auto meat wra
    Washington State
    Cool tip thanks.
    I will be installing that one.

    I already have that codec so i just wasnt slecting the softare decoding.
     

Share This Page

Loading...