1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Optimus F7 with motochopper root update help

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bigfish79, Jan 18, 2014.

  1. bigfish79

    bigfish79 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013

    Mar 8, 2013
    7
    0
    25
    Male
    Beast from the North-East
    i rooted with motochopper
    i would like to update the phone to the new ota v5 but it wont finish the update
    i did not change the kernal or recovery i left that all stock
    can i do a factory reset or a hard reset (unplugged ,vol up +power ) to get myself back to stock without bricking the phone
    im not to familiar with motochopper root
    but it was the easiest for me
    all my other androids are rooted and on custom recovery cwm
    that i know how to work with this locked bootloader crap is making me feel like a noob :( im not worried about wiping info
    just bricking the phone any info is greatly welcomed and appreciated
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rukbat

    Rukbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    843
    Posts:
    10,392
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    10,392
    2,894
    843
    Male
    Being retired and writing Tasker tasks.
    Fayetteville, NC, USA
    Just unroot. That should allow you to update.
     
  3. bigfish79

    bigfish79 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013

    Mar 8, 2013
    7
    0
    25
    Male
    Beast from the North-East
    not sure how to unroot a lg its kinda different than my nexus 10 and hte evo
    nobody has spoken of it in the update thread and this phone seems to have boot issues if not done a certain way and the links in the unroot thread are all dead
    also seems i need all the stock apps installed ,and i couldnt tell you what they are but i know i took a few out so im thinking i need a factory reset to download the stock apps and files. didnt make a back up till after it was rooted "like a fool "
     
  4. NumbChops

    NumbChops Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012

    Jun 16, 2012
    58
    6
    16
    Around Puget Sound
    I just successfully updated to zv5 and re-rooted. Before the update I was rooted with motochopper, but had not installed cwm or any alternate kernel.

    The ota applied without error and I verified the version change. Re-rooted with framaroot gandalf. I noticed that framaroot installed "supersu" whereas motochopper had previously installed "superuser". Supersu was left without a launch icon, but it worked in spite of that.

    If you had installed cwm or the alternate kernel, you would have to restore your phone to stock zv4 before applying the ota update. (Not sure if there is a stock zv5 recovery yet. If so, restoring to that could be an option too.)
     
  5. bigfish79

    bigfish79 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013

    Mar 8, 2013
    7
    0
    25
    Male
    Beast from the North-East

    did you unroot or anything before cuz i tried 2 times to download and run the update ,both times it started the android came up blue bar went half way and then the phone restarted im missing something
     
  6. bigfish79

    bigfish79 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013

    Mar 8, 2013
    7
    0
    25
    Male
    Beast from the North-East
    my other issue is this superuser app it sucks ,if i set supperuser access to "disable"in the app menu will that diable it so i can update?????
     
  7. NumbChops

    NumbChops Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012

    Jun 16, 2012
    58
    6
    16
    Around Puget Sound
    I did not un-root before applying the ota update. It did take quite awhile, though. The phone booted into some sort of update mode, took a number of minutes to do its thing, and eventually rebooted again normally. I checked system settings->about phone->software information to verify it was at zv5. I then re-rooted with framaroot as i said.
     
  8. bigfish79

    bigfish79 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013

    Mar 8, 2013
    7
    0
    25
    Male
    Beast from the North-East
    i figured it out
    if anyone needs the files i have them
    both dll. and the fix for lg tool all up to date and ready to go
    the lg tool acts different than on the other sites pictures of the operation
    it will fail and its all good after second restart
    put the phone down and let it do its thing

    took me 9 minutes to update and about 4 mins till boost install completed , second update was complete in another 5 mins

    you guys are all awesome thank you for the help im going to find gandalph
     
  9. WILDrBEAST

    WILDrBEAST Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012

    Aug 7, 2012
    44
    8
    16
    Male
    I rooted with motochopper, checked the keep root through ota in settings... then ota updated :( im in a loop now, restarts every time while optimizing and starting apps
     
  10. WILDrBEAST

    WILDrBEAST Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012

    Aug 7, 2012
    44
    8
    16
    Male
    factory reset takes me through boot loop in the same way. restarts after optimizing apps. wondering if I can fix this through sideload or update.zip?
     

Share This Page

Loading...