1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General OTA ICS Issues on Bionic

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by kmwhiten, Oct 20, 2012.

  1. kmwhiten

    kmwhiten Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012

    Apr 14, 2012
    87
    0
    15
    If you have any issues after you install the OTA ICS on your Bionic please post them here.
     

    Advertisement

  2. HotPepper

    HotPepper Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2012

    Jun 1, 2012
    169
    4
    36
    Iowa is still waiting :(
     
  3. stridermt2k

    stridermt2k Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    418
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012

    Jul 4, 2012
    418
    43
    63
    Male
    Quality Control Technician
    Southern NJ
    Southern New Jersey standing by...
     
  4. kmwhiten

    kmwhiten Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012

    Apr 14, 2012
    87
    0
    15
    I am in Georgia, but I am running .230 until I hear good things.
     
  5. SirEagle

    SirEagle Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    712
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010

    Feb 21, 2010
    712
    81
    78
    Akron, Ohio
    Was on .232 and used House of Bionic to go to .246, no issues at all so far. Not seeing any differences either.
     
  6. armyguydan

    armyguydan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010

    Feb 2, 2010
    60
    2
    36
    Pullman WA
    Lewiston Idaho still waiting.
     
  7. Tenzen

    Tenzen Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    78
    6
    16
    Nc waiting...
     
  8. dave1812

    dave1812 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    732
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    732
    112
    93
    Male
    ret
    San Jose, CA
    SanJose waiting
     
  9. EZE336

    EZE336 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    28
    1
    16
    Male
    Quality Technician
    NC
    Also in NC ;) and waiting.
     
  10. PowerBomb

    PowerBomb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    542
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    542
    104
    93
    Chicago
    Well this thread has been a success so far lol. Who cares if you're waiting. You're all likely to be waiting for a long time, it's going to take a while.

    What issues are you expecting OP? Moto had to refine this release to death to get it past Verizon. Why start a thread ahead of time just to ask people to point out issues. You know the Android community, the second someone notices a bug, everyone will be talking about it. No real need for a thread like this.
     
  11. kmwhiten

    kmwhiten Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012

    Apr 14, 2012
    87
    0
    15
    Well they did get .905 release which had a very bad issue with the data, so explain to me how they got that passed?

    Also I made this thread to have one location to were people can go to see if there are issues with the new update instead of looking around a bunch of threads and forums.
     
  12. wildkitten

    wildkitten Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    609
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011

    Dec 30, 2011
    609
    75
    78
    Alabama
    Actually 905 didn't have a bad issue with data. The data issue that had been seen previously reappeared around the same time as 905's soak test, but many of us were still on 902 when the data issue was seen. The data issues were Verizon side.

    Remember, the data drop issue was NEVER Bionic specific. All of Verizon's early 4G models saw it. The Nexus, the Razr's, etc. It is merely that Bionic is the last to get the patch to fix the data issues which seemed to be caused by authentication issues where as all the other phones have already gotten it.

    This Is Why Your Verizon Galaxy Nexus (Or Other 4G LTE VZW Phone) Is Losing Its Data Connection
     
    Joe Eris and Thom like this.
  13. kmwhiten

    kmwhiten Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012

    Apr 14, 2012
    87
    0
    15
    Well I learn something new every day.
     
  14. stridermt2k

    stridermt2k Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    418
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012

    Jul 4, 2012
    418
    43
    63
    Male
    Quality Control Technician
    Southern NJ
    Hey, I'm sorry about the spontaneous national update check-in.
    I guess many of us are just antzy for some rich, creamy ICS.

    :eek:
     
  15. HotPepper

    HotPepper Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2012

    Jun 1, 2012
    169
    4
    36
    Speak for yourself dude. Because i can bet my bottom dollar I and many others do CARE
     
    AurJohn and beefyy like this.
  16. cawunited

    cawunited Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    My gf updated her bionic this morning, and it successfully completed. But she's having a lot of problems. When she tries to open any texting app, it just comes up blank and freezes the phone, requiring a battery pull. And the phone will just randomly freeze and need a battery pull. She can make calls sometimes, and sometimes it will just not work. If she receives a text, no notifications come up, but she will hear the notification tone but she can't see the text.
     
  17. SirEagle

    SirEagle Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    712
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010

    Feb 21, 2010
    712
    81
    78
    Akron, Ohio
    Did she get the update OTA or download from somewhere? What messaging app? Is she rooted or stock? Did she restore any data and how?
     
  18. dautley

    dautley Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,823
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    1,823
    502
    253
    Dickson, TN.
    Your going to have to do a Factory Data Reset I'm afraid.
     
  19. HotPepper

    HotPepper Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2012

    Jun 1, 2012
    169
    4
    36
    Back your phone up before you do the FDR
     
  20. Satires

    Satires Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    772
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012

    Jan 28, 2012
    772
    123
    113
    Employed schmuck (For now).
    Nowhere land..
    I'm on the .232 leak now. I'm creating a thread about my experience. As of now I do not plan on doing the ota update and have the phone blocked from updating. :)
     
  21. cawunited

    cawunited Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    Oh no! I wonder what happened.. I wish her phone was rooted so that I could have made a full backup before the update. What is recommended for backing up the phone?
     
  22. HotPepper

    HotPepper Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2012

    Jun 1, 2012
    169
    4
    36
    Root and titanium backup
     
  23. Satires

    Satires Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    772
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012

    Jan 28, 2012
    772
    123
    113
    Employed schmuck (For now).
    Nowhere land..

    I did a clean install and the first run was buggy, I dis a factory reset and it helped. I know you did the ota and I ran a leaked version. I think it's best to run on a clean slate anyways.

    Please let us know how it went if and when you do your reset and get your apps all loaded and set up. :)
     
  24. cawunited

    cawunited Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    Am I able to root it after the OTA upgrade was already applied? How?

    Yeah I'm sure that a clean slate would be better, but you would think that their upgrade would work. For people that don't know anything about root, they'd have to lose all of their data.
     
  25. Satires

    Satires Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    772
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012

    Jan 28, 2012
    772
    123
    113
    Employed schmuck (For now).
    Nowhere land..
    Well, anytime a major update takes place such as going from gb to ics, it's probably best to just get a fresh start regardless of rooting abilities and data back ups. People may have luck in doing so, but I'm a fanatic about running on a clean slate especially with a major update. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...