1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General "Opening Screen"... not homescreen...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by chrisnewcastle, Feb 3, 2013.

  1. chrisnewcastle

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012

    Hello all

    After unlock, I get a screen with 4 of the widgets on it... calendar, clock, gmail, google+ posts.

    I'd prefer to jump straight to homescreen after unlock. The widgets all appear under the separate widgets screens anyway. Do I need this page, what's it for, and can I get rid if I want?

    thanks!

    (a new and so far very happy N7 owner)
     

    Advertisement

  2. chrisnewcastle

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012

    when I click on recent apps icon, it shows up as a "choose widget" screen... make any sense?
     
  3. dan330

    dan330 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #27
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    11,857
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    11,857
    3,447
    923
    i am sorry.. i dont understand what you are asking.

    it sounds like you are at the homescreen
     
  4. chrisnewcastle

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012

    thanks Dan. No, it's not the homescreen. I have a homescreen that (I suppose) looks like everyone else's i.e. customised with preferred background, favourite apps, and a widget telling me the weather forecast. Of course have apps screens, and widget screens, again, like everyone else.

    When I start up, I don't go straight to the homescreen. I'd like to! I end up in a sort of halfway place, with the preferred background and just 4 unmovable widgets. I then have to actually select homescreen.

    It's not the end of the world, just a bit annoying and I cannot seem to get rid of it.
     
  5. dan330

    dan330 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #27
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    11,857
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    11,857
    3,447
    923
    so.. let me repeat what i think you said...

    you wake up the N7...
    slide the unlock widget to get past the lockscreen or put in the unlock code.
    from here.. my N7 goes straight to the homescreen.
    but on yours.. it goes to another pre-home / post unlock screen. and you have to select the homescreen to get there.

    sounds to me that you might have loaded/installed some kind of app that gave this 2nd lockscreen.

    go to your app manager in settings.. and go over all the "installed" apps.
    see which might have this in it. something like "widget locker".
    you can uninstall it.. and see if it goes away.
     
    chrisnewcastle likes this.
  6. chrisnewcastle

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012

    Thanks again Dan - you've got the picture.

    Will give your suggestion a go. Appreciate it.
     
  7. chrisnewcastle

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012

    Update: unfortunately I found nothing like that, Dan. If anyone has any other ideas, pls go ahead and suggest them! Thanks in advance.
     
  8. John Bean

    John Bean Happy Wanderer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,251
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    1,251
    458
    163
    Male
    Waterfoot, Lancashire
    I'm not sure if this app will help your problem, but it does what it claims and is otherwise harmless so it's got to be worth a try:

    Lockscreen Policy
     
    chrisnewcastle likes this.
  9. Netcat

    Netcat Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    260
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011

    Apr 7, 2011
    260
    71
    53
    San Jose, California
    Are you talking about start-up after putting it to sleep or start-up after powering it off? Because I think this is normal behavior for start-up after putting the N7 to sleep. It is for mine. .

    After I put my N7 to sleep by tapping on the power button, when I wake it up, first it goes to the lock screen, then after I enter my code it goes back to whatever screen it was on before I put it to sleep. This could be one of the other screens or an app. It does not automatically go back to the home screen.

    But this is different if I completely power it off. If I do that, then my N7 does return to the home screen when it starts up.
     
    chrisnewcastle likes this.
  10. chrisnewcastle

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012

    Thanks for all the suggestions. Still do not have a fix. Tried John's idea, no success. Even did a full reset, painful but had to try (quite new purchase anyway so not too many apps etc)... STILL no joy.

    To answer Netcat... This screen I refer to is there every time I have to use the power on button, sleep or full power off. I power on and unlock... Screen with 4 widgets appears... I go to homescreen by pressing home button. Does not go there automatically.

    So now I probably just have to ignore it. The screen adds nothing of value but I can ignore it and just accept I have one more keystroke than everyone else!

    Unless anyone else knows different...
     
  11. dan330

    dan330 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #27
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    11,857
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    11,857
    3,447
    923
    take a screen shot of that for us.. so we can see it too.

    to take a screenshot.. pres both the "volume down" and "power" button at the same time.
     
    chrisnewcastle likes this.
  12. chrisnewcastle

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012

    here you go. Not aware I've set any of this up. It's just... there. After unlock.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. John Bean

    John Bean Happy Wanderer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,251
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    1,251
    458
    163
    Male
    Waterfoot, Lancashire
    I have no idea what it is, but I have something similar on a different Android device. I have an Archos internet radio that is basically just an Android box with Tune-in radio in a tabletop box, and it has exactly the same sort of intermediate screen with some fixed fixed widgets whenever it is turned on and needing a press of the home button to get the real home screen.

    It doesn't bother me but I did have a look and found no obvious way to disable it. I haven't seen anything like this on my Nexus 7 but there's certainly a strong similarity in behaviour between what you see on your Nexis 7 and what I see on my Archos. My guess is it's a side effect of some app you have installed, or perhaps a setting in one of the many Google apps.
     
    chrisnewcastle likes this.
  14. chrisnewcastle

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012

    Thank you John, helpful to know. I suppose all we can do is live with it, hoping one day we'll either stumble across a way to fix it, or someone will post the solution here. If I figure it out, I'll post back here. All the best.
     
  15. dak2

    dak2 Member
    Rank:
     #1,565
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010

    Sep 17, 2010
    35
    7
    16
    CCST lev. 3 (RETIRED)
    N.W. Ind
    That looks like the Lock Screen Display. Swipe the widget area to left or right,I believe in your case it would be left and another lock screen display should be there. N7 has two lock screen displays.


    Don
     
  16. chrisnewcastle

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012

    not sure I understand, Don.

    From hitting the power on button, I get:

    1) a clock with a lock icon below it
    2) swiping right, I get a small square box with a + in it; I hit the + and unlock the device. Not using a signin right now
    3) I then see this "widget screen" with the 4 widgets as described. Cannot seem to do anything with it, except activate one of the widgets if I wanted to. Or ignore it, as I am doing.
    4) I hit home screen icon and get to the usual home screen with a few apps I've added. All apps & widgets are located as usual.

    That's it. Step 3 seems to be the additional step here.

    I have noticed that if I activate one of the 4 widgets, it places it on the lock screen display. So that after power on, I would have to swipe multiple times before getting to the +

    But really, I'm not interested in that and not interested in having a screen with 4 widgets (all these widgets are already in the "proper" widgets section anyway).
     
  17. beefyy

    beefyy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    202
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    202
    30
    43
    Accounting
    Boston
    Just out of curiosity, what option is selected under "settings- security-screen lock"?
     
    chrisnewcastle likes this.
  18. beefyy

    beefyy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    202
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    202
    30
    43
    Accounting
    Boston
    also, is daydreaming setup? You may want to turn that off and see if that helps.
     
  19. dak2

    dak2 Member
    Rank:
     #1,565
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010

    Sep 17, 2010
    35
    7
    16
    CCST lev. 3 (RETIRED)
    N.W. Ind
    If you hold your finger on the widget box a removal dialog should appear drag the box up until the removal turns red and it should remove that screen.



    Don

    P.S. Daydream can be activated either when docked, charging, or both it is not one of the lock screen pages.
     
    chrisnewcastle likes this.
  20. chrisnewcastle

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012

    Beefyy: settings-security-screen lock says 'slide'

    Don: your widget removal option works on homescreen OR if I have multiple widgets in the unlock screen, I agree. But not on this 'interim' screen between unlock and home. You can hold finger on the widget, all it does is add it to the unlock screen.
     
  21. beefyy

    beefyy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    202
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    202
    30
    43
    Accounting
    Boston
    did you check into daydreaming? I have a similar screen when daydreaming is turned on, and maybe that's the issue. have you tried turning it off?
     
    chrisnewcastle likes this.
  22. keifer123

    keifer123 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012

    Mar 25, 2012
    4
    2
    26
    When you turn on your tablet, touch the pad lock and drag it out of the circle.
     
    chrisnewcastle likes this.
  23. dak2

    dak2 Member
    Rank:
     #1,565
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010

    Sep 17, 2010
    35
    7
    16
    CCST lev. 3 (RETIRED)
    N.W. Ind
    Chris
    When you open one of the widgets in the + box it creates another lock screen display, you can then scroll through those displays while you are locked. If you hold down on that display you will see the box highlighted ,you can the drag that box to the right or left, if you place that box to the extreme right it becomes the main lock screen display. I have mine set up that when I wake it my lock screen shows my local weather rather than the clock.
    Hope this clears this up for you.
     
    chrisnewcastle likes this.
  24. tweak4

    tweak4 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #647
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    153
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    153
    29
    43
    Cincinnati, OH
    Forgive me for asking a potentially stupid question, but when you "swipe right" to unlock, where are you starting your swipe? Are you touching the padlock icon, or starting from the edge of the screen?
    The square box with the plus sign is the "lock screen new widgit area", and tapping the plus sign brings up the screen where you choose a new lock screen widget to add. If you hit home from this screen, it does skip the widget adding process and take you home.

    However- and this is the important part- back on the initial lock screen, if you tap the padlock and drag it to the edge of the circle (rather than doing a full swipe starting from the edge), it should unlock the tablet without prompting you to add a new lock screen widget.
    Now, if you're already trying to unlock by dragging the lock icon and you're still getting the Add Widget screen, then I'd say there is something wrong with your device.
     
  25. chrisnewcastle

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012

    Kiefer & tweak4... YOU GOT IT! I did not realise I had to drag the lock to the edge of the circle. I just swiped the clock widget right and clicked on the big + and got in that way. So yes, it seems I ended up on lock screen new widget area.

    I suppose I took this route because I had not yet set up a password. I thought the lock was to be used when unlocking with a password.

    It seems obvious now. And yet... I see no mention of dragging the lock to the edge of the circle in the pathetically brief quick start guide nor the download instructions.

    So, 2 things more:
    1 thanks to EVERYONE who tried to help even if the suggestion didn't work
    2 anyone... How did you KNOW that you needed to drag to the edge of the circle?? Where did it explain that? That's gonna bug me till I find out.

    What a great forum... :)

    Cheers! Chris
     

Share This Page

Loading...