1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Our DroidX phones were borked by GB -- What the heck?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by samalex, Jun 30, 2011.

  1. samalex

    samalex Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    22
    1
    16
    My wife and I both have DroidX phones, which came preloaded with 2.1, and though the Froyo update (2.2) made the phones much more stable and added some nice features, this latest GB update has hosed more things then it fixed/added. I guess it's good to see that we're not the only ones seeing this problem, but it's VERY frustrating given we have about $500 invested in both of our phones (not counting apps), and GB has caused them to be on the verge of unreliable.

    These problems have been posted by others, but for the most part here's what I'm seeing:
    - Phone reboots by itself, generally when playing music over BT in the car
    - Last night tried to make a call but it instantly went to 'Timer 00:00:00' and the only fix was rebooting
    - Phone quite often drops 3G, sometimes showing nothing and sometimes showing 1X, and while doing this nothing Internet related works.
    - I'm unable to select phone numbers in browser and have Dialer open with the number already entered

    The problem is my wife and I both have a DroidX, and given she's not as tech-savvy as I, I'm concerned that if an emergency happens when she's with the kids and she needs to call me or someone else the phone may not be in a giving state and work. I've told her that if all else fails always reboot, but given that takes 1-2 minutes that's crazy in an emergency.

    Given I've been with Verizon/Alltel/360 Communications for 15 years now plus we have so much $$$ invested in the phone I'd rather not even humor the idea of leaving Verizon, but if they or Motorola don't get this fixed soon I'll do whatever it takes to leave my contract to get stable devices.

    Is there any word on an update to fix these problems?

    Sam
     

    Advertisement

  2. RichSz

    RichSz Not Entitled
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,086
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    2,086
    1,173
    313
    Male
    Software Engineer
    Between Imladris and Lothl
    Have you done a factory reset of the phones? As much as it sucks to do, it solves a multitude of problems.
     
  3. samalex

    samalex Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    22
    1
    16
    Is there anyway to have the apps we've downloaded or the data (like game data) saved so it's preserved after a factory restore? I just loath the thought of having to re-enter all my credentials into every app.

    Also most of the emails from people having problems said a factory restore didn't help, so which problems specifically would a factory restore fix?
     
  4. Metfanant

    Metfanant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,450
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    2,450
    412
    163
    not without root

    could help everything...could help nothing
     
  5. WTF

    WTF Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    245
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010

    Sep 11, 2010
    245
    27
    43
    Mile High City
    Samalex, maybe the best thing is to revert back to Froyo - here is a link to the thread that explains how to create a bootable disk that will accomplish this in one go:

    http://androidforums.com/droid-x-al...ootable-linux-cd-soley-sbf-headache-free.html

    I'm staying away from GB for the reasons you stated (and others) that I've read about in these forums. I have Froyo 2.2.1 rooted, OC/UV and it works great - does everything I want and need and have never had an issue with a dropped call or 3G signal here in the Denver area. Hope this helps!:D
     
  6. mortymouse

    mortymouse Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    246
    24
    38
    Just back up the apps you want. If you need to do it for free, use Astro File manager from the market. Your gmail and all contacts will be saved as well. Then simply SBF, personally I would SBF to GB again and then wipe your phone and start over. Shouldnt take more than an hour or two. I can do it in 30 mins or so.
     
  7. nsa_sailor

    nsa_sailor Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    413
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    413
    52
    83
    Engineer
    Wichita
    Have you tried removing the SD card? Some are reporting that will help.

    It seems to me that all this bitching about the phone is that users with complaints may have bad apps loaded/installed that aren't optimized for the latest release and this is what causes all their issues.

    Me, I have no problems with GB.

    Try cleaning all the crap off of your wife's phone and see if that fixes anything.
     
  8. pool_shark

    pool_shark Android Expert
    Rank:
     #70
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    2,519
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    2,519
    578
    343
    Male
    Infrastructure Engineer
    Ohio
    The only problem I still have with GB is my X will reboot upon using the navigation for the first time.
    After it reboots the navigation works as expected.

    I was getting reboots every few minutes initially after the GB upgrade, but a factory reset cleared that.
     
  9. dirkbonn

    dirkbonn Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    888
    Joined:
    May 6, 2010

    May 6, 2010
    888
    116
    93
    Male
    Honolulu, HI
    After updating to GB did both you and your wifes X's begin acting the same way?

    Given that most phones were ok after updating to GB, there must be something that both you and your wifes phones have in common. Most likely an app you both have installed. If you can find that app, your problems may go away...

    Best of luck,
     
  10. mahers

    mahers Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,320
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    1,320
    164
    143
    Male
    Product Manager
    Concord, CA
    How can you be so sure of that? :thinking:

    Mine was also "borked" by GB. Without going into another diatribe, suffice it to say my battery is just as bad as it was with Eclair. Froyo took care of that issue, but GB eats throught my extended battery like a cancer. I've done factory resets, cach wipes, draining it to 0%, and removing apps I felt were the culprit...no dice.:mad:
     
  11. dirkbonn

    dirkbonn Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    888
    Joined:
    May 6, 2010

    May 6, 2010
    888
    116
    93
    Male
    Honolulu, HI
    [,QUOTE=mahers;2897315]How can you be so sure of that? :thinking:

    Mine was also "borked" by GB. Without going into another diatribe, suffice it to say my battery is just as bad as it was with Eclair. Froyo took care of that issue, but GB eats throught my extended battery like a cancer. I've done factory resets, cach wipes, draining it to 0%, and removing apps I felt were the culprit...no dice.:mad:[/QUOTE]

    I'm not 100% sure, it's just that logic lead me that way. Of the hundreds of thousands or possibly millions of X's sold by verizon, the owners here with problems is a relatively small percentage of that total.

    I'm just saying that many apps that were compatible with froyo, undoubtedly some won't play well with GB, and might be the cause of some issues. The odds of two X's in the same household having the exact same issues simply because they were X's, would be quite high in my opinion. To me it would be more likely some other commonality.... like an app.

    However, stranger things have happened and it wouldn't be the first time I was wrong.... our the last!

    Best of luck to all that are having issues...
     
  12. ZackyZombieface

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010

    Oct 13, 2010
    66
    3
    16
    Male
    Fiber Customer Support Analyst
    Hampton, VA
    I've had the 3G dropping issue, the random rebooting, but only recently. I've had the can't call from browser issue as well, same as the call timer thing.

    I've already flashed my phone once before... I'm not doing it again. Hopefully the mythical "patch" that we are hearing of will fix these problems.
     
  13. pool_shark

    pool_shark Android Expert
    Rank:
     #70
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    2,519
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    2,519
    578
    343
    Male
    Infrastructure Engineer
    Ohio
    The app issue is a very valid point. There are apps I have installed on my X that apparently are not officially compatible with GB. I say that because I can no longer see them in the market on my X.

    I can see them in the online market but they state that they are not compatible with my device.

    Those apps are "dollar bank", android ID3, and one other that I can't remember at the moment.
     
  14. USHwy129

    USHwy129 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    51
    3
    16
    Clearwater FL
    This is a regular and absolutely endless task for me... :eek:
     
  15. mhome

    mhome Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010

    Jan 2, 2010
    215
    10
    38
  16. dnichols02

    dnichols02 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010

    Dec 24, 2010
    2
    0
    25
    Educationer
    CA
    I had an issue yesterday when I upgraded to GB. I narrowed it down to LauncherPro and SwiftKey having the biggest issues when I would go into the Settings/Prefs menus. Anytime I tried to adjust my settings on either of those apps my phone froze. I sbf'ed back to Froyo, and started anew with GoLauncher, which I really like. I would like to be able to use GB (the notification bar alone is that much better, and I'm too afraid to root my phone), but I don't want to have to sbf again if I have the same issues... //endgripe.
     
  17. samalex

    samalex Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    22
    1
    16
    I actually made a post on the Motorola forum before coming here, but there's just as many frustrated people there.

    I might test doing a factory reset on my phone since this morning both of our phones had lost the 3G icon and both went directly to 'Timer 00:00:00' when trying to dial out. I even did a test call from Skype to my phone and it went directly to voicemail which was freaky thinking we were basically cut off last night if someone would've needed to get ahold of us. I rebooted both phones which got us back up and going, but this is not good. Then this morning my wife's phone showed a caution sign with the android dude which we'd never seen, and again a reboot get it back up.

    Tonight I'll try to do a hard reset on mine and see if that fixes it. Also I saw the link someone posted showing how to get back to Froyo, but reading through it I have to ask what's SBF? Also does this 'root' the phone or cause any changes that might void the warranty?

    Thanks --
     
  18. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    YOUR phone might have been broke by the OTA, but mine ran fine on the OTA with no issues that I seen.

    SBF'ing will reset your phone to like it was out of the box!
     

Share This Page

Loading...