1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Orange Maps free on the HTC Hero for

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by chaz_uk, Nov 1, 2009.

  1. chaz_uk

    chaz_uk Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    281
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009

    HotUKDeals Forum - View Single Post - Orange Maps are now available for the HTC Hero - "Free" for those on some packages.


    Should feed your GPS needs whilst waiting for 2.0! :cool:

    EDIT It kept force closing for me on the initial launch if the phone went into standby. I stopped the screen from fading by tapping it and that seemed to solve it for me. Once it was set up it was all goood! :D
     

    Advertisement

    Jaffa likes this.
  2. Carl C

    Carl C Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    238
    Posts:
    6,062
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,062
    38
    238
    Student
    London
    Thanks for sharing :D

    Have some Rep!
     
  3. G8D

    G8D Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    533
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009

    Sep 2, 2009
    533
    4
    61
    I'm on Dolphin 30 but only paying
     
  4. chaz_uk

    chaz_uk Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    281
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009

     
  5. G8D

    G8D Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    533
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009

    Sep 2, 2009
    533
    4
    61
    I get the typical T+C.. Doesn't say its free...

    OrangeWorld said free on your plan.. But I dunno..
     
  6. Brad

    Brad Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009

    Sep 26, 2009
    30
    0
    15
    Same here so I just declined it. Not worth risking getting charged unless it clearly states it's free for you to be honest.
     
  7. chaz_uk

    chaz_uk Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    281
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009

    After this initial screen:
    [​IMG]

    I was given two choices as follows (the first saying it was free the 2nd being Orange Maps professional which is
     
  8. ButchersBoy

    ButchersBoy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009

    Aug 27, 2009
    15
    0
    15
    Sweet, free stuff, w00t!
     
  9. MF1

    MF1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009

    Oct 27, 2009
    115
    1
    36
    Hi All, I have just downloaded this and tried it today. It seems OK, a bit laggy on roundabouts etc, graphics are OK not stunning. I was really interested in the speed cameras. It would seem you can only have this option on when actually doing a pre programmed route. This is a pity as ideally I would like it when driving in general.

    On a second note, it seems on my tariff I have to pay in full, but when ringing orange I got there call centre in India and was informed it is free on my package. I asked her to send me a text saying this which she said she would do, surprise surprise I did not get a text.

    I was wondering if anyone has tried orange maps and also has Co-pilot, i would be interested in a comparison.

    If I only have to pay
     
  10. mattdanielc

    mattdanielc Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    272
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    272
    63
    53
    Peasant
    England
    I just phoned orange to check whether I'd have to pay. The first time they cut me off mid phone conversation...I phoned again and the woman kept saying "nothing is showing on the system" I kept saying that I'm sure it's not because I haven't accepted the T&C yet... I just want to know if I will have to pay on my contract...

    Useless :(

    I'm going to accept the T&C I think it said it was free for 7 days and then I would have to pay - I'll just cancel it before then.
     
  11. Jaffa

    Jaffa Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    1,185
    91
    148
    Electrical Engineer
    Brighton
     
  12. mattdanielc

    mattdanielc Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    272
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    272
    63
    53
    Peasant
    England
    just tried testing it - I've got a full signal - and yet it couldn't locate my office - nowhere near it.

    Tried google maps though and that was almost as bad! Maybe there's some interference here though, as google maps has worked fine for me before.
     
  13. james

    james Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009

    Aug 24, 2009
    148
    9
    36
    UK
    Hmm, I'm on a
     
  14. Jaffa

    Jaffa Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    1,185
    91
    148
    Electrical Engineer
    Brighton
    GPS works best out doors, however Google maps has a much better database, but its not turn by turn
     
  15. tojjer

    tojjer Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    294
    8
    56
    Paramedic
    Weymouth, UK
    You've done me a favour bringing this thread to the top. I upgraded my Orange account when I got the Hero, to encompass internet. It was due to come into affect on 15th March, but for some reason didn't. I phoned them, they apologised and said it would now kick in on 15th April. I rang them after reading this thread yesterday, just to double check it was still on for that date, but also to see if Orange Maps were included as it was going to cost
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...