1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Outlook Categories for Contacts and Eventss

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by TeresaTT, May 30, 2011.

1. TeresaTT

TeresaTT Newbie
    None

May 29, 2011
    Hi. I'm a complete newbie to Android as I've been using Windows Mobile for many years now together with Outlook on my desktop. It seems that Windows Mobile is a dead end now and Windows Phone 7 is a huge backward step for me. Therefore I am on the verge of buying an Android mobile (quite probably the HTC Incredible S).

My Outlook contact and calendar data is very important to me and I need it to sync to my mobile with no loss of any data when it syncs back again. After many hours of frustration I have managed to get a stable synchronisation up and running between Outlook and Google Contacts and Calendar. It is with great reluctance that I have moved into the Cloud but I have the added benefit that my Netbook also synchronises with the cloud so that I have offline access to my data when away from home.

I use Go Contact Sync Mod for my contacts which preserves the Outlook categories by mapping then to google contact groups. This works very well and even syncs my outlook contact photos.

I use Google Calendar Sync for my calendar and that seems to preserve all my data including the categories. If I edit an event on Google calendar, when synced back to Google all categories are intact.

I assume that as my Google Contacts are in groups, these should sync ok with an Android mobile. If I edit a contact on my mobile will it sync back to google and retain it's groups?

My big worry is what will happen when I sync my Google calendar to my mobile. If I edit events on my mobile, will categories be stripped off when syncing back to Google?

Are there any other significant fields of data that are lost when syncing back from the mobile to Google.