1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Overclocking / MFLOPS performance.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by alchemize, May 26, 2010.

  1. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,644
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    1,644
    759
    223
    There isn't a one-size fits all answer to this question, because it depends on what people configure in their profiles and advanced settings.

    I think I have noticed a more rapid decline in battery reserve, but that is entirely to be expected.

    A good analogy is a water clock - it will use about the same amount of water "per tick". So, you can reduce the number of times you need to refill the water tank (charge the battery) in a day - if you are willing to have fewer ticks of the clock per day. Same deal for power usage by the application processor in the Eris - want it to run fast? That will cost you.

    I have my profiles set up to ratchet down the CPU in steps as the battery level drops. Also, I have most of the profiles set to X Mhz / 19 Mhz and haven't noticed any troubles that are mentioned above.

    The important thing is to realize, OC'ing isn't some form of magic which exempts you from basic physics somehow - if on average your Eris is clocked faster, then on average it will drain the battery faster. There's really no way of getting around that.


    eu1
     

    Advertisement

  2. Spaz007

    Spaz007 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010

    Mar 27, 2010
    40
    2
    16
    I had been using two roms with great battery life. I'm now on a third ROM that seems to drain the battery as fast then I can blink. So far OC hasn't been the issue with my Eris.
     
  3. Philosophre

    Philosophre Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010

    Feb 26, 2010
    105
    2
    36
    California
    I understand that for computers when you OC, you would need to increase the voltage to stabilize the speed increase. Does setCPU automatically increases my power input when I OC? If so then it makes sense. I can see an OC increase not affecting battery life but I would assume there will be stabilization issues. I'm defaulting to 768/19. I assume when i have the screen off it drops to 19 and when I got my screen on and doing whatever it jumps to 768.
     
  4. alexhendershott

    alexhendershott Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    103
    2
    36
    Graphic and Web Designer
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Highest I've gotten is 5.3 on CE by Framework.
     
  5. aznguyen316

    aznguyen316 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    57
    0
    15
    what are people using to get Mflop benchmarks? lol don't see one in setcpu. on evileris at the moment, been thinking about the ivan 2.1, any opinions on speed there?
     
  6. MJL

    MJL Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009

    Dec 13, 2009
    252
    27
    43
    search linpack in the marketplace and download.
     
  7. aznguyen316

    aznguyen316 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    57
    0
    15
    thank ya!

    3.058
    time: 1.77

    evil eris 2.0.1 OC'd to 767
     
  8. Hercules

    Hercules Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    100
    3
    36
    Utah
    My stock Eris is getting about 2.2-2.4
     
  9. Jomboni

    Jomboni Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    89
    4
    16
    insurance agent
    Philadelphia
    This is probably a good thread to ask this - what kind of profiles are you guys using in SetCPU? I'm using EvilEris 2.0.1 now - I have it set to 245 for sleep, and to slow down when the temperature goes below 45, and to go down to 480 when the battery is below 50%.

    It's definitely noticably faster but the battery life SUCKS now, and I was surprised because after rooting and upgrading to Aloysius the battery life was so much better than stock 1.5. And when I disable the overclocking on EvilEris I'm back to getting great battery life.

    Am I missing something here? Most comments on the board said that overclocking doesn't effect the battery much if you have profiles set up right...
     
  10. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    699
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010

    Mar 3, 2010
    699
    154
    113
    Automotive Electrical Technician / Mechanic
    I'm a drifter.. here and there.
    You're phone never goes below 245mhz, no matter how low you have it set. You can check the BOGOMIPS using "cat /proc/cpuinfo" in adb shell while the phone is asleep. If it actually did ever go down to 19hz, it wouldnt ever turn the screen on, rendering your phone useless. I forced it to 160/160 once, and it took a solid MINUTE for the screen to come back and be able to get into setcpu to raise the power.

    Just an FYI ;)
     
  11. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,644
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    1,644
    759
    223
    1) Default profile 710/19, Turn off Charging profile, Set Sleep/Stdby to 160/19; phone awake

    # cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep Bogo
    BogoMIPS : 707.65

    2) Same profiles, manually sleep phone with power button

    # cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep Bogo
    BogoMIPS : 159.47

    3) Hit power button to awake from it's sleep

    # cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep Bogo
    BogoMIPS : 707.65


    The first time I tried this, I saw 19.13 BogoMIPS after I hit the power button to wake the phone in step 3 (!)... the phone was very sluggish, and took maybe 10 seconds to paint the lockscreen - during which time I was continuing to see 19.13. Strange, right? (I'm using Ivanmj Official_1.0_OC). But, I was able to unlock the screen even though that command sequence was reporting only 19.13. Eventually, it got on its' feet and returned back to 707.65.

    I think there is a small risk of misinterpretation using this method to determine what the phone is doing - after all, the goal of battery conservation is to make the phone appear as snappy as possible when it is "doing something". So, it all depends on how "doing something" is defined from the kernel's perspective (which will include the "advanced settings" of SetCPU, if used)

    For instance, when you type the commands into the adb shell, the shell process on the phone "wakes up", parses your command, forks a new process, loads an executable, searches across the /system filesystem for dynamic libraries, loads those files, etc etc etc... all of which happens before the contents of /proc/cpuinfo are ever examined.

    That means it is possible that the very act of trying to observe the "idle" system triggers the kernel to ratchet up the CPU to the max rate allowed for that profile setting. So, you might not "see" the lowest setting, even if it is being used.

    Anyway, my $.02. I'm just glad we have some knobs to fool with.

    eu1
     
  12. meanm50

    meanm50 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    139
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    139
    7
    36
    Marketing manager for national franchise
    PDX
    So with JIT and white widow, I am hitting 4.9-5.1 at 710.
     
  13. aznguyen316

    aznguyen316 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    57
    0
    15
    sweet reflashed with cyanogen eris 1.1 and I assume JIT is already enabled with OC to 768 hit anywhere from 4.9 - 5.2
     
  14. johnnyboy1549

    johnnyboy1549 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    49
    1
    16
    damn i didnt realize that there was a time line for 3.1 .... i got lucky and found it on grdlocks site after the link had been removed from xda huh? cant wait for 4.0 sounds pretty awesome.
     
  15. jonathanphx1

    jonathanphx1 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010

    Apr 1, 2010
    41
    6
    16
    Androzoid had a limited 4.0b3 release today, you need to have 3.1 on order to flash it though.
     
  16. ssick92

    ssick92 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    289
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Jan 19, 2010
    289
    41
    43
    To get my degree
    Cal Poly San Luis Obispo
    For the record, I got 2.86 mflops stock. So 3 isnt much of an exaggeration, however I somehow got a damn quick one.
     
  17. JrzDroid

    JrzDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    1,682
    308
    163
    T-Mobile
    NJ
    I'm running White Widow and got a range of 3.7-4.6
    If i wanted JIT is it an add on?
     
  18. jonathanphx1

    jonathanphx1 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010

    Apr 1, 2010
    41
    6
    16
    It's already on there.
     
  19. JrzDroid

    JrzDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    1,682
    308
    163
    T-Mobile
    NJ
  20. meanm50

    meanm50 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    139
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    139
    7
    36
    Marketing manager for national franchise
    PDX
    I want the kernel that allowed for 748mhz...my Eris is unstable at 786, so 748 was nice to have around. I bet with 748 I can hit 5.0-6.0 mflops
     
  21. JrzDroid

    JrzDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    1,682
    308
    163
    T-Mobile
    NJ
    your unstable at 748?? I've got SetCPU at max 768 ondemand and its perfectly fine
     
  22. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,644
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    1,644
    759
    223

    As you move closer and closer to "the ragged edge", some phones will experience problems earlier than others. That's a consequence of the fact that the max speed that components can run at will be different from unit to unit. I'm sure there will be a small number of unlucky few who can't even run at 710.

    Lucky you, ya got one of the quick ones. :)

    eu1
     
  23. droidkevlar

    droidkevlar Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    813
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    813
    111
    93
    I am running Aloysius+JIT and highest I get is 5.4's. My settings are 806/480, 480/240 for sleep. Very stable and very fast. I never have any fc's or reboots. Been running at 806 for a while now. Battery life is even better for me. Before, half day, I was at 50% or so, now Im at 75-82% with same use as before.
    [​IMG]
     
  24. JrzDroid

    JrzDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    1,682
    308
    163
    T-Mobile
    NJ
    HOLY FAST ERIS!
    you run 806?!
    time to look in Aloysius!!! does it comes JIT equipped???
     
  25. meanm50

    meanm50 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    139
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    139
    7
    36
    Marketing manager for national franchise
    PDX
    No I am stable at 748...it's 768 that freezes. The only problem is the OC settings in white widow only allow 710 then 768...there is no option for 748. :( But around 5 mflops at 710 really isn't bad at all...so I will probably stick with it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...