1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Optimus V and GPS navigation

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by broly123456, Mar 10, 2011.

  1. broly123456

    broly123456 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Hi all!
    I want to buy an Optimus V with the 25$ plan, but the main issue that is holding me back is the GPS: I already have a Virgin phone (the crappiest one at 40 bucks) and while they advertise it as GPS-capable, turned out you have to pay an extra 10$ month to use it.
    Now I was wondering if it's gonna be the same with the LG Optimus, so today I went to a Radioshack shop and asked the guy, and he told me that with the Optimus I could be able to use Google, but it wouldn't work very good, and for having a good turn-by-turn navigation I'd still need to pay the 10$ fee. And when I asked about installing software like Tom Tom or similar he said that I could potentially do it, but again it wouldn't work so well.
    So my question is: is it true that for using the GPS properly I need to pay the 10$ monthly fee? Or I can install something (like for the hotspot fix) that would allow me to use the GPS with a software (I have no problem buying a navigation software, I just don't wanna pay the monthly fee) with no fee?
    And another question: let's say I go abroad (Europe), is the GPS (with some navigation software installed) gonna work or not?

    Thanks a lot!

    P.S. I've done extensive research and didn't find anything, then I apologize if it's a stupid question, but I'm actually from Italy, moved to the US few months ago, and everything about cell phones is so shockingly different!
     

    Advertisement

  2. greg4android

    greg4android Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    565
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    565
    36
    68
    Retail
    Middle Tennessee
    The GPS works fine on my activated Optimus V.

    doesn't cost anymore (part of the unlimited data).

    It uses GOOGLE nagivation and maps.
     
  3. TVCCS

    TVCCS Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #147
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    617
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011

    Jan 19, 2011
    617
    163
    103
    Male
    Consultant/Editor/Writer
    Los Angeles, CA
    Most users (including me) are reasonably impressed with the free Google Navigation Beta software...I find it works about as well as the Navteq software I'm used to using with a dedicated car GPS. It doesn't have all the bells and whistles like lane information and other extras of a Garmin or TomTom dedicated unit, but for me, it works well enough.

    The fact it's coupled with Google Voice and/or Vlingo means I am able to speak my desired destination to the phone and it gets it right 70-90% of the time...so I'm doing very little typing. Google Nav just added real time traffic. I also like the fact it gives a minimum of audio prompts, as I usually have music playing off the phone at the same time as well. I can also mute the nav audio entirely if I want and keep the music playing. I only have one device mounted on my dash/windshield for everything, including calls, and it all manages to work together on the V at the same time. Not having that GPS there is a blessing, especially in California where windshield mounts are generally frowned upon.

    You can obtain GPS maps and programs of Europe from the Market, and it should work for that, but the phone can't be used for anything there that would require a CDMA Web connection such as a map search, etc. I'd believe you could use the phone/HotSpot to access WiFi in Europe, but the maps would need to be coming from the SD card.

    My son has an Evo with Sprint Navigation, and he's quit using it in favor of Google Nav because he goes offroad a lot and finds Google Nav has much more information.
     
    cyoung2790, teknolux and broly123456 like this.
  4. Timm129

    Timm129 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    73
    0
    15
    It is free and works great. Like stated earlier .. it doesn't have all the extras of Garmin or others but it routes quickly and is very accurate.. Also I would guess that the maps are more up to date...
     
  5. TVCCS

    TVCCS Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #147
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    617
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011

    Jan 19, 2011
    617
    163
    103
    Male
    Consultant/Editor/Writer
    Los Angeles, CA
    For the record...I don't know if the maps are that much more current, even though I'd think they would be. The few new roads in my area that are under 2-3 years old have been missed by Google Nav as often as not. I've found it will do odd routing choices in the "last quarter mile" as often as my dedicated GPS...no better...or worse.
     
  6. broly123456

    broly123456 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Thanks a lot guys!
    So the Google navigation is free and works fine, but it requires internet connection; otherwise I could get maps (and I guess another program like Tom Tom, Navigon, etc, I don't know what is available) and save them on the SD card, and this would allow me to use the GPS abroad, did I get it right?

    I have been using Google maps a lot on my Iphone 3gs back in Italy, even if that is not turn-by-turn, so I kind of have an idea, and don't really mind not having the extra stuff as long as I can see where I am, and reach my destination (have never been using the fancy stuff on the car Tom Tom I had anyway).

    Thanks again!
     
  7. TVCCS

    TVCCS Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #147
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    617
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011

    Jan 19, 2011
    617
    163
    103
    Male
    Consultant/Editor/Writer
    Los Angeles, CA
    I don't think Garmin or TomTom have an Android app...yet...I doubt Garmin ever will, and TomTom may not ever, either. There are other map apps for Europe, however, such as Sygic Aura, Co-Pilot, and Navigon. And yes...Google Nav is U.S. only at this point.
     
    broly123456 likes this.
  8. AQAA

    AQAA Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011

    Mar 3, 2011
    68
    10
    18
    Copilot works great on an unactivated Optimus V.

    It can be used for navigation just using the built in GPS.
    If bought in the US it includes maps of North America, and you can add them as needed by states or even regions within states.
    That helps a lot if storage is an issue.
    You can purchase maps for other continents as needed.
    Map upgrades are free for the purchases continents.

    I can highly recommend it, it was about $24 when I got it a year or so ago
     
  9. PrimoOptimoso

    PrimoOptimoso Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    47
    1
    16
    It only requires internet connection in the sense that the carrier's data connection is what's feeding it. You don't need to be near a wifi hotspot or anything.

    As for using any phone's GPS abroad, I would have to assume you'd need an app to get at the GPS signal data if you're off-network, and I don't know if say TomTom's software would cut it alone.
     
  10. lizm

    lizm Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    329
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    329
    51
    53
    I've been using Google Maps-Navigation for 8 months now (on the Incredible and now on the Optimus) and i love it.

    The new traffic routing feature looks very promising.

    I already like and use the "alternate routes" option - it usually gives me two choices beyond the one it recommends, if I know I want to avoid something or go scenic or whatever.
     
  11. enyawface

    enyawface Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011

    Mar 21, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Hey guys, I am new to the Android forums, switching over from an iPhone via a disappointing LG Rumor Touch.
    Here is what I'd like to know. I am returning the LG Rumor Touch to VM because when using Navigation, that they charge for, the power saver feature dims the screen, then the screen goes black and when you touch the screen or any button, you then have to unlock the phone, and that closes the navigation program returning you to the home screen. Basically, navigation useless. There is no option to disable the power saving feature while using navigation.
    So the question, does the LG OPtimus V for Virgin Mobile have this issue as well, or does the screen stay on while in navigation?

    Thanks for your help, I certainly know the Virgin Mobile reps are of no help.
     
  12. DBNissan

    DBNissan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011

    Mar 2, 2011
    90
    8
    36
    NorCal
    The screen stays on for me but I also have it plugged in to power.

    Another feature that I like about the Google maps is it will give you a street view image once you reach your destination.
     
  13. TVCCS

    TVCCS Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #147
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    617
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011

    Jan 19, 2011
    617
    163
    103
    Male
    Consultant/Editor/Writer
    Los Angeles, CA
    I haven't had issues with power saving disabling Google Nav, but I usually have the phone plugged in in the car, as well.
     
  14. lizm

    lizm Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    329
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    329
    51
    53
    The Nav screen stays on for me whether i'm plugged in or not. I use it while cycling sometimes.
     
  15. RolandTumble

    RolandTumble Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011

    Mar 14, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    Don't know about Nav--I haven't used it yet, it may override the Sleep function--but it's easy to set the whole phone to stay awake when plugged in. Go to Settings > Applications > Development & toggle Stay Awake to On.
     
  16. allambition

    allambition Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    138
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011

    TomTom and Route 66 will have an Android app soon - Route 66 Maps and Navigation

    Google Navigation works well enough if you need a no-frills, working navigation app. But if you need the lane assistance, 3d buildings, etc. you might have to pay a bit of money for it. But Google Navigation is free, the best selling point and it works consistently.
     
  17. aeroseek

    aeroseek Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    26
    6
    16
    Master of Mayhem
    You can also use Locus for offline navigation.
     
  18. broly123456

    broly123456 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Update: I got the Optimus, pretty satisfied so far. Last weekend I went to Pennsylvania so I figured I'd try the google navigation; for being free it works fine. It brought me to destination, and the traffic info are a nice plus, my main complaints are the robotic voice (ok I'm not a native english speaker, but even my wife who is American was in trouble understanding the directions), the lack of miles to destination, and a not-so-clear view of the turn to take.
    BUT as others said it's free, and it can bring you to destination with no problem, in particular if one person is driving and the other keeping the phone handy and working as copilot (so even if the robotic voice is not clear the copilot can check the map).
    I still hope they'll improve it a little more, it's just so close from being an excellent turn-by-turn navigator (I don't care at all about the 2000 options in TomTom, I want my navigator to bring me to destination).

    On a side note, I'm also having problems with the Optimus battery dying very quickly, so when I left from home with a 85-90% battery and seeing the estimated arrival time in 3h, I was afraid the phone would die halfway to destination. I remember my regular TomTom device lasting around 2,5h if not plugged in the car. And instead I arrived after 3,5h and the battery was still at 35-40%!! I was shocked! I mean the draining from using GPS plus 3G for maps, and backlight for extended periods of time was not proportionally worse than the everyday use. Anyone else had this experience?
    I actually think my Iphone (with a battery life of around 2-3 days vs the Optimus that I have to recharge every day) drains battery much faster when using GPS and 3G with google maps...
     
  19. vdo2000

    vdo2000 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011

    Mar 23, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Please ignore this message.
     
  20. JohnACman

    JohnACman Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011

    Mar 12, 2011
    58
    3
    16
    A/C contractor
    Orlando, Fl
    How much memory would the maps take up in the phone?
     
  21. nop

    nop Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011

    Mar 22, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Maybe I misunderstand, but Google Maps and GPS work fine on an Optimus V outside the U.S. (not on the VM network). You will need internet access to occasionally update your map data, however.
     
  22. lizm

    lizm Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    329
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    329
    51
    53
    I'm messing around with another Nav app right now that's free: Free GPS Navigation with Turn by Turn - Waze

    -I much prefer the voice not so robotic.

    -The voice speaks at media volume, not nav volume, so does not interrupt music and can't be set to quieter than music or louder than music. Maybe a plus for some, I'm not that crazy about that.

    -Turn by turn directions specify distance but not street name - it's on the screen but not spoken.

    -Routing is WEIRD. It sometimes wants to send me way out of my way, so I double check with google then use waze...for now. Supposedly it learns as you go.

    -I like the way the screen looks more than with google. Nice street names you pass, lakes, MPH, miles and est time to destination.

    -there's a social network aspect to it. User reported speed traps, accidents, traffic, etc. Even little games.

    Some of you might want to give it a shot. Did I mention it's free?
     
  23. DBNissan

    DBNissan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011

    Mar 2, 2011
    90
    8
    36
    NorCal
  24. FNAKC

    FNAKC Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011

    Apr 13, 2011
    12
    1
    16
    Courier and Cook
    Oshkosh, WI
    About the battery use, I noticed while unplugged using Google Nav the battery gets drained pretty quick, but considering what its doing makes sense. I either need to stretch out my car adapter or find and extender because I can't have my phone mounted and plugged in at the same time.
     
  25. lizm

    lizm Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    329
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    329
    51
    53
    Have you used it? Comments in the market are terrible. It's also $30 euro, but it says it gives 7 days....
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...