1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root pandora/JIT unstable w/ xtr 4.6 ?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by thrawn86, Oct 24, 2010.

  1. thrawn86

    thrawn86 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    512
    33
    68
    Miranda
    I'm getting some major fc/phone reboot Issues with Pandora (1.51 I think) and xtr 4.6. JIT on/off doesn't seem to matter.

    I've already wiped and reloaded (yes, cleared dalvik too) and I'm wondering if anyone else is having issues with pandora/xtr 4.6 specifically or if this may be due to the newer version of pandora.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Haxcid

    Haxcid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    413
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    413
    29
    43
    are you running apps2sd?
     
  3. thrawn86

    thrawn86 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    512
    33
    68
    Miranda
    no, I don't think its really necessary with 4.6 and c2c.
     
  4. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
     #56
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,695
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,695
    1,927
    483
    Did you try setting the VM heap size to 48 MB? (It's one of the gscripts.) Turning on JIT does that automatically, but it may be worth a try. For some reason I recall reading somewhere that this helps with Pandora.

    I suppose I'd also try uninstalling Pandora and then reinstalling, just to see if that helps.
     
    thrawn86 likes this.
  5. thrawn86

    thrawn86 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    512
    33
    68
    Miranda
    ahh I thought it was built into 4.6. Do I need to clear dalvik after setting it?

    gonna run that now, will report back.
     
  6. thrawn86

    thrawn86 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    512
    33
    68
    Miranda
    ran gscript, rebooted, rebooted again w/ dalvik clear, reinstalled pandora, then restarted again....crashed after 5 minutes in the middle of a really great song, too.

    going to try flashing something else until a new version of either pandora or xtr comes out. no pandora is an absolute dealbreaker.
     
  7. KarateExplosion6

    KarateExplosion6 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    166
    21
    38
    I've run Pandora on both xtrSENSE and xtrROM without issue, except with JIT On. With JIT On, it has always crashed (although, I have never played with the big heapsize).

    If you're having issues regardless of heapsize, I'd suggest reflashing the ROM. Have you verified your .zip's md5 checksum? I have a feeling you just had a bad flash or something.

    P.S. Although you'll see better benchmark performance, JIT On with any Android 2.1 based ROM doesn't noticeably increase your actual performance in use. In fact, there has been people who suggest it actually hurts performance. IMHO, it's best not to run JIT unless you're on a Froyo ROM.
     
    thrawn86 likes this.
  8. thrawn86

    thrawn86 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    512
    33
    68
    Miranda
    ah sorry if I didn't make that clear, but this was with JIT off.

    I'm playing around with kaos at the moment.
     
  9. KarateExplosion6

    KarateExplosion6 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    166
    21
    38
    Then you've probably had a bad flash somehow.
     

Share This Page

Loading...