1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Pandora on the EVO

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by rdegk15, May 31, 2010.

  1. lordofthereef

    lordofthereef Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,131
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,131
    369
    163
    Student
    Ads are within Pandora... you are supposed to get them. I got them on iOS version of Pandora as well as the desktop version. It is how they keep the service free.
     

    Advertisement

  2. SamuraiBigEd

    SamuraiBigEd Under paid Sasquatch!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,181
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    4,181
    2,088
    633
    Male
    Production, Warehouse & Installation Manager
    San Antonio, Texas
    I was hoping that was it, but you never know.
     
  3. Drew5150

    Drew5150 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    900
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    900
    234
    93
    SF
    yep, I get the skipping too. I only use pandora at work while plugged in on a desk. It gets good signal from what I can tell 3g/4g. It seems like it skips on every song. It's very annoying.
     
  4. AyeAyeCapn

    AyeAyeCapn Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010

    Nov 5, 2010
    20
    2
    16
    Swashbucklin
    California
    I hate pandora on my Evo. I can be connected to 3g AND have my wifi on with a full signal, and it skips songs all the time. It is very annoying. It didn't do this so much when I was on eclair, but ever since froyo it's been a nuisance and i don't even bother with it.
     
  5. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,666
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,666
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    haven't noticed any issues with wifi...still bad on 3g though
     
  6. pinkorchid72

    pinkorchid72 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010

    Dec 6, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    So I've recently downloaded the Pandora app on my evo and don't really know how to work it is there a way to get different genres or just the first one you search? It won't let me search more songs or artists... please help I'm so confused
     
  7. lordofthereef

    lordofthereef Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,131
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,131
    369
    163
    Student
    Tap the bottom left icon. It looks like a bunch of lines. Should be just to the left of thumb down. From there hit menu, and select "create station" from the popup.
     
    pinkorchid72 likes this.
  8. TBon350

    TBon350 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010

    Jan 26, 2010
    59
    5
    26
    IT
    Denver
    While I haven't experienced the issue with pandora, it's actually my backup media streamer as I like Shoutcast radio a lot more.

    The music is higher quality (or at least can be) and it certainly doesn't skip songs, although I had issues buffering the music on the stock HTC kernels. Netarchy's seems to be perfect though as I've gotten no stutter.

    Downside is there's not intelligence built into it, you can't skip songs, etc.
     
  9. toomuchgame441

    toomuchgame441 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,081
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    1,081
    78
    128
    Like other users said, I only experience the skipping on 3G and not wifi. I hope an update is in the works to correct this.
     
  10. R1_Rydah

    R1_Rydah Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    165
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    165
    21
    38
    MD
    I'm rooted, running the stock rom, and pandora version 1.4.1 and don't experience any skipping or cutting off of songs...

    I don't update a app unless its giving me a problem, once you find a version of pandora that plays well with your setup, stick with it... sometimes those minor updates & bug fixes can do more harm than good...
     
  11. lordofthereef

    lordofthereef Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,131
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,131
    369
    163
    Student
    Just curious, how much time have you given it. I listen to pandora for about 5 hours a day, and maybe have this happen to me once a week. Yesterday I had it running for most of the day, not a single issue. Today it skipped twice while on the bus. Very strange.
     
  12. R1_Rydah

    R1_Rydah Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    165
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    165
    21
    38
    MD
    about an hour at a time, IMO if it happens to you that infrequently I would'nt worry about it... but thats just me
     
  13. SamuraiBigEd

    SamuraiBigEd Under paid Sasquatch!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,181
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    4,181
    2,088
    633
    Male
    Production, Warehouse & Installation Manager
    San Antonio, Texas
    I have had it happen every song for over an hour (I let it keep skipping all the way once to see how long it would do it) on the road between here and Austin! Other times it works flawlessly on the same trip.
     
  14. lordofthereef

    lordofthereef Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,131
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,131
    369
    163
    Student
    I am not so much worried as I am annoyed. If it has been going on for this long it seems like Pandora should do something about it. I am sure they are making bank off of on screen ads as well as audio ads in between every half dozen or so songs, so we are essentially paying them by using it.
     
  15. rangergrrl

    rangergrrl Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    117
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    117
    35
    43
    Network Operations
    Planet Earth
    I have no skipping issues on 3G...i listen all the time even while driving plugged into the usb in the car.
     
  16. mcl1981

    mcl1981 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    198
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    198
    33
    43
    Sometimes it works fine. Sometimes I can't get a single song to play all the way through. Mismatched album art. Failure to connect and actually begin when you open that app. I've read it is an issue only with Sprint's network.
     
  17. blown99gt

    blown99gt Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010

    Dec 8, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    my pandora was skipping like crazy at work after the first few songs, i wanted to smash my phone but it would be a huge waste of money.. i turned the 4g on for the heck of it and ever since ive never had any issues.. 10 hrs straight at work..
     
  18. blackandwhite

    blackandwhite Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010

    Dec 2, 2010
    48
    0
    35
    Office Operations
    Chicago
    When I try to open pandora now i get the error - Unexpected JSON error occured: Value <HTML><HEAD><TITLE<>Cisco of type java.lang.String cannot be converted to JSONObject while StartupAsyncTask


    and the error Unexpected HTTP error occurred code: 403 While StartupAsyncTask

    it seems like for some reason all music players arent working on my phone
     
  19. wader999

    wader999 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010

    Sep 26, 2010
    16
    2
    16
    ok, I used pandora when I first got my phone in my car. It worked great, even used nav with. Had it on high quality. I then wanted to listen to some flac files. I installed some media players. The flac files skipped, and now pamndora skips. I have removed the flac files and media programs, but it is still skipping.

    Now when I loose a good connection/signal, it skips ahead to the next song, but this is more like a cd skipping.

    --I removed the flac files, media players, and restarted my evo. Everything is back to normal. I would like to play flac files though.--

    Any ideas?
    Thanks,
    Wader
     
  20. diverdan182

    diverdan182 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    32
    0
    35
    i have one for my ipod touch but then i would have to hotspot my evo etc. waste of time
    sticking to cd's and songs already on my evo library..i have 2 12" subs so if its bad quality its easy to tell :p
     
  21. expletiveinserted

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    63
    4
    16
    I have the same issues with skipping during a track or skipping to the next song especially on 3G. I don't experience as many problems on 4G. However, I've noticed it skipping NOT due to the connection, but just if a COUPLE of other apps are in use such as facebook, the weather channel, etc. Also, the lock screen becomes extremely slow and takes a while to unlock or use features on the phone. After a reset the skipping due to low memory stops.

    For a 1GHz processor, it sure can't handle much.
     
  22. aburgthing

    aburgthing Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010

    Jun 24, 2010
    158
    45
    43
    District Chief in City of Pgh. paramedic rescue se
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    Have you tried Power Amp to play your flac files? Plays flac without a hitch. My favorite music player. I think its free for a month but you have to buy it $4.99 after that.

    BTW, I wonder if the Pandora problems are location specific. I live in Pittsburgh and drive around town all night listening to Pandora with no skipping or any of the problems noted here except when I go into the few known bad reception areas; then I may get a skip or two but it clears pretty quickly and I stream for hours on end with no problems.
     
  23. SoFLO

    SoFLO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    So I'm trying out Gingerbread and would you know it the skipping problem is gone...I've gone four straight songs now without any skips (before I couldn't finish one song)

    Edit: This is on wifi....I'll try 3G later
     
  24. Zumaki

    Zumaki Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    576
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    576
    26
    68
    I think it's 3G that's contributing to the problems.
     
  25. SoFLO

    SoFLO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Well for me I was getting skips even on wifi
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...