1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Overclock

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by MrOblige, May 3, 2012.

  1. MrOblige

    MrOblige Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012

    Mar 8, 2012
    87
    2
    16
    Can anyone link me to a decription of how to overclock prevail or just link me to a thread???
     

    Advertisement

  2. Necrotoxin

    Necrotoxin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    225
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    225
    100
    68
    College student
    MrOblige likes this.
  3. Caeadas

    Caeadas Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    225
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012

    Jan 12, 2012
    225
    236
    68
    Georgia, USA
    Overclocking isn't that hard, some of the new roms have everything pre-installed and all you have to do is change the settings. The tricky part is getting it just right. Not all cpus are created equal, some will happily run at 946mhz, others can't get over 800mhz. Hence why we can't just set it and forget it in the roms.

    CTmod comes with an app called Voltage Control. When you open it (and allow it superuser access) you will have two slider bars and two dropdown menus at the top. Ignore the I/O scheduler (I dunno what it does). The many different settings of the CPU governor are explained in the thread linked above, but you're basically trading speed for battery and vice verse.

    The Minimum slider is the slowest the CPU will go when the phone is idle. If you start to get lag when waking the phone up or when getting phone calls, turning this up can help. I had to turn mine up to 200mhz.

    The maximum slider is the overclock, start turning this up slowly, one notch at a time, and let it run for a little while. If it starts getting unstable, go back a notch and leave it. If it's all stable, slide it up another notch and test it some more. Again, this is all based on your CPU and how lucky you are.

    And watch out, the phone tends to lock up if the battery gets too hot. It usually happens to me if i'm in navigation and the phone is on charge. Keep your phone relatively cool while you tinker.
     
    MrOblige likes this.
  4. tivofool

    tivofool Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    175
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012

    Apr 16, 2012
    175
    40
    43
    True, A couple days ago I was fiddling with voltage control trying to go from 900mhz to 925 and it force closed and would just boot loop after. lol. CT3.5 and it did feel hot to me. Had to Odin back to stock.

    Worked out for me because I'm trying a new rom (to me) cm7 beta5 and my phone is really loving it. (especially paired with the OC katokernel)

    I timidly OC'd it to 888mhz this time.
     
  5. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    583
    Posts:
    5,559
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    5,559
    4,444
    583
    Male
    entertainer
    grand rapids,mi
    Do you mean katokernel? Or did you somehow get kouma kernel to work with cm7:thinking::thinking::thinking:
     
  6. tivofool

    tivofool Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    175
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012

    Apr 16, 2012
    175
    40
    43
    Ha! ya, too much coffee this morning.
     
  7. Necrotoxin

    Necrotoxin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    225
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    225
    100
    68
    College student
    I assume you didn't let VC create the CWM zip? It basically just sets your phone back to the way it was before you ever opened VC.
     
  8. tivofool

    tivofool Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    175
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012

    Apr 16, 2012
    175
    40
    43
    What is this "VC" you speak of?
     
  9. Necrotoxin

    Necrotoxin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    225
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    225
    100
    68
    College student
    Voltage Control, you know, the app that you set the Overclock settings with.
     
  10. tivofool

    tivofool Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    175
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012

    Apr 16, 2012
    175
    40
    43
    Huh... must have overlooked that option or popup when on CTMod. I'm running CM7 now and using antutu to Overclock it.
     
  11. MrOblige

    MrOblige Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012

    Mar 8, 2012
    87
    2
    16
    can i overclock with cpu master? I still feel comfortable with cpu master. For some reason while using VC my phone overheats no matter which gov. i choose. Also, i find that i can have a longer battery life with cpu master.
     
  12. 76ford90lx

    76ford90lx Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    532
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011

    Sep 10, 2011
    532
    96
    78
    Q.A. Supervisor
    Riverside, CA
    I'm one of the unlucky ones I suppose. I'm running CTMod 3.5 using VC and I cant go even one setting higher or the phone freezes up and I have to reboot :(
     
  13. tivofool

    tivofool Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    175
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012

    Apr 16, 2012
    175
    40
    43
    I think that's why you need to run different mods/kernels to see which one your phone likes. I can have a game run smooth as butter on a particular rom at 800 mhz and the same game is laggy on a different rom running at even 900 mhz.
     
  14. Necrotoxin

    Necrotoxin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    225
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    225
    100
    68
    College student
    You CAN use CPU master, nobody's stopping you and it should work.
     
  15. jwh42000

    jwh42000 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    392
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012

    Feb 7, 2012
    392
    83
    73
    Kansas City, MO
    Before I couldn't either. I switched to the katokernel smoothass bumped it 900 and didn't touch it all day. After that was able to ease into it. Run 946 like a champ daily now
     
    tivofool likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...