1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Orange have quietly dropped us!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DCTEN, Sep 5, 2011.

  1. DCTEN

    DCTEN Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010

    Nov 29, 2010
    184
    4
    36
    I noticed that orange no longer sell the DHD! That's a little odd i thought, then i thought about it for a bit and came to the conclusion that no, it wasn't in the least bit odd! My wifi still doesn't work properly since the upgrade! Orange probably got tired of getting millions of complaints about this brick!!! :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. Haggistech

    Haggistech Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    214
    Joined:
    May 26, 2011

    They may have dropped selling the phone as they will have the new phones in now, dual core ones etc


    what problems are you having and i will see if i can help :)
     
    DCTEN likes this.
  3. DCTEN

    DCTEN Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010

    Nov 29, 2010
    184
    4
    36

    The list is long and would take too long to go into it now but if you know how to keep me connected to my wifi for longer than 5 mins at a time that would be very useful to know. I've assigned myself a static ip but that didn't solve the problem either.
     
  4. Haggistech

    Haggistech Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    214
    Joined:
    May 26, 2011

    ok so u have static IP, have you also assinged theDNS and default gateway aip addresses?

    what security are u using on the wireless router?
     
  5. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,117
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,117
    24,060
    3,118
    Scotland
    Also keep 3G switched off when connected to WiFi.
     
  6. murzz

    murzz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    461
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    461
    80
    63
    Male
    Civil Servant
    Edinburgh
    Thank christ i'm unbranded:D
     
  7. DCTEN

    DCTEN Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010

    Nov 29, 2010
    184
    4
    36
    Ip addy = done
    Gateway = done
    Netmask = done
    DNS1 = NOT done
    DNS1 = NOT done

    if that's helps?

    Cheers
     
  8. Haggistech

    Haggistech Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    214
    Joined:
    May 26, 2011

    ok u will need DNS so that it can find websites, set it to the same IP address as the default gateway :)
     
  9. DCTEN

    DCTEN Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010

    Nov 29, 2010
    184
    4
    36
    Hi

    So should i set DN1 to the same or DNS2? will this mean that it will stay connected for longer than five mins at a time?

    Ta. :)
     
  10. Haggistech

    Haggistech Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    214
    Joined:
    May 26, 2011

    it could be dropping out because it cant find the address of websites etc

    just in DNS1

    we will try this if you still have problems we can look deeper into it :)
     
  11. DCTEN

    DCTEN Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010

    Nov 29, 2010
    184
    4
    36


    Well Haggistech you seem to have done the trick with the DNS thing as it's broken the 5 minute and still connected record! Thanks very much!
    It's a shame really as it worked perfectly well before the update!

    I'll see how things go with it today.

    Cheer for the help!
     
  12. Haggistech

    Haggistech Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    214
    Joined:
    May 26, 2011

    No problem at all :D
     
  13. DCTEN

    DCTEN Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010

    Nov 29, 2010
    184
    4
    36
    Well it was good while it lasted!!! Still getting the drop outs, still saying "authenticating..." still very annoying! I've had it with this phone. Did the SGS1or2 have the same issues!!?
     
  14. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,117
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,117
    24,060
    3,118
    Scotland
    Not to my knowledge.

    Why don't you root and install a LeeDroid or CM7 etc?
     
  15. Haggistech

    Haggistech Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    214
    Joined:
    May 26, 2011

    I reckon if its still doing it and on different phones then its your router


    have you tried using the phone on annother wireless network and see if it does the same thing
     
  16. DCTEN

    DCTEN Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010

    Nov 29, 2010
    184
    4
    36
    Iphone 4 has been hooked up to wifi all day so it aint the router! oh well.
     
  17. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,117
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,117
    24,060
    3,118
    Scotland
    To get back to the original post, the only UK carrier who looks to do the DHD any more is T-Mobile. Carphone warehouse also appear to still stock them, but they're unbranded.

    Doesn't look like you can get accessories for them either: Home - HTC Accessory Store - United Kingdom

    Don't see the DHD listed.
     
  18. kudoboi

    kudoboi Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010

    Aug 15, 2010
    44
    2
    16
    Singapore
    my country phone provider "singtel" stop selling it since july
     
  19. kingdave

    kingdave Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    433
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    433
    14
    38
    Project Manager
    Manchester
  20. LilacBleeds

    LilacBleeds Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    532
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011

    Jan 24, 2011
    532
    170
    123
    Female
    Tesco employee
    Northamptonshire, UK
    this is really odd, because I cant use my wifi after the update and it is very good, it might be the route or the people you have your broadband with and that....

    Vodafone still have this phone and I know they will drop it soon for the new ones to come into there network, the only thing I would like is the updates for most things as I still have like 16 months left on my contract and I am sticking with this phone
     
  21. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,117
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,117
    24,060
    3,118
    Scotland
  22. kingdave

    kingdave Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    433
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    433
    14
    38
    Project Manager
    Manchester
    How odd! :$
     
  23. DCTEN

    DCTEN Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010

    Nov 29, 2010
    184
    4
    36

    Why should i have to do all that! the wi-fi connected perfectly up until this so called upgrade! still dropping out every few mins even with a static ip!
     
  24. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,117
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,117
    24,060
    3,118
    Scotland
    I appreciate what you're saying, but it is a solution to the problem.
     
    DCTEN likes this.
  25. john_g

    john_g Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    558
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010

    Nov 6, 2010
    558
    186
    93
    London, UK
    Now that Orange are admitting they have dropped me, can I get them to mend my broken glasses under their insurance?
     

Share This Page

Loading...