1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Optimus and multi-touch

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by flax, Nov 13, 2010.

  1. flax

    flax Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009

    Oct 11, 2009
    7
    0
    5
    Hi,
    After upgrade from Optimus (GT540) with android 2.1. Does the phone get multi-touch?

    Thank you in advance.
     

    Advertisement

  2. dryhte

    dryhte Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    186
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    186
    28
    63
    SAP consultant
    Belgium
    It actually can't get multi-touch because it's got a resistive display; multi-touch is (to the best of my knowledge) limited to capacitative displays. And not even all of them.
     
  3. GoldenBulletXD

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    440
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010

    :(

    I Wish it had multi touch
     
  4. Rooferkev

    Rooferkev Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    245
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010

    Nov 13, 2010
    245
    27
    43
    Male
    Should be easy to work out
    England
  5. GoldenBulletXD

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    440
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010


    When you are browsing the web 2 finger zooming
     
  6. Pencas

    Pencas Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010

    Dec 24, 2010
    5
    1
    6
    Double tap the screen... Same thing. Surfing web with gt540 is pretty good experience... It is comfortable and you need only one hand to zoom in and zoom out :D (you know what i mean)
     
    xgalexyx likes this.
  7. Kostas

    Kostas Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008

    Oct 21, 2008
    74
    2
    16
    Unfortunately there are many cases where multitouch is indispensable. Examples: Maps 5.0 (maybe thats the reason why the GT540 isnt getting the update) with several multitouch gestures,Games ,some apps that dont work without it(like a virtual piano where you cant play chords without multitouch),Some apps that should work but by design dont (like adobe acrobat reader where you cant control the zooming factor because it doesnt have on screen controls and double tapping doesnt do much because theres no text rewflow)

    Unfortunately the situation will only get worse with time as more and more devs drop support for phones wihtout multitouch (like Adobe did)
     
  8. Nirob

    Nirob Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    539
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010

    Sep 13, 2010
    539
    167
    93
    Planet Earth
    yay! My 100th post! :D :D :D

    I use Google Maps v5... Search in the Market.. If it isn't available in your region use Market Enabler (Available in Market)...

    Or the easiest way is, download it from here: Download free Google Maps app for Android at Freeware Lovers & install... :D

    Note: For hardware limitation, all the features are not available for GT540...
     
    Kostas likes this.
  9. Kostas

    Kostas Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008

    Oct 21, 2008
    74
    2
    16
    Thanks i didnt know that. I have no idea why it doesnt show up in them market. This is one of the things that ticks me off about android. Also i hate it how you cant tilt and rotate the map, as i said in the previous post
     
  10. Nirob

    Nirob Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    539
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010

    Sep 13, 2010
    539
    167
    93
    Planet Earth
    Welcome... :) There are many apps which are only available in USA... You can get them easily using Market Enabler... :D And about Map rotating, you can do it in v5.. :D :D :D Click on the 'My Location' button (Top-Right button) twice & you'll get an angle view.. Now, rotate your phone... :D ;)
     
  11. lukemovement

    lukemovement Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    76
    6
    16
    there is a way to get it but i think it need a custom
     

Share This Page

Loading...