1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root overclocked, phone keeps restarting

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by thatguy85, Mar 1, 2011.

  1. thatguy85

    thatguy85 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    9
    1
    6
    Solutions Consultant, Software Company
    Delaware, Ohio
    Hi all,

    I overclocked my phone to 1250mhz @ 58 and now it keeps restarting over and over. Is there any way I can un-brick this thing? I was using JRummy's Droid Overclock app.
     

    Advertisement

  2. dmiller2007

    dmiller2007 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,000
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    1,000
    242
    143
    Did you set it to apply on boot?
     
  3. thatguy85

    thatguy85 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    9
    1
    6
    Solutions Consultant, Software Company
    Delaware, Ohio
    Yeah, unfortunately. Tried doing battery pulls and that doesnt seem to help it. It'll get past the initial "Android" logo, and I'll be able to slide my thumb across the screen to unlock the phone, but it never gets far enough to be unlocked and allow me access to the app.
     
  4. dmiller2007

    dmiller2007 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,000
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    1,000
    242
    143
    Maybe if you did it really fast. you have about 10 seconds by default (i think) before the OC is applied. I'm far from an SBF expert do I don't want to try helping on that front.
     
  5. thatguy85

    thatguy85 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    9
    1
    6
    Solutions Consultant, Software Company
    Delaware, Ohio
    Following the manual on SBF now. I think I'll be applying the 2.3.320 SBF.

    I'll let everyone know how it goes.
     
  6. bouchigo

    bouchigo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,756
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    3,756
    1,026
    413
    Production Engineer Mngr.
    Stockton, CA
    No need to apply 2.3.320 SBF, there's a full SBF 2.3.340 out now.
     
  7. thatguy85

    thatguy85 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    9
    1
    6
    Solutions Consultant, Software Company
    Delaware, Ohio
    Thanks, although I saw somewhere that going to 340 could break things.

    SBF is almost done. Looks to be working. When I have it back up and running on stock firmware I'll do the upgrade to 340 OTA
     
  8. bbuck002

    bbuck002 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    622
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    622
    60
    78
    Research Tech
    Buffalo
    in the future make sure your device is stable with the OC before you set it to apply on boot...this should prevent you from boot looping. Good Luck!
     
    thatguy85 likes this.
  9. thatguy85

    thatguy85 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    9
    1
    6
    Solutions Consultant, Software Company
    Delaware, Ohio
    Thanks, I should have known that but was a little too gutsy :D

    Soo.. how do I upgrade this over the air? I thought there was an auto upgrade option somewhere >.>
     
  10. bouchigo

    bouchigo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,756
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    3,756
    1,026
    413
    Production Engineer Mngr.
    Stockton, CA
    It won't break anything using 2.3.340 full sbf.
     
  11. gmenfan83

    gmenfan83 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,409
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    the 2.3.320 sbf you applied is a leak and will stop an ota from going through ,,,,,like bochigo suggested you should flash the .340 full sbf as it wont break a thing
     
  12. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    +1

    There is no recent OTA for anything but 2.3.15.
     

Share This Page

Loading...