1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root ooh boy! wireless tether about to come to an end?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by digdug1, May 31, 2011.

  1. digdug1

    digdug1 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,965
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    1,965
    309
    163

    Advertisement

  2. konman

    konman Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    69
    2
    16
  3. Ibrick

    Ibrick Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    983
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011

    Feb 21, 2011
    983
    208
    93
    Banking
    Milwaukee
    Wonder if that'll effect the non-OTA upgrades..
     
  4. MickMac35

    MickMac35 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011

    Feb 19, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    Bristol, PA
    It should only end for the stock hotspot app. I have used wireless tether on other devices before they had their promo and it worked fine.
     
  5. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    yes,the only thing it should affect is the free hotspot. when your using wireless tether,then only thing they can tell(without looking really close) is that youre using data. they dont know if youre watching a you tube or tethering another device.

    they issue statements like that to try and scare/guilt/whatever folks into buyin their hotspot plan,but really the only thing they can do is block apps like wireless tether on the phones market.

    you can still grab the wireless tehter app from the online market,or from one of your friends here on AF :)
     
  6. Ibrick

    Ibrick Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    983
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011

    Feb 21, 2011
    983
    208
    93
    Banking
    Milwaukee
    Open garden is an exact copy of wireless tether, and still on the market last I checked, if anyone's having trouble finding a copy.
     
  7. defTwitch

    defTwitch Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011

    Apr 5, 2011
    75
    10
    18
    consultant
    east coast...
    So... I just went and read some app reviews on android market and someone claimed Open Garden did NOT work with a 2.3 upgrade.

    Question... anyone else able to confirm this?

    Question2... anyone have a recommendation between Open Garden, Barnacle, or some other Wireless Tether app?

    I'd like to grab one just in case and put it on my phone as I'll prolly flash soon to gb.
     
  8. solo65impala

    solo65impala Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    152
    22
    38
    Steel mill worker
    Garage in Kentucky
    I like wireless tether but both it an barnacle work pretty good on my bolt.
     
  9. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    i just tried my old tried and true wireless tether app with bamf 2.0-5 and its still working fine :D

    online market link:
    https://market.android.com/details?id=android.tether&feature=search_result

    if that doesnt work,anyone that wants a copy of the .apk feel free to pm me an email addy to send it to.

    i havent used any others. wireless tehter has worked on every phone ive had,so ive never had any reason to change it.
     
  10. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,842
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    1,842
    122
    143
    Queens, New York
    Barnacle is the best wireless tether app I've used on my Droid 1 and it's still available in the Market.
     
  11. digdug1

    digdug1 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,965
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    1,965
    309
    163
    not so sure about the app wireless tether working in the future guys

    taken directly from the article i linked to:

    *Note - From what I can tell, this is only affecting Gingerbread builds that attempt to run Wireless Tether and not other tethering apps. My Thunderbolt and DROIDX both popped up the message above and are running 2.3. I also used the non-Market Wireless Tether.
    *Note 2 - Barnacle appears to work still.

    i assume he is running stock gingerbread.
     
  12. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    i guess well see if it stops... im on bamf 2.0 and it is definately working right now. i tethered my ipod to it,checked my email,went to the app store,then used safari browser to go to a couple websites. connected fine and staying connected to android tether.

    ive not ever seen that message pop up either.

    wonder if it has anything to do with the fact that i have purposely never used the free hotpspot the phone came with?

    i do not see how verizon can know if im running wireless tether on froyo or GB,or if im just watching lots of u tube videos.
     
  13. digdug1

    digdug1 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,965
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    1,965
    309
    163
    im not sure how they find out either. i do remember at&t customers receiving messages about "stealing" data using tether apps not long ago.

    i wonder if keelex is on the leaked ruu and not a custom rom. it would explain why some go to that screen and we dont.
     
  14. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    I think AT&T was bluffing.... I don't think they could tell either. Typing this on my tethered iPod btw :D it's been connected since the last post. :p
     
  15. digdug1

    digdug1 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,965
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    1,965
    309
    163
    Lol. Sent via tethered laptop. ;)
     
  16. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    awsome! :D
     
  17. philhyde

    philhyde Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    15
    2
    16
    The above market link doesn't work. Help a brother out? :D
     
  18. Ibrick

    Ibrick Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    983
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011

    Feb 21, 2011
    983
    208
    93
    Banking
    Milwaukee
    Wireless tether, open garden, and barnacle all saved..

    One of em's gotta work.

    If not, I'm sure some clever dev could bake something into a ROM.. ;)
     
  19. digdug1

    digdug1 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,965
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    1,965
    309
    163

    If the link above doesn't work, download market enabler from the market. It lets you spoof your phone into thinking you are using a different carrier such as Sprint (who hasn't blocked wireless tether yet) ;)
     
  20. The_Superhoo

    The_Superhoo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #266
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    271
    Joined:
    May 12, 2011

    May 12, 2011
    271
    19
    58
    Male
    Falls Church, VA
    So if youre rooted do you need a different Tetherig program for free? (ie not the stock one)

    Also, my vzw rep told me in the store that this was possible. Awesome. Lol
     
  21. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    he lied,lol. in his defense he may have just not known any better ;)

    but yes, dont use the stock one... they will be able to tell that youre using it and charge you accordingly.

    i use "wireless tether" but as mentioned,barnacle works well too. if for some reason the link doesnt work(working fine for me) go to the market and search for wireless tether.

    i have purposely not used the stock one even tho it was available and free,with the thinking that they will think i have no need for hotspot and not question my data consumption :D
     
  22. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    try going to the online market and search for "wireless tether". i wasnt signed in when i searched for it,so im sure its not just coming up cause its tied to my account.

    if you still cant find it,pm me an email addy and ill email you a .apk :)
     
  23. digdug1

    digdug1 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,965
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    1,965
    309
    163

    Unfortunately wireless tether and pda net has been removed from Verizon's market. That's why offered the idea of using market enabler.
     
  24. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    Verizon has no control over the online market. Go to it on a PC,not your phones market app or browser, and its there.

    You can then send it right to your phone by signing into your Google account.

    Sorry if I was unclear on this. Market enabler is a good option as well. Specially if you're not near an actual computer :)
     
  25. philhyde

    philhyde Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    15
    2
    16
    I tried this too. When you select the device to send it to, my Thunderbolt is in the list but greyed out.
     
    digdug1 and scotty85 like this.

Share This Page

Loading...