1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Over Clocking your phone

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by arnold22, Feb 8, 2011.

  1. arnold22

    arnold22 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011

    Feb 1, 2011
    91
    6
    16
    Ontario, Canada
    Does anyone have experience with over clocking the chip in the phone? Is it even possible?

    Thanks,
    Kris
     

    Advertisement

  2. barqers

    barqers Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    753
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010

    Nov 5, 2010
    753
    72
    78
    Yes, you can use SetCPU.

    Not a good idea though, overheats way too easily.
     
  3. arnold22

    arnold22 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011

    Feb 1, 2011
    91
    6
    16
    Ontario, Canada
    I assuming overheating would be an issue with no air circulation.
     
  4. barqers

    barqers Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    753
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010

    Nov 5, 2010
    753
    72
    78
    Yeah, it really would be. My idle temp is around 20 degrees. I overclocked to about 700mhz, and temp went from 20 to 35 degrees. Still not THAT hot, but I figured that there was no point in overclocking. Drains the battery too.
     
  5. arnold22

    arnold22 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011

    Feb 1, 2011
    91
    6
    16
    Ontario, Canada
    Gaining 33Mhz will never be notice and like you said, not worth the extra heat and battery drain.
     

Share This Page

Loading...