1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Outgoing Google Voice Calls?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by johnb41, Aug 14, 2011.

  1. johnb41

    johnb41 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    206
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011

    Aug 7, 2011
    206
    17
    38
    I never imagined I'd have a use for outgoing Google Voice calls, but I do now. I'm on vacation in the mountains and thus no phone service, but I do have access to Wifi.

    So I make an outgoing call, using Google Voice, and it doesn't work. I keep getting an error saying "called failed". I tried calling many times and also trying different numbers with no luck.

    Is there an issue with outgoing Google Voice calls over Wifi?
     

    Advertisement

  2. idbl_fanatic

    idbl_fanatic Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    403
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011

    Feb 2, 2011
    403
    37
    43
    You need something like GrooveIP, that is what I use, and it works perfect
     
  3. bigvandal

    bigvandal Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    222
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011

    Jun 19, 2011
    222
    40
    43
    GrooveIP works great. Clear calls
     
  4. MrTweaker

    MrTweaker Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011

    Feb 25, 2011
    76
    7
    16
    Remington, MD
    Just find a good guide for setting it up and you'll be good to go. It has a lot of settings to get the best voice quality on both ends.
     
  5. minus5252

    minus5252 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    186
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011

    So how well does GrooveIP work on the Triumph? Does it work alright over 3G? What about on 1X.

    Also, can anyone link to a good guide? IF there are ways to set it up incorrectly, I'd like to avoid those. I don't want to follow the wrong guide.

    So with this setup, could I then drop down to the 300 minute plan?


    Minus5252

     
  6. johnb41

    johnb41 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    206
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011

    Aug 7, 2011
    206
    17
    38
  7. snoobzilla

    snoobzilla Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011

    Aug 13, 2011
    11
    1
    16
    You can also use sipdroid with pbxes, but you have to set up a free phone number on your google voice first. Every once in awhile it stops working and I have to go hit the submit button for personal data on my pbxes account. Not perfect but free minutes when I need them. If I had to rely on it more I would get groove IP.
     
  8. sfdreamsla

    sfdreamsla Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011

    Jul 20, 2011
    35
    2
    16
    Can someone post their preferred settings with GrooveIP? I just downloaded it and I have super strong wifi at home but everyone I call tells me I "keep fading in and out". I made some adjustments - but to no avail. Maybe if I copy someone else's setting it will work better... Thanks!
     
  9. BlackGravity

    BlackGravity Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    466
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011

    Apr 16, 2011
    466
    66
    53
    just got GIP today.. and it works great...tested and it didn't touch my minuets.
     
  10. jordonwii

    jordonwii Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010

    Nov 27, 2010
    72
    3
    16
    Student and hobbyist programmer
    Washington
    You're just going to have to mess around. To be honest, I actually found calling over 3G sounded better on both ends than calling over WiFi.

    I have audio processing and audio routing turned on.
     
  11. JonIndie

    JonIndie Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010

    Nov 9, 2010
    75
    14
    18
    KY
    I have an intercept but have been reading the threads on this forum because I plan to eventually buy this phone once I have the money.

    on the intercept I had sipdroid installed before and working.. but it took me a few days to get it working correctly.. when 2.2 came out I upgraded and didn't feel like setting up all that crap again. but this sounds like a better alternative.
     
  12. mantera

    mantera Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,319
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    1,319
    1,587
    313
    In case anyone was on the fence on getting Groove IP, it's only $1.99 on Amazon at this time instead of the normal price of $4.99.

    I just got it and so far it sounds great on wifi. I left everything on the default settings.

    Calling my phone's voicemail was a little messed up since it kept trying to dial my google number to dial my cell number so it was acting like a normal call. But once I put my cell number in the exclude list to never use google voice, I was able to retrieve my voicemail without a problem.
     
    jdt265 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...