1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Opera mini text entry

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Jshizzy, Apr 21, 2010.

  1. Jshizzy

    Jshizzy Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    187
    17
    38
    Anyone else having problems with entering text while using opera mini? To clarify: about 1 out of every 3 times I enter text on any type of web site, or forum such as this, after entering and pressing POST, it erases all of the text. Freakin aggravating!
    I am using 2.1v2 and had this problem before I updated. I am also using swype lite.
     

    Advertisement

  2. grvthang

    grvthang Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    530
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    530
    62
    78
    Brooklyn, NY
    I have the same problem; in fact, I first discovered it when I tried to reply to a post on this site.
    I notice that if I hit the "Post Quick Reply" button quickly enough, the text gets posted. But it's such an iffy thing that I finally gave up - when I find the need to enter text on a web page, I switch to the stock browser in order to do it. It's a PITA, but unfortunately I haven't found a workaround.
     
  3. Demache

    Demache Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,011
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    3,011
    341
    183
    Sioux Falls, SD
    I know what you mean. But hopefully Opera is working on a fix. For now, I suppose I'll settle on the stock browser. It isn't the end of the word though since the stock browser is pretty good.
     
  4. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #108
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,947
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    2,947
    292
    263
    I can't even select a text box in it!!
    is there a trick to it?
    cheers
    dan
     
  5. thrawn86

    thrawn86 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    512
    33
    68
    Miranda
    tried opera mobile? runs rings around anything for me now
     
  6. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #108
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,947
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    2,947
    292
    263
    hi - thanks will give that a try - cheers
     
  7. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #108
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,947
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    2,947
    292
    263
    ah ha! now that does look impressive :)
    installed mobile and can now edit text boxes.

    more than that it actually keeps it in view in landscape too :-D cool
     
  8. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #108
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,947
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    2,947
    292
    263
    oh - and it looked so good :(

    doesnt seem to like certain sites when trying to enter text for a post

    please could someone try the pocketinformat forums site and see if they get the same? you dont need to actually post

    problem i get is that after opening the text box - the phone keyboard appears but then after 2 seconds it closes - you then cant enter any text :(

    cheers
    dan
     
  9. thrawn86

    thrawn86 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    512
    33
    68
    Miranda
    ^^ sounds like the usb charger bug where the cursor likes to jump around the screen making text entry impossible.
     
  10. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #108
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,947
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    2,947
    292
    263
    hi
    usb charger? I don't follow sorry
    cheers
    dan
     
  11. thrawn86

    thrawn86 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    512
    33
    68
    Miranda
    theres a widespread bug where having the charger plugged in can cause the cursor to move around, making it impossible to enter in text for example since the keyboard will disappear if a text box is no longer selected.

    try opening up the app drawer and wiggling your usb cord.
     
  12. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #108
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,947
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    2,947
    292
    263
    ah right that is whatnot thought you meant :)
    charger is not plugged in. seems to be only this one site at moment but then I've only tested my normal ones. might be that they are using some optimization
    that opera can't cope with?
    cheers
    dan
     
  13. thrawn86

    thrawn86 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    512
    33
    68
    Miranda
    tell me some of the sites you're having this problem with, I want to try it. (curious)
     
  14. thrawn86

    thrawn86 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    512
    33
    68
    Miranda
    it seems to work okay on these forums at least...
     
  15. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #108
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,947
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    2,947
    292
    263
  16. thrawn86

    thrawn86 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    512
    33
    68
    Miranda
    works okay for me but the jury's still out on whether opera mini is a better option for the little Eris
     
  17. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #108
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,947
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    2,947
    292
    263
    oh right cool. thanks for checking

    I'm on a desire with 2.2
    is yours 2.2 too?

    cheers
    dan
     
  18. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #108
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,947
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    2,947
    292
    263
    btw: is there a way to jump to top/bottom of screen?
    and to get to the speed dial screen? :/

    cheers
    dan
     
  19. thrawn86

    thrawn86 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    512
    33
    68
    Miranda
    yeah I'm using CELB froyo. creating a new tab should bring up the speed dial screen but I don't know about jumping to the top/bottom.
     
  20. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #108
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,947
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    2,947
    292
    263
    OK thanks
     
  21. thrawn86

    thrawn86 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    512
    33
    68
    Miranda
    hmmm can't seem too duplicate with opera mini either.

    either ill be sticking with mini for now its a bit easier on the poor phone
     
  22. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #108
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,947
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    2,947
    292
    263
    odd just tried that forum again and still can't enter text :-(
     
  23. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #108
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,947
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    2,947
    292
    263
    Back to dolphin for the moment

    I like the text entry but browser to buggy in this build

    Cheers
    Dan
     
  24. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #108
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,947
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    2,947
    292
    263
    Now using xscope. Text entry better than dolphin and
    Generally better than opera. So seems like a good balance
    At the moment :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...