1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General OTA=GB keyboard???

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by wedgemoose, Sep 28, 2011.

  1. wedgemoose

    wedgemoose Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    461
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    461
    99
    53
    Sales
    MA
    Are our phones supposed to have a GB keyboard now?

    I had one from the market and uninstalled to see. But when i did it was the HTC keyboard instead. Am i doing something wrong? or are we not getting a GB keyboard with this update? and if not, why???

    thanks in advance......
     

    Advertisement

  2. angldvl81

    angldvl81 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    1,507
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011

    Feb 14, 2011
    1,507
    360
    193
    Female
    my job
    AZ
    Did you change your keyboard in settings? And then long press in text window and change input method?
     
  3. wedgemoose

    wedgemoose Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    461
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    461
    99
    53
    Sales
    MA
    i went to settings. but i don't see a "GB" option.

    are you telling me you have a GB keyboard on yours?
     
  4. mdeblaz

    mdeblaz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    408
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    408
    37
    43
    No, you only get the HTC keyboard
     
  5. angldvl81

    angldvl81 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    1,507
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011

    Feb 14, 2011
    1,507
    360
    193
    Female
    my job
    AZ

    I'm rooted so I won't get the OTA. And I use the SwiftKey X keyboard.
     
  6. stanlalee

    stanlalee Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    194
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    194
    21
    38

    Have you ever seen ANY factory untouched Sense UI phone with a base android keyboard? Sense phones have Sense keyboards. GB update wont change that and like I stated all along mostly the phone will look and perform not much different from froyo.
     
  7. wedgemoose

    wedgemoose Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    461
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    461
    99
    53
    Sales
    MA
    no, but this is my first factory sense phone with GB (seeing how it just came out 2 seconds ago).

    Just asking!!!
    i don't know if thats a "base android" thing or what it is. So only people with a Nexus will ever get a Gb keyboard that is in their build?
    that sucks
     
  8. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    the nexus,g2,and a handful of other "google experience" devices. and those of us that chose to root :D

    most other devices will have a manufaturer skin of some sort including their own style keyboard.
     
  9. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG

    No worries bud :D, if you want the GB keyboard then use the one from the market or use hacker keyboard from the market (I like it better than the stock GB one myself;)) I can't stand the sense keyboard buttons are just too fat looking for me.
     
  10. wedgemoose

    wedgemoose Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    461
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    461
    99
    53
    Sales
    MA
    Thanks Yeahha, thats what i use and have been using. I always would rather have something official than an app. Thats why i asked the question. i tried to see if it was there and couldn't see it. so I asked the quick question to put myself at ease.


    And you make me feel 10 times better saying "that you like it better than the stock GB keyboard".

    so i'm glade i asked. Plus, i'm going to try out that "hacker" one you talked about

    thanks again. i owe ya....
     

Share This Page

Loading...