1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root p3 1200 lv kernel

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by chosendude, May 23, 2010.

  1. chosendude

    chosendude Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    78
    0
    15
    where can i download this kernel? Ive searched everywhere and cant find a download link
     

    Advertisement

  2. bose301s

    bose301s Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    159
    5
    36
    ROM Manager under CyanogenMod
     
  3. jackburnt

    jackburnt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    663
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    663
    63
    98
    Auburn, AL
    doMnegonayC rednu reganaM MOR
     
  4. chosendude

    chosendude Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    78
    0
    15
    i use SPR.. i dont use clockwork. i would use clockwork but i have no idea how to do it.
     
  5. Redflea

    Redflea Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,623
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    2,623
    289
    163
    Download ROM Manager from the market.

    Launch it and select the option to flash clockwork recovery (it may ask you automatically).

    Select the option to Download ROM (I believe you have to enable Advanced mode in the ROM Manager settings).

    Select the Cyanogen section

    Select P3Droid and choose your desired kernel.

    After your install you can flash back to SP Recovery if you want, but likely no real reason to...
     
  6. chosendude

    chosendude Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    78
    0
    15
    oh wow yeah thats alot easier.. idk why i didnt do this before.. so is my SPR gone now?
     
  7. doomedromance

    doomedromance Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    664
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    664
    82
    78
    The Left Coast
  8. chosendude

    chosendude Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    78
    0
    15
    wow.. that clockwork reset my whole phone.. just to install a kernel.. thats a little extreme.
     
  9. doomedromance

    doomedromance Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    664
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    664
    82
    78
    The Left Coast
    You mean like data reset? or reboot?

    It will have to reboot. You shouldn't have had the data wiped.
    I don't use the ROM Manager. I just download the appropriate file off the web, copy it to my phone and boot into clockwork and do it myself. It doesn't wipe data.

    Yeah, but ROM Manger will switch it back to SPR when ever you want. You really don't need it anymore. The good roms are all update.zips now, not SPR Nandroids.
    With clockwork, the file doesn't have to be renamed, and it doesnt have to be on the root of the SDCard. So you can install BBv1, a different kernel, NexTheme or smoked glass, and whatever else all in one go, w/o having to change everything to update.zip and move it to /sdcard. It's much better.
     
  10. chosendude

    chosendude Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    78
    0
    15
    yeah my phone got completely restored.. just installing that new kernel. all my files everything got wiped.
     
  11. doomedromance

    doomedromance Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    664
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    664
    82
    78
    The Left Coast
    Crappy... Yeah, that's why I always install things manually. I had ROM Manger installed to flash Clockwork. After I wiped my phone, it's never been back on.
     
  12. jackburnt

    jackburnt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    663
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    663
    63
    98
    Auburn, AL
    It got wiped because you chose "wipe data." Always read what you're doing while you do it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...