1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support OTA Updating for Note8

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by nfesto86, Sep 14, 2017.

  1. nfesto86

    nfesto86 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010

    Sep 2, 2010
    5
    1
    6
    I keep getting this message whenever I try to look for an update for my Note8. Any ideas on a way around this?
     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement

  2. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,238
    Posts:
    27,111
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    27,111
    16,475
    3,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    Two possibilities, assuming the internet access is aright with it. It's a carrier version Note8, and do you have service and a SIM with that carrier? Or possibly it's a grey import device, and it's not in the region or country that Samusng intended to be sold and used in. These are often sold from third-party Amazon or Ebay vendors, and described as things like "international unlocked", but it might actually be a Hong Kong or a Saudi Arabia version or something.
     
    major2112 and marctronixx like this.
  3. nfesto86

    nfesto86 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010

    Sep 2, 2010
    5
    1
    6
    I got this from Verizon. Came from preorder.
     
  4. major2112

    major2112 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #162
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    200
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013

    Jul 6, 2013
    200
    177
    78
    Male
    Willoughby, Ohio
    Maybe stupid but did you try wifi?
     
    marctronixx and mikedt like this.
  5. bukifvr

    bukifvr Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2017

    Sep 9, 2017
    42
    32
    33
    I get the same message.
     
  6. nfesto86

    nfesto86 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010

    Sep 2, 2010
    5
    1
    6
    Yeah tried WiFi and network
     
  7. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,238
    Posts:
    27,111
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    27,111
    16,475
    3,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    If it came via Verizon preorder, I assume it has service and a SIM in it from Verizon? How long has this problem been going on for?
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  8. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,061
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    If you have a Verizon nanoSIM from your previous phone, you don't need the new SIM, by the way. Just put your old SIM in and turn the phone on. That would resolve any conflicts with the account. If you have already activated the new SIM, then never mind
     
    marctronixx and major2112 like this.
  9. bukifvr

    bukifvr Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2017

    Sep 9, 2017
    42
    32
    33
    I'm using the Verizon nano Sim from my Note 5,and it works fine, just get that update error message. I am assuming my phone is fine and there is a problem with the server dealing with updates.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  10. jfelts

    jfelts Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2017

    Aug 12, 2017
    1
    0
    5
    I'm getting the same message since this morning. Yesterday it was fine. I do know that apparently an update was pushed out so maybe that is the connection issue.
     
  11. WeeWilly

    WeeWilly Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #127
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    377
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015

    Oct 14, 2015
    377
    298
    108
    Male
    Retired
    Rescue, California
    I have a factory unlocked N8 and I haven't received the latest update but, when I check, I get the usual message that says, "The latest updates have already been installed." You folks should check with Verizon support.
     
  12. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    683
    Posts:
    6,614
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    6,614
    4,344
    683
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    Yes i read an update is forthcoming for carriers. I use a T-Mobile variant and dont yet have the update either. The phone states its on the latest version.

    Each carrier may have a different wording, however it seems Verizon is just stumbling out of the gate... :)
     
  13. TrueFangz

    TrueFangz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #105
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    253
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013

    Oct 21, 2013
    253
    183
    148
    Male
    USA
    I have the VZW model, just checked for updates on mine and it says the same thing as Willy's. No error messages here, so maybe it's something with the VZW network in your location.
     
  14. bukifvr

    bukifvr Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2017

    Sep 9, 2017
    42
    32
    33
    Just checked system update for my Verizon Note 8 and the error message is gone. Just says I am running the most current version.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  15. TrueFangz

    TrueFangz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #105
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    253
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013

    Oct 21, 2013
    253
    183
    148
    Male
    USA
    My phone just now automatically downloaded a system update. When it asked me if I wanted to install it now, I tapped on "learn more" and it just opened a blank white screen. I hit install later as I had no idea what it was, and why it downloaded automatically. Normally system updates tell you when there's one available and asks if you want to download it, but this one did automatically.

    I found this from a Google search.

    http://www.androidauthority.com/galaxy-note-8-update-prerelease-800254/

    Figured what the hell and installed it. Still get a blank screen when I tap on learn more. Oh well, so far everything seems OK. I'll let you all know own if I notice anything weird.
     

    Attached Files:

    #15 TrueFangz, Sep 15, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2017
    marctronixx likes this.
  16. bukifvr

    bukifvr Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2017

    Sep 9, 2017
    42
    32
    33
    I just installed the update as well. Like you 'Learn More' was unavailable. Took about 10 minutes to complete.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  17. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    683
    Posts:
    6,614
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    6,614
    4,344
    683
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    Tmobile user here.
    update.jpg
     
  18. TrueFangz

    TrueFangz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #105
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    253
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013

    Oct 21, 2013
    253
    183
    148
    Male
    USA
    I just found out why mine updated automatically. I have developer options turned on and there's a setting in there that was toggled on to "Auto update system"
    I turned it off now.

    Funny thing now though, I just tried checking for new updates manually just for the no reason basically, and it sat there for about 30 seconds and I got an error saying it was having trouble authenticating my device, and to try again later.

    Oh well, not gonna worry about it, hopefully it will sort itself out later.
     
  19. jrbevins1

    jrbevins1 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017

    Sep 8, 2017
    1
    0
    5
  20. Joseph Meeks

    Joseph Meeks Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2017

    Sep 16, 2017
    2
    0
    15
    I'm having a ota updating issue on mine. Says I have a update. But the only options I have are download later or download. But it click download, it them pops up with I can only download on WiFi. Can't seem to find a setting or option to change it. I have unlimited data with Sprint and Dowloading updates have never been a issue before. But I did purchase a unlocked phone from Best buy so....
     

    Attached Files:

  21. evohicks

    evohicks Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,057
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011

    Jun 26, 2011
    1,057
    193
    143
    Male
    Shropshire, UK
    No help but what theme are you using?
     
  22. Joseph Meeks

    Joseph Meeks Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2017

    Sep 16, 2017
    2
    0
    15
    RainDrop_v2 haha NVM I'm dumb.
     

Samsung Galaxy Note 8

Welcome to the Galaxy Note 8 Forum where you'll find help, tips, tricks, accessories, reviews, and more for Samsung's S-Pen enabled smartphone. With a 6.3-inch screen, 6GB RAM, 8MP/12MP front & back cameras and a whole lot more- the Galaxy Note 8 is an absolute BEAST!

Share This Page

Loading...