1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root oxygen 2.2.2

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by swampymc8, Sep 27, 2011.

  1. swampymc8

    swampymc8 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010

    Jul 11, 2010
    59
    1
    16
    nr manchester
    Hi all
    sorry for the dumb question.
    does this rom have app2 sd ?. have installed it and think its great. but not sure if it has it. have partioned my card . when i install an app it has move to sd greyed out and does move but is it going on sd or partiton ? when i look in titanium my app2sd does not seem to go down. or am i doing something wrong , which prob am ,.

    this is first rom i have installed by the way

    thanks in advance
     

    Advertisement

  2. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    "move to sd" is nothing to do with the partition. read my root memory faq linked in my signature
     
    swampymc8 likes this.
  3. swampymc8

    swampymc8 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010

    Jul 11, 2010
    59
    1
    16
    nr manchester
    have read it but not sunk in.. will read again and again :mad:
     
  4. handy5876

    handy5876 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Install freespace from market. It will tell you the correct status of data and sdext partitions.
     
  5. aceominous

    aceominous Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010

    Oct 21, 2010
    107
    5
    36
    Middlesbrough
    This is weird coz its the exact same problem im having after recently rooting and
    flashing to oxygen 2.2.2, ive also partitioned my sd card to fat32 and ext 3.
     
  6. swampymc8

    swampymc8 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010

    Jul 11, 2010
    59
    1
    16
    nr manchester
    At least am not on my own.
    Just thought I was doing something wrong.
    Still reading the info.
     
  7. geemacd

    geemacd Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

  8. Flumme

    Flumme Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    335
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011

    Jun 29, 2011
    335
    88
    53
    Sweden
    Do as Handy says and install Freespace. It will tell you if your EXT partition is used.
     
  9. swampymc8

    swampymc8 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010

    Jul 11, 2010
    59
    1
    16
    nr manchester
    Hi
    Just installed freespace.
    checked sd-ext. Said used 89mb.
    Moved some apps back to phone. And that went uptown 100.
    Moved back to SD and it went down again.
    Take it my partion working. Or am I getting wrong end of the stick.

    Thanks
     
  10. Flumme

    Flumme Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    335
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011

    Jun 29, 2011
    335
    88
    53
    Sweden
    The EXT runs as it should, based on what you just said.

    There's no reason to use the regular apps 2 sd option now, though. I would recommend moving the apps back to phone, as that lets you take full advantage of the massive EXT partition, and saves space on the FAT32 partition for more intresting stuff like photos or music ;)
     
  11. aceominous

    aceominous Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010

    Oct 21, 2010
    107
    5
    36
    Middlesbrough
    I also installed freespace and found that the ext 3 partition is working as it should, but I'm still concerned about the internal memory as it is still getting used quite alot. I actually moved all my apps back to my SD card and got more internal memory back, so if that's the case what is the point in having a2sd?
     
  12. swampymc8

    swampymc8 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010

    Jul 11, 2010
    59
    1
    16
    nr manchester
    agreed
    may be its worth changing rom.
    dont really want to like this rom
    still reading trying to take it all in
     
  13. Flumme

    Flumme Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    335
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011

    Jun 29, 2011
    335
    88
    53
    Sweden
    Keep reading the faq:s and guides here, and things will eventually start to make more sense. I am in no way an expert myself, but whatever I know I've learned here on AF...

    How much internal memory have you got free at the moment without moving the apps to SD "Froyo-style"? And how many apps are you putting on the phone?

    Some parts of the apps will still end up on the internal memory, like app library (for some apps), app cache, and stuff like that. You can use a script to force the Dalvik cache to your SD-card, but I am very unsure of the particulars of this as I haven't done so myself. Trust the guides and faq:s to deliver your answers, though!

    If you are S-Off, and have read all about it, you should consider changing Hboot partition table to, in this case, Oxygen Hboot r2. This is the only real way to benefit from Oxygen being a slim, light weight ROM. You will then have literally more than double the space for apps.

    I have done this, and have some 80 user apps installed, including massively big ones like Angry Birds. I have no ext partition, and still 90 Mb free.
     
  14. aceominous

    aceominous Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010

    Oct 21, 2010
    107
    5
    36
    Middlesbrough
    Ive just changed to gingervillian mate, its just basically the same but better, (if that makes sense) also a2sd works spot on, just use terminal emulator from the market and type su and then a2sd cachesd.:)
     
  15. swampymc8

    swampymc8 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010

    Jul 11, 2010
    59
    1
    16
    nr manchester
    Hi
    Not installed new hboot.
    Was thinking of gingervillan before installed oxygen couldn't make my mind up.
    may install it. Also looking at cyanogen.
    All confusing lol
     
  16. Flumme

    Flumme Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    335
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011

    Jun 29, 2011
    335
    88
    53
    Sweden
    Keep experimenting with different ROMs until you find your particular poison... That's the way to go!
     
  17. swampymc8

    swampymc8 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010

    Jul 11, 2010
    59
    1
    16
    nr manchester
    Hi
    Thinking of installing cyanogenmod 7.0.3 now.
    Just want to no. It says require Google addon .
    Is market already in the rom cos I only use that and Gmail.
    If need to flash do I just install rom then install add on within a wipe.
    Sorry for noob question
     
  18. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,708
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,708
    16,103
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    You'll need the Google add-on to get the market. Can flash at same time as ROM.
     
    swampymc8 likes this.
  19. swampymc8

    swampymc8 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010

    Jul 11, 2010
    59
    1
    16
    nr manchester
    Once I flash rom do I just flash add on after it without doing anything else.
    No wipes etc. Sorry for simple question for u guys
     
  20. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    You may aswell, but it isn't imperative you do it that way.
     
    swampymc8 likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...