1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Out of space error

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by phantomora, Jan 23, 2013.

  1. phantomora

    phantomora Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012

    Oct 3, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    When i try to install any app i get out of space error. I have more then enough room on my phone. 500mb internal and 2gb external.
     

    Advertisement

  2. ChickenMonkee

    ChickenMonkee Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012

    Jan 11, 2012
    171
    15
    38
    Male
    Truck Driver
    Florida
    I did the link2sd trick listed on here and when I try to install NFS most wanted it needs to read at least 2044mb free on card. I have a 16gb card and I keep getting error msg when trying to install it that I have 0mb available.
     
  3. Tesla5

    Tesla5 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    238
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012

    Dec 3, 2012
    238
    82
    53
    It is not seeing your external sd.. you'll have to let the author of the app know of the bug.
     
  4. phantomora

    phantomora Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012

    Oct 3, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    Well i said screw it and just did a factory reset. everything works fine now. and its still rooted. just have to redownload everything
     
  5. ChickenMonkee

    ChickenMonkee Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012

    Jan 11, 2012
    171
    15
    38
    Male
    Truck Driver
    Florida
    It shows me the partition in link2sd but it's like my phone doesn't acknowledge it. What is the deal with selling us a phone with an sdcard slot that it doesn't recognize anyway?
     
  6. Tesla5

    Tesla5 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    238
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012

    Dec 3, 2012
    238
    82
    53
    Your phone or the app? My phone is using my external SD card. If you made an Ext2 partition for Link2SD.. you'll want to make sure you point the app to the FAT32 partition.. the Ext2 partition is only for moving apps to the external SD with Link2SD.
     
  7. Slayer72

    Slayer72 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,672
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011

    Dec 22, 2011
    2,672
    955
    323
    Male
    Troy NY
    Wait a minute, so you're saying in order for Link2SD to use the 2nd partition on my MicroSD card you have to tell Link2SD to make it FAT32??
     
  8. Tesla5

    Tesla5 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    238
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012

    Dec 3, 2012
    238
    82
    53
    NO.. the app NFS (Need For Speed) needs to use the FAT32 partition and Link2SD needs to use the Ext2 partition. I was thinking that he might be trying to point NFS to the Ext2 partition. Sorry for the confusion.

    Edit: I'm assuming that NFS requires an external SD from what I have read in this thread.. I haven't tried installing.
     
  9. Slayer72

    Slayer72 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,672
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011

    Dec 22, 2011
    2,672
    955
    323
    Male
    Troy NY
    What are you using to partition the MicroSD Card, tried doing it in CWM, but I guess that feature isn't working cause it didn't do it... :/
     
  10. Tesla5

    Tesla5 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    238
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012

    Dec 3, 2012
    238
    82
    53
    Slayer72 likes this.
  11. Slayer72

    Slayer72 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,672
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011

    Dec 22, 2011
    2,672
    955
    323
    Male
    Troy NY
    Yeah, I already got it set up, I'm already familiar with Mini Tool Partition Wizard, used to use it all the time, but yeah I setup mine to 1 GB (1024) Ext2 partition and it's working just fine... :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...