1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Optimus GPS question

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by larrycl, Feb 12, 2011.

  1. larrycl

    larrycl Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010

    Nov 16, 2010
    75
    17
    18
    I recently switched to the Optimus V after having the Intercept for a few months.

    On the Intercept, I could leave the GPS receiver off, and then when an app (maps, navigation, weather, etc) needed the GPS for location services, it would turn the GPS on. When the app was done, it turned the GPS receiver back off. This was great for conserving the battery.

    The Optimus doesn't seem to have this behavior. It appears I need to turn on (and leave on) the GPS receiver in order for apps to use it; in other words, apps don't seem to be able to turn the GPS on as needed.

    Is this how it should be or am I overlooking a setting somewhere?
     

    Advertisement

  2. joop1987

    joop1987 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011

    Feb 12, 2011
    18
    2
    16
    Just leave it on all the time. It will only turn on when apps need it.
     
  3. larrycl

    larrycl Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010

    Nov 16, 2010
    75
    17
    18
    Leaving it on all the time uses much more battery.
     
  4. TVCCS

    TVCCS Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    617
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011

    Jan 19, 2011
    617
    163
    103
    Male
    Consultant/Editor/Writer
    Los Angeles, CA
    For what it's worth...Quick Settings has a toggle for GPS, among others. I noticed that when I turn on Google Navigation, if I have the GPS turned off, it asks me if I want to enable it. When I do, and then go to exit Google Nav, it turns the GPS receiver off when I exit...the GPS icon disappears.

    But I need to add...that it only does that when I have Wireless Location enabled...otherwise the GPS stays on. The only way to kill both is to manually disable them, that I can find, anyway.
     
  5. larrycl

    larrycl Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010

    Nov 16, 2010
    75
    17
    18
    @TVCCS, you're right! I didn't have wireless location services on.
    When I turn this on, apps can then dynamically turn on and off the GPS.

    Thanks!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...