1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Out of the Loop newb

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Napalm, Jun 7, 2011.

  1. Napalm

    Napalm Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #123
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    981
    126
    123
    Aircraft Engineer
    Memphis, TN
    I am so far out of the loop. I need some help knowing what to do first.

    I run Liberty Rom on my DX, I was on the .240 when I switched to libery, from APEX 1.4 (I think, maybe 1.2).

    I have liberty 1.5 right now. (yes I know months old, oh the horror)

    Battery life getting worse, new apps not performing right.

    What is the new hotness? What do I do first o get there?

    SBF back to .240?
     

    Advertisement

  2. someotherguy

    someotherguy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010

    Apr 15, 2010
    154
    22
    38
    SBF to 2.340 (not to the Gingerbread SBF) - It is currently unrootable.
    z4root
    droid 2 bootstrap (Yes droid 2 bootstrap, you can find it free on my droid world)
    Download the gingerbread .596 two part zip files.

    Install both of them in clockwork consecutively without rebooting.
    I would then wait for it to boot, then factory reset then start getting your apps reinstalled.
     
  3. Napalm

    Napalm Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #123
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    981
    126
    123
    Aircraft Engineer
    Memphis, TN
    if I do bootstrap would I really need to even sbf the thing?
     
  4. someotherguy

    someotherguy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010

    Apr 15, 2010
    154
    22
    38
    You need to SBF back to 2.340 because there isn't an upgrade path from liberty 1.5 to the new gingerbread.

    If you don't want to get drivers and stuff setup, and know how to burn an ISO file.

    http://androidforums.com/droid-x-al...ootable-linux-cd-soley-sbf-headache-free.html

    Will boot into linux and SBF to 2.340 for you.

    Also going that route with the two GB .596 files will get you the newest baseband 12p installed.
     
    Napalm likes this.
  5. Napalm

    Napalm Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #123
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    981
    126
    123
    Aircraft Engineer
    Memphis, TN
    awesome.

    Thank you.
     
  6. cougar214

    cougar214 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,423
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    1,423
    157
    143
    Napalm might I suggest. After you flash the two GB files and before you reboot the phone, wipe data/factory reset. Get it out of the way cause if you DO bootloop you will have to do this anyway so just get it out of the way from the start.
     
    someotherguy likes this.
  7. someotherguy

    someotherguy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010

    Apr 15, 2010
    154
    22
    38
    Good to know you can do it immediately after. I always figured you should at least let it attempt to boot (perhaps finishing install or something).

    I'll start resetting immediately and recommending to others.
     
  8. Napalm

    Napalm Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #123
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    981
    126
    123
    Aircraft Engineer
    Memphis, TN
    Indeed. I have done that with every rom install I have done on the device. Something Fab wrote just made it sound like a good idea every time. anyway. Will try to SBF tonight.
     
  9. cougar214

    cougar214 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,423
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    1,423
    157
    143
    And definitely use the Linux method to SBF. Using RSDlite is easy but if you're using windows 7 64 bit like I am it can be a bit picky and piss you off...lol.

    The very first time I used RSDlite I had no problems. The second time however It gave me the dreaded driver problem and took forever to solve and get my phone back to stock.

    Also, a good habit I got into thanks to Metfanant is wiping data/factory resetting before I flash and after I flash. Since I have been doing it this way I have had zero problems while booting or running.
     
  10. Napalm

    Napalm Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #123
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    981
    126
    123
    Aircraft Engineer
    Memphis, TN
    sbf complete. that kicks all kinds of azz.

    I think I will rock the OTA. all else fails though I downloaded the other files. So I can use them later.

    Thanks for the insight, go away for a month and everything goes to hell. sadly I don't hear much positive for the DX2 right now. But I have until april 2012 anyway.
     
  11. cougar214

    cougar214 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,423
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    1,423
    157
    143
    I was tinkering with the idea of upgrading to the dx2. My wife said I spent so much on this phone(850 bucks) if I even attempted to sell this for a new one she would nauter me.........lol.
     
  12. Napalm

    Napalm Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #123
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    981
    126
    123
    Aircraft Engineer
    Memphis, TN
    I'm holding off until my contract date. cost reasons really.

    dumb query maybe? is there root for the .596 OTA. or do I have to go back and load the TBH files.
     

Share This Page

Loading...