1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Ota

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by tudmf, Jul 15, 2010.

  1. tudmf

    tudmf Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    104
    27
    43

    Advertisement

  2. xb_toaster

    xb_toaster Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    35
    0
    15
    So after reading the xda forums post it sounds like you have to unroot, push this update through stock recovery and then reroot using the unrevoked3. You can not just install on rooted device, thats why some have had problems with camera not working. Just saving you a couple pages of reading ;)

    Heres a link with the full instructions

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=726791

    I wish I wasn't at work. :(
     
  3. pirate943

    pirate943 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    207
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    207
    10
    38

    any chance you know how i go about doing this? im new to the whole rom thing. i looked around and clock work mod seems to be the best but its only for root users and if i have to unroot to install this that doesnt seem like the way to go (BTW im not rooted). i put the folder on my sdcard and went into recovery but it just gives me a picture of a phone with an exclamation mark on it.
     
  4. xb_toaster

    xb_toaster Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    35
    0
    15
    If your not rooted this should be a fairly simple process. Put the zip file on the root of the sd card. Then boot the phone into recovery(power off, hold power and volume down) once on the white screen push volume down and it should look for and begin installing the zip file. You should see a progress bar on the left side of the screen. It should do everything on its own from there and reboot your phone.

    I haven't had a chance to do this myself yet but I'm pretty sure thats how it works. Let me know if you still have a problem.
     
  5. pirate943

    pirate943 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    207
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    207
    10
    38

    i have the dinc_ota.zip and the firmware.zip (from the dinc_ota folder) on the root of my sd card and the phone cant find a image.
     
  6. heffe2001

    heffe2001 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    125
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    125
    14
    38
    Rename dinc_ota.zip to update.zip, then go into recovery, and tell it to update from update.zip.
     
  7. xb_toaster

    xb_toaster Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    35
    0
    15
    After it says can't find imagine push volume down one more time, I think I had the same problem with the eris.
     
  8. pirate943

    pirate943 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    207
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    207
    10
    38

    i cant get into recovery though. it just gives me a picture of phone with an exclamation mark and i have to pull the batt to restart the phone
     
  9. Le0_Br4zUc4

    Le0_Br4zUc4 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    325
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010

    I installed it and phone works perfect, no lag, no issue and super fast, there is a couple of new apps on the phone, new boot screen is nice! I do think a have better reception now then I had before
     
  10. necosino

    necosino Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,962
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    1,962
    338
    163
    Accountant and semi-pro poker player
    Upstate NY
    Just a heads up that doing this update could result in not receiving future radio firmware updates apparently... I'm going to hold off on it for now.
     
  11. Le0_Br4zUc4

    Le0_Br4zUc4 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    325
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010

    My only issue is that some of my apps are not in the market anymore, apps like my sling box app, what can i do to download?
     
  12. necosino

    necosino Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,962
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    1,962
    338
    163
    Accountant and semi-pro poker player
    Upstate NY
    There's an off-market app called market enabler that you may want to try out.
     
  13. baciv

    baciv Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010

    Jul 2, 2010
    44
    3
    16
    Venice Beach, CA
    I only received my DInc this week, and I'm curious if there is a new Kernel #, Software # or Firmware version associated with the update. Currently I'm running

    Kernel
    2.6.29-cc1c2268
    Software
    1.2.605.2

    thanks
     
  14. bmwhartgeM3

    bmwhartgeM3 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010

    Mar 10, 2010
    39
    10
    18
    how come when i use recovery to start this process a red triangel with ! appears?
     
  15. bmwhartgeM3

    bmwhartgeM3 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010

    Mar 10, 2010
    39
    10
    18
    when i press the up and power button it says no such directory file not found but its on my sd card
     
  16. tluv00

    tluv00 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    559
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    559
    249
    113
    On the edge
    Being that I am a Root/Manual update n00b what is the root of the sd card and if I download the file straight to my DINC from the website is that the root? If not how do I transfer (and I have Astro).
     
  17. yojoe600

    yojoe600 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,188
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    2,188
    207
    143
    College Student
    NC
    just put it on the sd card not in folders is what root mean
     
  18. Le0_Br4zUc4

    Le0_Br4zUc4 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    325
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010

    Thanks man, but it didn't help me, I'll do some research to see if I can find anything but I appreciate any idea you guys have
     
  19. xb_toaster

    xb_toaster Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    35
    0
    15

    So thats what happens as soon as you boot your phone using the power button and volume down?
     
  20. xb_toaster

    xb_toaster Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    35
    0
    15
    did you change the name of the file to update.zip? And is it on the root of the sd card?
     
  21. xb_toaster

    xb_toaster Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    35
    0
    15
    ok i think I figured out what your problem is. When you get to that screen with the red triangel push power+volume up. Let me know if that works
     
  22. bmwhartgeM3

    bmwhartgeM3 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010

    Mar 10, 2010
    39
    10
    18
    Nah I also tried that and it say valadation failed
     
  23. xb_toaster

    xb_toaster Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    35
    0
    15
    I'm sorry.... I don't know what else to try. :( I havent even done this myself yet I haven't had time. I gotta unroot so I'm a little hestiate.
     
  24. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,507
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    1,507
    885
    213
    Then the copy you have of the ota is corrupt or tampered with.
     
  25. btpowers

    btpowers Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010

    Mar 22, 2010
    16
    5
    16
    One thing to check would be the sdcard properties. I had to format a card (FAT32/1024 I believe) to get the stock ROM back on and the OTA installed. Something to try (if you haven't already).
     

Share This Page

Loading...