1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Operating System/Firmware

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by JohnathanPlays, Feb 25, 2016.

  1. JohnathanPlays

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016

    Feb 18, 2016
    20
    5
    26
    Male
    I believe there is a problem with me Turbo's Operating system. I've tried looking for a firmware .zip file that worked, but didn't find anything. I DO have, however, ny friend's working Droid Turbo running the same version (SU4TL-SU_44). How do I rip the firmware/operating system off of her phone that I can flash onto mine?
     

    Advertisement

  2. doogald

    doogald Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #40
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,694
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,694
    1,929
    483
    I've found firmware here: http://firmware.center/firmware/Motorola/Droid Turbo (XT1254)/Stock/ (the last in that list is current firmware.)

    However, have you tried a wipe of the cache partition? A factory data reset? I'd do those first before flashing firmware.

    Also, however, see this in the Droid Maxx forum: http://androidforums.com/threads/network-type-no-service.1002644/#post-7229552

    Does the Turbo have the same Verizon Software Upgrade Assistant when you attach the phone to a PC?
     
    JohnathanPlays likes this.
  3. JohnathanPlays

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016

    Feb 18, 2016
    20
    5
    26
    Male
    Thanks for the reply. I've tried a factory reset and a cache wipe. I have tried repairing it. It worked, but nothing changed. I'll try that firmware and see. Thanks again :)
     
  4. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,618
    Posts:
    12,114
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,114
    5,021
    1,618
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    When you say "nothing changed" ... what was it that did not change? Did it work correctly after the Factory Data Reset and then revert?

    ... Thom
     
    JohnathanPlays likes this.
  5. JohnathanPlays

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016

    Feb 18, 2016
    20
    5
    26
    Male
    Sorry for not being clear.
    None of the problems like bootups or losing some functions of android did not stop. Also, by worked, I mean the assistant said the repair succeeded.
     
  6. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,618
    Posts:
    12,114
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,114
    5,021
    1,618
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Bootups?

    Lost some functions of Android? Like what?

    The reason I;m asking is that this seems unusual for an un-root-ed phone.

    ... Thom
     
    JohnathanPlays likes this.
  7. JohnathanPlays

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016

    Feb 18, 2016
    20
    5
    26
    Male
    Phone fails to boot up sometimes, screen dimming doesn't work, sometimes sound and vibration doesn't work, small things like that. I've talked with verizon but I can't get it replaced because it has a cracked screen, which, honestly, I think is stupid because people walk in and out of the store with a brand new phone because they cracked their screen. Probably a warranty issue.

    Also, if I were to replace the glass so the cracks are gone, would they be able to find out that it was ever cracked? I know it's cheating and all, but you know. I only live chatted them ;)
     
  8. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,618
    Posts:
    12,114
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,114
    5,021
    1,618
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Dishonesty is not a subject for Android Forums.

    If it has a cracked screen then it must have been hit pretty hard. My guess is that some other hardware got damaged and that is the cause of your problems. That is a guess and if correct you will be replacing the phone.

    Verizon does have an insurance policy available that I think would cover you on the replacement device should it happen to that one also.

    ... Thom
     
    JohnathanPlays likes this.
  9. doogald

    doogald Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #40
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,694
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,694
    1,929
    483
    emmzone22 and JohnathanPlays like this.
  10. doogald

    doogald Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #40
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,694
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,694
    1,929
    483
    Because of screen assurance, I suggest avoiding flashing any firmware. They may see that as voiding any warranty.
     
    JohnathanPlays likes this.
  11. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,618
    Posts:
    12,114
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,114
    5,021
    1,618
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    From the description in re than just a cracked screen and if so would appreently not qualify.

    The best suggestion I have ... find a Verizon store and a Verizon person who will help you solve any problem.

    ... Thom
     
    dhbuckley and JohnathanPlays like this.
  12. JohnathanPlays

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016

    Feb 18, 2016
    20
    5
    26
    Male
    If I had to guess, id say that the screen cracked due to high processor heat and warping because its cracked horizontally.
    I thought if you have any other problems you're charged the entire cost of the phone.
    I think this is what I'll do.


    Thanks Thom and Doogald for your help :)
     
    #12 JohnathanPlays, Feb 26, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2016
    Thom likes this.
  13. JohnathanPlays

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016

    Feb 18, 2016
    20
    5
    26
    Male
    Yes, That FAQ does say it can and will be replaced once. However, number 6 says "If the damage is not covered, you'll be charged up to the full value of the replacement device, which may be in excess of $500"

    What's the best thing to do? Should I visit Verizon and ask them if it's eligible?
     
  14. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,238
    Posts:
    27,319
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    27,319
    16,735
    3,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    If the thing got so hot that it could crack and warp a glass screen, I think it would be so hot that you couldn't touch it and would burn you, and would likely stink rather bad as well, so would probably know about it. AFAIK most glass will soften and deform at around 1,300 degrees centigrade. Thermal shock can crack glass as well, like suddenly going from boiling point to zero degrees, 100 degrees C and then suddenly dunking it in ice. But you probably wouldn't do that with a phone anyway.

    I've seen plenty of horizontal cracks in phone screens, and was usually from physical damage or abuse, like dropping a phone or sitting on it.
     
    #14 mikedt, Feb 26, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2016
    Thom and JohnathanPlays like this.
  15. JohnathanPlays

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016

    Feb 18, 2016
    20
    5
    26
    Male
    Heat's ruled out then, I see. I don't even know how it cracked. I've never dropped it and never sat on it to my knowledge.

    I'd also think it's insanely hard to crack, it being gorilla glass and all, but I guess it's not indestructible, either.
     
    mikedt likes this.
  16. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,618
    Posts:
    12,114
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,114
    5,021
    1,618
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    I have a turbo 2 that was dropped into a pail of mop water for 5 sec with the power on. After drying out it has some problems. It will totally discharge in 6 hr just sitting there. It takes a long time to boot up and shut down. It is very warm.

    Seems somewhat similar to what I've read here.

    Did you ever get it wet?

    Is it ever away from your supervision? Maybe someone else induced the damage?

    ... Thom
     
    JohnathanPlays and mikedt like this.
  17. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,238
    Posts:
    27,319
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    27,319
    16,735
    3,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    Corning Gorilla Glass is toughened and hardened, but enough impact and/or stress can still break it though. It's certainly not bulletproof. ;)
     
    JohnathanPlays and Thom like this.
  18. JohnathanPlays

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016

    Feb 18, 2016
    20
    5
    26
    Male
    It's always been on my person or near me (in sight)

    As far as water, the most would be in a steamy bathroom playing music while I shower (does anyone else do that or am I just wierd)
     
    Thom and mikedt like this.
  19. JohnathanPlays

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016

    Feb 18, 2016
    20
    5
    26
    Male
    Has anyone done a strength test of some sort on just a plain sheet of Gorilla Glass? I'd like to see that.
     
  20. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,618
    Posts:
    12,114
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,114
    5,021
    1,618
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    No way to tell. I would think that would be how much steam and for how long. Getting it wet while the power is on is how the damage occurs.

    ... Thom
     
  21. JohnathanPlays

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016

    Feb 18, 2016
    20
    5
    26
    Male
    I see. it would be at most 15 mins
     
  22. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,618
    Posts:
    12,114
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,114
    5,021
    1,618
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    It would seem possible to me. In steam for 15 minutes ... take it to a cooler area ... quickly condenses ... the power is on the whole time.

    ... Thom
     

Share This Page

Loading...