1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [OUTDATED] Root 2.2.1 and get Data WORKING!!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by joneidy, Feb 16, 2011.

  1. brandonjohnn

    brandonjohnn Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011

    Feb 18, 2011
    10
    1
    16

    Tried reinstalling all drivers and lgnpst. Same results.
     

    Advertisement

  2. brandonjohnn

    brandonjohnn Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011

    Feb 18, 2011
    10
    1
    16

    Also, I am running Windows 7. Could that be an issue? LGNPST keeps crashing even though I uninstalled and reinstalled and the .dll doesn't show up in the right hand corner.
     
  3. Prime85

    Prime85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    800
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    800
    201
    93
    Windows 7 is not the problem. I rooted 3 phones with my windows 7 and worked perfectly.

    why dont you remove everything that was added to your computer and start from the beginning there might have been a problem installing the components. When installing them turn off your UAC, i had problems installing them till i turned UAC off.
     
  4. brandonjohnn

    brandonjohnn Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011

    Feb 18, 2011
    10
    1
    16
    I realized my mistake, I wasn't running Reggie.exe in compatibility mode
     
  5. forda214

    forda214 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011

    Feb 18, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Compatibility mode doesn't seem to make a difference for me, I'm using Vista. The only part I think might have gone wrong was when dragging the .dll to reggie.exe to register. I get an error and 2 xml documents are created labeled settings and ms690_cmdinfo.
     
  6. those are the files created when you register the .dll..i just checked my folder and they were both there....im also using XP PRO...i dont really like vista or 7 all that much.i prefer the "simple" route.
     
  7. forda214

    forda214 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011

    Feb 18, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Well... I guess I can just downgrade to 2.2 and use z4root, that's been verified to work with Optimus M hasn't it?
     
  8. did your phone COME WITH 2.2.1??? if so the downgrade method doesnt work...or atleast not for me the 5 TIMES i tried it.
     
    merk14 likes this.
  9. forda214

    forda214 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011

    Feb 18, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Yea actually I think it might have... I'll try this again tomorrow maybe I did just overlook something.
     
  10. brandonjohnn

    brandonjohnn Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011

    Feb 18, 2011
    10
    1
    16

    Reggie.exe needs to run in Windows XP service pack 3 mode not vista.

    I got it to go through but now I have no service and my phone isn't rooted so I can't get service back through the listed method.
     
    pilotcharles747 likes this.
  11. Prime85

    Prime85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    800
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    800
    201
    93
    in order to get your phone rooted you have to use adb push to transfer su and busybox to the /data/local/tmp/ folder and then use adb install to install the superuser.apk. after this restart your phone and it will be rooted. now you will have to flash the custom recovery in order to get your service back. its all in the directions.
     
  12. brandonjohnn

    brandonjohnn Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011

    Feb 18, 2011
    10
    1
    16

    I pushed su and busybox and installed superuser through adb and still no root.
     
  13. Prime85

    Prime85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    800
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    800
    201
    93
    When you typed su into adb shell did you give superuser permission on your phone?

    you can check by opening the superuser app on your phone and it will tell you if you gave the cmd permission or not
     
  14. brandonjohnn

    brandonjohnn Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011

    Feb 18, 2011
    10
    1
    16
    It never asked for permission
     
  15. brandonjohnn

    brandonjohnn Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011

    Feb 18, 2011
    10
    1
    16
    had to try su a couple of times anf it finally asked for permission
     
  16. Prime85

    Prime85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    800
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    800
    201
    93
    now all you have to do is copy recovery-thunderc-m-v1.2.0-GNM.img and Flash_Image both unzipped into the root of your Sdcard and then in the shell type this

    # mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock5 /system

    # cat /sdcard/flash_image > /system/bin/flash_image

    # chmod 755 /system/bin/flash_image

    # mv /system/etc/install-recovery.sh /system/etc/install-recovery.sh.bak

    # mount -o remount,ro -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock5 /system

    # flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery-thunderc-m-v1.2.0-GNM.img

    after that just reboot and you will have your signal back
     
    duttydranco likes this.
  17. Do exactly what prime just said and you should be ready to roll.
     
  18. juanhonglo

    juanhonglo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    6
    1
    6
    original post in wrong area so i repost here hope some one can help thanks


    ok i downloaded and installed everything i run lgnpst it sees my phone shows all info has the correct dll loaded so it says ms690 then crash program fails. i managed to get it to stay running and began update process but it stayed at 0% overnight. complete unistall and reinstall still no good.

    first install lgnpst componets had a fail on install deleted all files from directory (C:\LG Electronics\LGNPST) then they would install but no good uninstallation.
    any suggestions of what i did wrong unable to root sucks bad
     
  19. joneidy

    joneidy Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    307
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011

    Jan 15, 2011
    307
    376
    88
    Computer Technician; Currently Developing for Andr
    Methuen, MA
    Did you register the dll file????
     
  20. juanhonglo

    juanhonglo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    6
    1
    6
    yes i have dropped ms690.dll over reggie i have run the setup file as well. i used cmd to run reggie with the dll and right clicked the dll and chose register.

    using reggie i get error hresult==x80020009
    using register i get same error

    i have windows 7 64bit ultimate but see that others have had this version work
     
  21. lordzaron

    lordzaron Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    16
    2
    16
    You have to change compatibility to Windows XP then it should register correctly.
     
  22. OptimusSlime

    OptimusSlime Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    204
    27
    43
    Male
    Sales
    San Clemente, CA
    Ok Guys. My OptM had no service, then I used the recovery method and now it can get service, and Z4 says it's Rooted, but I still can't seem to
    #1) Use the recovery feature to load Rom1,
    #2) WRITE files to the phone. IE I can Rename PhoneOn.mp3 or delete it, but I can't replace it.
    I feel lost, this is where the noob help kinda dies off.

    Thanks for all the hard work guys!

    PS Yes I used the shell, both through my PC and thru Terminal
     
  23. sthomas

    sthomas Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    43
    5
    16
    Home Depot
    Michigan
    Well I was interested in rooting my phone just to get rid of bloatware. But this just sounds way to complicated.
     
  24. OptimusSlime

    OptimusSlime Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    204
    27
    43
    Male
    Sales
    San Clemente, CA
    Just an update. I am running 2.2.1 as it came in the box, and did remove bloatware, just can't seem to do much past that. It is fully operational, I just was hoping to throw on some wifi hotspot enabling firmware, or try to burn up my cpu overclocking it, or something. Huge thanks to all the top admins in here. I have gotten pretty far in almost no time thanks to all of your efforts, I Just hope I haven't reached the end of my modifying capabilities on my handset. ;)
     
  25. joneidy

    joneidy Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    307
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011

    Jan 15, 2011
    307
    376
    88
    Computer Technician; Currently Developing for Andr
    Methuen, MA
    It is not that complicated, just read it carefully and it will be easy to root your phone.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...