1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Overclocking - Evil Eris 3 - SetCPU

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mikevarela, Jul 27, 2010.

  1. mikevarela

    mikevarela Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    14
    2
    16
    Just rooted, was much easier than I thought.

    Having issues with SetCPU. I've paid and installed the app but it's read only... There's a button to run disable perflock, which was recommended for HTC users, though the things runsa dn comes back that I don't need to disable perflock.

    Any help, I'd like to use this app
     

    Advertisement

  2. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,030
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    2,030
    264
    163
    I'm a cableguy....really
    Monterey, CA
    HAven't seen this problem. I would try uninstalling and installing again.

    Oh, and you might want to get used to posting in the All things Root threads...;)
     
  3. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    699
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010

    Mar 3, 2010
    699
    154
    113
    Automotive Electrical Technician / Mechanic
    I'm a drifter.. here and there.
    Do you remember pushing "Autodetect" ?
     
  4. mikevarela

    mikevarela Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    14
    2
    16
    Fixed...

    Needed to use the SUDO program first
     
  5. Peter123

    Peter123 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    405
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009

    Nov 20, 2009
    405
    24
    38
    Physicist

    Could someone please describe the whole process of installing and enabling setCPU step-by-step for dummies/noobes.
    Greatly appreciated....
    Peter
     
  6. thetomlin2

    thetomlin2 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,292
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    1,292
    242
    143
    L'Etoile du Nord
    I just rooted yesterday, so I dont know all the in's and out's ... but I installed Plain_JaneT2 V2.0 rom ( [ROM]Plain_JaneT2 V2.0 7/18/10 Stock With everything ROOT!! - xda-developers ) and it was ready for setCPU without anything additional to install. I purchased setCPU from the market and was overclocking within minutes. This rom is also ready for app2sd right away, just need to partition your sd card. Very easy to use and t2noob was very helpful.
     
  7. homeeconomicalengineer

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    36
    1
    36
    take care of three little people :)
    I second that !:D
     
  8. shaggylouie

    shaggylouie Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    150
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    150
    3
    36
    This is how I did it. (it was daunting at first) *I too am using Plain Jane*

    1. Download SetCPU from the market

    2. Open app - and select "auto-detect recommended" (sorry, not exactly sure how that was stated)

    3. The first screen is the "main" screen that says max and min

    4. Set your settings (on demand); I still have been playing with my settings, but I'm at 787 max and 528 min - it has been recommended to set max at 710 depends on your preferences

    5. Select "profile" and choose your other settings such as Screen off, Temp, and charging/full - these could be set lower

    There are some other threads on here that will recommend setting for you. Good luck. Hope that helps!
     
    Peter123 likes this.
  9. mikevarela

    mikevarela Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    14
    2
    16
    Just to re-iterate..
    Download app... It's not a free app.
    Install it
    open it - hit the recommended button.

    Now, you can have a few different experiences.
    The main screen that comes up is for setting the speed sliders of your phone, if they can't be moved (mine weren't), then make sure first to close the program and go an find the Super User program in your program list. Open that and make sure that SetCPU is marked as a program in there. Then return to SetCPU.
    If the sliders can be moved now then you're ready to go. If not, then try disabling Perf Lock by hitting menu, and 'disable perf lock' that should help.

    Now I've read that some ROM's only allow certain levels of customization in speed, so don't fret if you can't get to 800, you shouldn't anyway!

    All the literature on this site said we could go between 710 and 786, but after that was asking for troubles. you could freeze your phone or worse, brick it.

    I set mine at 710 and 528 for low. apparently 528 is the high mark where the phone was before, so under that number and your underclocking your phone.

    Th important thing is to set profiles.

    so, go into the profles tab and create a few... here's mine from reading about 40 posts last night.

    Main Window = 710/528
    screen off = 480/245
    charging full = 710/528
    temp = 43 degrees - slider at 100% and 480/245

    Other than the temp, leave the priority sliders at 50% for the rest

    you'll understand when you see the program.

    I left all profiles, including main set to 'ondemand', this lets the phone scale dynamically between the values I present, performance - the other option, pinns the speed at the top mark. it'll drain your battery and can over heat your phone after a while

    click the set on boot button on the front page of the program and restart your phone.

    you can of course go crazy with over clock, but it'll kill your phone and battery and then it's all moot anyways.
    710 seems like a great tradeoff.
     
    QuasiNerd and Peter123 like this.
  10. Peter123

    Peter123 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    405
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009

    Nov 20, 2009
    405
    24
    38
    Physicist
    Thank you mikevarela.
    I am still not rooted - collecting information.
    When/if I will be OC-ing I plan to be conservative - stayin at 710.
    In my view at higher speeds the stability of the phone might suffer in the *long term*. We don't know what is the design marging of Eris' CPU as far as reliability vs clock speed is concerned....

    Peter
     
  11. mikevarela

    mikevarela Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    14
    2
    16
    I was on the fence for a long time, then last night I had about an hour and decided to say 'what the heck' i followed the mac instructions (i'm on a mac) and realized that i didn't know what i thought was gonna be hard. In fact the walk through was so easy that my 10tr old sister could do it. it took about 20 minutes.

    rememeber, back up your apps with astro file manager, that way you won't have to go an download them again.

    The rooting also backs up your system in case you want to return to the way it was.

    I decided to go with Evil Eris and other than the color change of buttons, i'm not noticing any difference, well except for wireless tethering and over clocked speeds. and in reference to those speeds, it's not screaming fast, just much more responsive. in my opinion, the hardware lagged on the eris.. i love my phone, especially the size, but i would get pissed every time i had to wait to make a secondary call, or lag when changing screens. now it's quicker.

    it's a no brainer, i'd just give it a whirl when you get a little time
     

Share This Page

Loading...