1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root OTA 3.26.651.6 and Unrevoked 3.21

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by caster, Sep 29, 2010.

  1. caster

    caster Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Hey guys I hope this isn't a horrible question, but I've looked around and it seems that everything is about the current OTA. I have a friend whose running OTA version 3.26.651.6 will Unrevoked 3.21 still work for rooting it? When I rooted (a while ago now) I ran Unrevoked and then Unrevoked Forever, if I want to root his phone + nand unlock, do we still have to run Unrevoked Forever? I read in several threads that you don't need to run it anymore with the update of 3.21, but I'd just like to make sure!

    Thanks! :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. tsipa

    tsipa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    636
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    636
    111
    93
    NYC
    OTA 3.26.651.6 is the original Froyo release. This is what unrEVOked 3.21 was originally designed for. You don't need to run unrEVOked Forever with this because 3.21 is a full root (including nand unlock).
     
    caster likes this.
  3. Hawaii Tom

    Hawaii Tom Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    I got my new EVO with the 3.26.651.6 from the box. UnrEVOked 3.21 worked like a charm. I have now upgraded to a stock 3.29.651.5 custom ROM that uncaps the frame rate nicely. It's all pretty painless. Have no fear.
     
  4. evocisco

    evocisco Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010

    Sep 30, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    My Evo is rooted with unrEVOked 3.21 and i have software 3.26.651.6. Can i do an OTA upgrade to 3.29.651.5 or do i need to unroot first? Please advise
     
  5. tpbklake

    tpbklake Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    225
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010

    Jun 22, 2010
    225
    46
    43
    If you want to receive the official OTA upgrade, then you need to go into ClockworkMod recovery and flash the HTC standard recovery first. Then you can receive and apply the OTA upgrade.

    Once the upgrade is complete, you can run unRevoked 3.21 to re-root.

    Regards,

    Tom
     
  6. dragonbyte

    dragonbyte Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010

    Oct 1, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    So, knowing that 3.29.651.5 is rootable with unrevoked, I figured there was no reason to unroot before accepting the OTA...

    I was wrong, it appears. Unrevoked isn't rooting me. I tried downloading the latest stock rom from Index of /shipped/Supersonic/ but it won't flash, either.

    So right now, I have 3.29.651.5 that I can't figure out how to either root or revert. Any suggestions?
     
  7. tpbklake

    tpbklake Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    225
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010

    Jun 22, 2010
    225
    46
    43
    When you boot into FASTBOOT mode by holding Volume Down and Power On, does the HBOOT screen show S-ON or S-OFF on the top line?

    If it is S-OFF, then you should be able to flash ClockworkMod Recovery. Once you get ClockworkMod Recovery installed, you should be able to flash a SuperUser image and get your root back.

    This link from XDA Developer has download links and information you will need to get root back (assuming you do have S-OFF):

    [Guide] How to apply the new OTA 3.29.651.5 when you have clockwork and s-off - xda-developers

    Regards,

    Tom
     
  8. dragonbyte

    dragonbyte Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010

    Oct 1, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Thanks for the quick reply!

    Unfortunately, mine says S-ON, though.
     
  9. luis4gevo

    luis4gevo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    i followed these steps and it all looked great but just noticed I lost wifi. I get nothing when clicking on the widget and under settings it gives me an error. Any advice would be greatly appreciated
     
  10. tsipa

    tsipa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    636
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    636
    111
    93
    NYC
    Do you have a custom recovery?
     
  11. tsipa

    tsipa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    636
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    636
    111
    93
    NYC
    Try flashing a different ROM.
     
  12. kyrumo

    kyrumo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    6
    1
    26
    Tech
    Maricopa, Az
    I keep getting "Validation Error: Backup CID is missing" I think it has something to do with hboot 097
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...