1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Orange UMA Settings

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by tym, Mar 9, 2012.

  1. tym

    tym Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012

    Mar 1, 2012
    5
    0
    5
    I've got an Orange branded Galaxy S II which I've unlocked. Obviously while the Orange SIM is in, the UMA works fine.

    However, if I want to put nother network SIM in the UMA settings are set to Orange and it won't work. The "Signal Boost" app's about screen says it's open source.

    How do I get to the settings for the UMA if I want a different network?

    Tym
     

    Advertisement

  2. TheBrit

    TheBrit Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,188
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009

    Aug 25, 2009
    1,188
    114
    143
    UK
    You'll need to find out if your other network supports UMA and then get the settings for that.

    Was it not obvious to you that the Orange UMA service will not work without an Orange SIM?
     
  3. tym

    tym Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012

    Mar 1, 2012
    5
    0
    5
    Thanks for your oh-so-helpful reply! :p

    Either I wrote it wrong, or you read it wrong. :thinking:

    Other networks, such as Voda, similarly offer a "signal boost". My current phone is obviously set up to work with Orange and their signal boost.
    When I bought a sim free blackberry pearl, I had to go into the engineering screen to manually put in the UMA settings for orange, so it would with with the orange sim; which it did...

    So - the (obvious) question I was posting is: HOW to I change the UMA settings within an S2 to those of another network?:rolleyes:
     
  4. TheBrit

    TheBrit Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,188
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009

    Aug 25, 2009
    1,188
    114
    143
    UK
    Point taken...don't know the answer to that.
     
  5. TheBrit

    TheBrit Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,188
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009

    Aug 25, 2009
    1,188
    114
    143
    UK
    There's some info about it here.
     
  6. mattyboyo

    mattyboyo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    76
    7
    16
    Vodafone use Sure Signal not Signal Boost. Sure Signal is a femtocell, a little device that plugs into your home broadband and provides a short range 3g signal for registered devices. Signal boost is a system on the phone itself that allows it to use any wifi signal as a link to the orange network. So 2 different technologies that sun for the same goal. But the orange one is better because it works anywhere not just at home.
     
    tym likes this.
  7. tym

    tym Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012

    Mar 1, 2012
    5
    0
    5
    Thanks for the clarification. I presumed they all used UMA type technology, like the blackberrys to.
     
  8. tym

    tym Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012

    Mar 1, 2012
    5
    0
    5
    Thanks
     

Share This Page

Loading...