1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Orange Maps on villain5.3

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by tojjer, Apr 25, 2010.

  1. tojjer

    tojjer Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    294
    8
    56
    Paramedic
    Weymouth, UK
    Flashed villain today, all working fine. Like a plank, I didn't back up my Orange Maps app cos I thought I'd D'L it again from Orange once villain5.3 was working ok. Since the new ROM has been on, I go to the D'L link on Oranges' website, but it says my phone is not compliant and Orange Maps won't work on my phone.

    Any ideas please?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    12,881
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,881
    9,209
    1,413
    UK
    I read your post and then moved onto this topic and noticed Jaffa is using Villain and 5.3. He's the one to ask :)
     
  3. Jaffa

    Jaffa Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    1,185
    91
    148
    Electrical Engineer
    Brighton
    My Orange maps works fine on 5.3, but I installed it from my backup, not a fresh download.
     
  4. tojjer

    tojjer Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    294
    8
    56
    Paramedic
    Weymouth, UK
    Beginning to wish I'd done that too now :-(
     
  5. Jaffa

    Jaffa Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    1,185
    91
    148
    Electrical Engineer
    Brighton
    is it because its rooted or its 2.1.. try flashing your nandroid of 1.5 and installing it, then back it up
     
  6. phillevy

    phillevy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    501
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009

    Aug 27, 2009
    501
    15
    63
    Ongar, UK
    Titanium keeps failing to restore my backup of Orange maps - haven't been too bothered yet as we now have Google Nav, but I'd like to sort it if possible.
     
  7. Jaffa

    Jaffa Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    1,185
    91
    148
    Electrical Engineer
    Brighton
    I used My back up pro for my back up, worked a treat
     
  8. phillevy

    phillevy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    501
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009

    Aug 27, 2009
    501
    15
    63
    Ongar, UK
    Yeah you'd think that Titanium would be the most likely to restore an awkward app, but not so in this case.
     
  9. Jaffa

    Jaffa Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    1,185
    91
    148
    Electrical Engineer
    Brighton
    Mybackup does apk's with root access, as well I may be able to send you mine
     
  10. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    12,881
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,881
    9,209
    1,413
    UK
    Does telling titanium to backup only the app and not the app data work?
     
  11. themonkster

    themonkster Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    97
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009

    Aug 20, 2009
    97
    5
    16
    Google Street View Nav it's the future.....
     
  12. tojjer

    tojjer Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    294
    8
    56
    Paramedic
    Weymouth, UK

    Be good if you could. Not sure I wanna go through wiping, installing, wiping and re-installing again :-(
     
  13. tojjer

    tojjer Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    294
    8
    56
    Paramedic
    Weymouth, UK
    And I thought it was all going so well for my first attempt at rooting and putting on a custom rom
     
  14. Jaffa

    Jaffa Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    1,185
    91
    148
    Electrical Engineer
    Brighton
    I checked, I dont have the apk sorry. I have the data files only, not sure if they are useable
     
    tojjer likes this.
  15. Jaffa

    Jaffa Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    1,185
    91
    148
    Electrical Engineer
    Brighton
    Hmm not used mine since Friday, which was a 5.2 day, just opened Maps and its giving me an error..

    Edit, DOH its fine on 3G didnt like Wifi!! :p
     
  16. tojjer

    tojjer Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    294
    8
    56
    Paramedic
    Weymouth, UK
    Wonder if you can download the install file from their site, save it to pc then transfer to phone ?
     
  17. mpnuttall

    mpnuttall Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011

    Apr 5, 2011
    7
    1
    6
    Hi all

    Know this threads a year old now, but wondered if you ever solved this? I'm in a similar position - got a titanium backup, but it won't restore in my custom rom. The orange maps in the marke does install but seems to be a totally different program. As I get free access with my contract I really dont want to lose this app. Suggestions?

    Cheers
    Mark
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...