1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Organise app menu into categories?

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by taboo_, Apr 25, 2010.

  1. taboo_

    taboo_ Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    14
    2
    16
    Is there any way out there to organise your apps menu other than by alphabetical order?

    When you have a heaps of different apps and are always trying new ones like me it's not always easy to find that one that has a name that relates nothing to its function.

    Ideally I'd like some way of making categories in my app menu and and grouping all my utility icons, all my game icons etc.

    Any ideas? ^_^
     

    Advertisement

  2. brykins

    brykins Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    647
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    647
    77
    98
    Peterborough, UK
    Don't think so, not in standard Android. The all apps draw that slides up simply shows all your apps, in alphabetical order.

    You can make folders on your homescreen, and name them "games", "entertainment", etc, and drag shortcuts into them, BUT the icons in these folders are sorted in the order that they were dragged in and there's no way to sort them alphabetically or anything. It's better than nothing but it's not 100%.

    You'd think something as simple as sorting icons might come higher on Google's list of things to look at than, say, animated wallpapers!
     
  3. DaWeav

    DaWeav Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    343
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    343
    53
    53
    Lemoore, CA
    Nothing I know of affects the App Tray except maybe the different 'launcher' apps.

    However, I just use the Apps Organizer from the market and put the 'All Labels' widget or shortcut link on my desktop. The programmer just added the widget feature to the 1.5 version which to me seems a bit faster than using the shortcut to 'All Labels'.
     
    uzee and taboo_ like this.
  4. jwmacdon1231

    jwmacdon1231 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,139
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    1,139
    119
    143
    Student
    Houston, TX
    Sorry, but there is no way to do it.
     
  5. pinesal

    pinesal Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    147
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    147
    8
    36
    Apps organizer is the way to go. I got the paid version called Folder Organizer I think. Whats nice is it works across all home apps so if you switch it up sometimes, you wont have to reorganize.
     
  6. jwmacdon1231

    jwmacdon1231 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,139
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    1,139
    119
    143
    Student
    Houston, TX
    Doesn't organize the app drawer though. I wish it did though.
     
  7. Szadzik

    Szadzik Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    5,413
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    5,413
    715
    223
    Male
    FAS Admin
    Afain; there is no way at the moment to affect the drawer in any way.
     
  8. taboo_

    taboo_ Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    14
    2
    16
    Cheers guy.

    Thanks for the replies even if I don't like hearing the answer.

    I'm checking out Apps Organiser atm so thanks DaWeev. Just seems a little silly to me at the VERY LEAST I can't sort them by different criteria. If I could have my newest apps at the top at least I could find them easy but oh well.
     
  9. Szadzik

    Szadzik Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    5,413
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    5,413
    715
    223
    Male
    FAS Admin
    I had the same thoughts coming from WinMo with unlimited possibilities of changing the Start menu.

    Now that iPhone got folders in its app screen maybe Android will get that too some day?
     
  10. lekky

    lekky Lover
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,250
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    In apps organizer you can 'star' your favorite apps and these show first in the folder. You can also change the folder icon which is cool.

    I highly recommend.
     
    sbkoh likes this.
  11. pwabbit

    pwabbit Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    502
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009

    Oct 19, 2009
    502
    60
    78
    I already use folders on my home screen. It is pretty easy to group applications that way.
     
  12. Szadzik

    Szadzik Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    5,413
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    5,413
    715
    223
    Male
    FAS Admin
    I do that with Apps Organizer too, but that is not the same as organizing the app drawer.
     
  13. pwabbit

    pwabbit Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    502
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009

    Oct 19, 2009
    502
    60
    78
    I almost never use the apps drawer. Is there a reason why it is so necessary when there are so many other options? WM6 has a listing of apps but most people place shortcuts to the start menu. Similar with WebOS. One of the things I hate about using the apps drawer is it lists everything including Icon packs, themes and programs that I need but don't use very often. I would much rather use program shortcuts listed on my home screens or placed in folders on my home screen. It's a "cleaner" approach. Side note: Why did it take Apple so long to add folders to the iPhone when this feature has been around many other operating systems for so long? Next they are going to add multitasking, video recording, and SD card storage ;-)
     
  14. Szadzik

    Szadzik Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    5,413
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    5,413
    715
    223
    Male
    FAS Admin
    Multitasking as well as the folders is coming in the 4.0 software soon.

    I never use the drawer, too many apps to go through to find the only one I am searching for.
     
  15. DaWeav

    DaWeav Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    343
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    343
    53
    53
    Lemoore, CA

    As lekky advised, you can 'Star' app in different folders (labels) that will appear when you hit the 'Star'. Also, you can create as many 'Labels' (folders) as you need and apps can be 'tagged' to appear in multiple folders (lables). I have for example the 'AppBrain Market Sync' app tagged to be in the Android, Apps, File Managers, Google Apps, and Tools labels (folders). I also created a label (folder) for 'Sprint Apps' since I have their special apps on my Hero.

    Anyway, have fun with it, and when I get the 2.1 upgrade, I'll purchase the developers other app to support this great little jem even if I don't use the paid one that much.
     
  16. bluenova

    bluenova OK Computer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,616
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    1,616
    243
    143
    Driver
    W Midlands, UK
    Something I just discovered yesterday...

    In the App Drawer you can go to Menu > List

    This then puts the apps in a list giving you a scroll bar on the right. You can grab the scroll bar and slide to a letter A, B, C like in the HTC People app.

    Now I don't know whether this also works in Android 1.5, can somebody check it?
     
  17. KlaymenDK

    KlaymenDK Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,217
    Joined:
    May 29, 2009

    May 29, 2009
    1,217
    130
    143
    Denmark
    Sorry no, the menu is the same whether or not the app drawer is opened. That is to say, you can see the "Add", "Settings" items and so on, but no "List". :(
     
  18. DaWeav

    DaWeav Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    343
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    343
    53
    53
    Lemoore, CA
    I believe this is only true on the HTC Sense UI because it does work on my Hero, but not in the Android emulator.
     
  19. hakr100

    hakr100 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,005
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    1,005
    62
    128
    How do you alphabetize apps on your home page?
     
  20. uzee

    uzee Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    243
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    243
    8
    56
    Male
    Scotland
    yeah besides an app this is easy.
     
  21. JM33

    JM33 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009

    Oct 26, 2009
    162
    25
    43
    Maui, HI
    The latest version of GDE has the ability to do what you want. It has an advanced folder system, where you can drag your folders into the menu. And you can set either/both the soft/hard menu buttons to open to the folder screen of the menu, instead of the main app drawer. These functions have been there in older versions, but now you can sort icons in the folders, even folders on your homescreen.
     
  22. uzetaab

    uzetaab Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    269
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    269
    92
    53
    Brisbane Australia
    I think what he really wants is an easy way to find his new downloads more than a way to sort the drawer.

    The easiest way I've found to do this is to go to the downloads section of the app market (assuming you bought the app from here), it lists the most recent apps at the top. Note also that app updates are considered new apps for this purpose.

    Another option is to go to the notifications pulldown to launch the app. This option only works once.

    The only problem with both of these methods is that they do not give you an option to create a shortcut on a home screen.
     
  23. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    8,853
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    8,853
    2,370
    433
    Network Admin
    Chicago
    There are home replacements that do this, but home replacement can be buggy.

    Tapatalk. Samsung Moment. Yep.
     
  24. Blackvibes

    Blackvibes Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    I've used Panda Home. It has a function to exclude apps. Even fonts show up in my menu. I hate it. But now I'm using open home. Great interface app, but does not has the function to exclude it. I still want to exclude things. .:O
     
  25. pwabbit

    pwabbit Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    502
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009

    Oct 19, 2009
    502
    60
    78
    If you are really ambitious, you could try SweeterHome. It will pretty much do what ever you can create. It is quite the Techies home replacement.
     

Share This Page

Loading...