1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Open source license in Android BSP

Discussion in 'Android Rooting' started by vinothkumars, Jun 20, 2019.

  1. vinothkumars

    vinothkumars Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #530
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    May 24, 2017

    May 24, 2017
    29
    3
    16
    Male
    bangalore
    Dear Androidforums,

    I am working on Android 7. I want to add the Open source license in Android BSP. If anyone experience in this please let me know.

    Please provide the path for place this file and file format.


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]



    Thanks & Regards,
    VinothS.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven ...eschew obfuscation...
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    4,488
    Posts:
    38,220
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    38,220
    47,348
    4,488
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    Are you trying to build a ROM?
     
  3. vinothkumars

    vinothkumars Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #530
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    May 24, 2017

    May 24, 2017
    29
    3
    16
    Male
    bangalore
  4. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven ...eschew obfuscation...
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    4,488
    Posts:
    38,220
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    38,220
    47,348
    4,488
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    I moved the thread to the Rooting forum for the moment. If it doesn't get traction here I'll move it to the device forum and tag it root. Let me know which Moto model it is.

    I know there are some rom devs that work on Moto that can probably help if they see the thread.
     
    codesplice, ocnbrze and mikedt like this.
  5. vinothkumars

    vinothkumars Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #530
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    May 24, 2017

    May 24, 2017
    29
    3
    16
    Male
    bangalore
    I have the BSP (Android 7). We configured for our board and not moto I am showing this one for demo. Please give the path to do place this license file in bsp and configuration. Later application team take to UI. Thank you.
     
  6. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,638
    Posts:
    8,978
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013

    Oct 29, 2013
    8,978
    10,550
    1,638
    Male
    SysAdmin
    Huntsville, AL
    Wouldn't that be referenced inside the AOSP settings app?
     
  7. vinothkumars

    vinothkumars Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #530
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    May 24, 2017

    May 24, 2017
    29
    3
    16
    Male
    bangalore
    I can not understood. Please explain.
     
  8. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,638
    Posts:
    8,978
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013

    Oct 29, 2013
    8,978
    10,550
    1,638
    Male
    SysAdmin
    Huntsville, AL
    I assume that you are building this ROM from the AOSP source code?

    https://android.googlesource.com/pl...android/settings/SettingsLicenseActivity.java

    Code (Text):
    1.     private static final String DEFAULT_LICENSE_PATH = "/system/etc/NOTICE.html.gz";
    2.     private static final String PROPERTY_LICENSE_PATH = "ro.config.license_path";
    So the location of the license file is /system/etc/NOTICE.html.gz by default, but it can be overridden by the ro.config.license_path property.
     
    ocnbrze and Unforgiven like this.
  9. vinothkumars

    vinothkumars Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #530
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    May 24, 2017

    May 24, 2017
    29
    3
    16
    Male
    bangalore
    Thank you for your reply. I done but, i unable to view the content. I got following error when click UI "Failed to find viewer" in terminal. And I install the browser for web view. But, I got the same problem.
     
  10. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,638
    Posts:
    8,978
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013

    Oct 29, 2013
    8,978
    10,550
    1,638
    Male
    SysAdmin
    Huntsville, AL
    Did you review the rest of the SettingsLicenseActivity.java file? It seems to indicate that it hands off to HTMLViewer instead of WebView since it handles the compressed *.gz format.
     
  11. vinothkumars

    vinothkumars Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #530
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    May 24, 2017

    May 24, 2017
    29
    3
    16
    Male
    bangalore
    Yes I know it's actually handles the *.gz format and use html viewer only. And these are default in code. Is there any issue ?
     
  12. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,638
    Posts:
    8,978
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013

    Oct 29, 2013
    8,978
    10,550
    1,638
    Male
    SysAdmin
    Huntsville, AL
    Honestly, this is about where my expertise drops off. I'm not a developer, I'm just good at searching for things. :D

    Maybe try extracting the original NOTICE.html.gz, add/change whatever you need, and then re-compress it with gzip?
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  13. vinothkumars

    vinothkumars Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #530
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    May 24, 2017

    May 24, 2017
    29
    3
    16
    Male
    bangalore
    Thank you. Actually we can not add our content in the same file. this file was generated by the script. But, I add my file with my own name. And I checked also, the file present as well as my requirement. But, what is the main problem is when I click this Open source License UI i unable to view it. I got following error when click UI "Failed to find viewer" in terminal. And in UI "There is a problem loading the licenses".

    I want to know, is there any default configuration to disable/enable web view ?


    https://android.googlesource.com/pl...android/settings/SettingsLicenseActivity.java

    try {
    startActivity(intent);
    finish();
    } catch (ActivityNotFoundException e) {
    Log.e(TAG, "Failed to find viewer", e);
    showErrorAndFinish();
    }
    }
    private void showErrorAndFinish() {
    Toast.makeText(this, R.string.settings_license_activity_unavailable, Toast.LENGTH_LONG)
    .show();
    finish();
    }
     
  14. vinothkumars

    vinothkumars Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #530
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    May 24, 2017

    May 24, 2017
    29
    3
    16
    Male
    bangalore
    Hi @codesplice ,

    Will you please give your response.
     
  15. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,638
    Posts:
    8,978
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013

    Oct 29, 2013
    8,978
    10,550
    1,638
    Male
    SysAdmin
    Huntsville, AL
    My response is the same:

    I don't have the answer you seek.
     
  16. vinothkumars

    vinothkumars Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #530
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    May 24, 2017

    May 24, 2017
    29
    3
    16
    Male
    bangalore
    Hi @codesplice ,

    Thank you for your reply. If it possible, please forward this thread to your circle and developers. We hope any idea we will get. Thank you.
     
  17. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven ...eschew obfuscation...
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    4,488
    Posts:
    38,220
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    38,220
    47,348
    4,488
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    This is an open forum visible to all members, including anyone @codesplice could ask.
     
    codesplice likes this.
  18. vinothkumars

    vinothkumars Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #530
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    May 24, 2017

    May 24, 2017
    29
    3
    16
    Male
    bangalore
  19. vinothkumars

    vinothkumars Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #530
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    May 24, 2017

    May 24, 2017
    29
    3
    16
    Male
    bangalore
    Hi,

    If anyone tell me, I want to add the license description.

    There are two license is there for each package.

    Licensed under the Apache License, Version 2.0 (the "License");

    GNU General Public License version 2.0

    I done this by using some reference. But, I want to cross check.

    If anyone knows please provide the ideas.




    Thanks & Regards,
    VInothS.
     

Share This Page

Loading...