1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Panodora/Data Problem

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by onelownismo, Feb 22, 2011.

  1. onelownismo

    onelownismo Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    23
    1
    16
    I use Pandora everyday when I go to the gym and it didn't seem to be working right today. Basically I would turn on pandora, a song would come on no problem, then I would put the phone back in my pocket while I work out. Well I noticed when the song ends another one does not start, so I would pull it out of my pocket and it says "Waiting for coverage". Momentarily after that it would reconnect and start another song, then the process would repeat itself.

    I noticed the H+ symbol would have a check mark underneath it when it displayed the "Waiting for coverage" message, then it had the up/down arrows when it finally connected. Am I drifting in and out of service somehow when I put it in my pocket? My iphone never had a problem with staying connected.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Chew

    Chew Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    286
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    286
    31
    43
    South of Titletown
    I believe Pandora doesn't "technically" stream each song, rather it downloads a temp file and plays it. That's why it'll play a whole song before attempting to connect again. I don't know what to say to help with the connection problem, however.

    Have you looked into Slacker?

    Slacker Plus is $4/mo and allows you to cache up to 20 (25?) stations. You refresh on wifi and can then listen anytime/anywhere without a data connection.
     
  3. onelownismo

    onelownismo Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    23
    1
    16
    That makes sense about it not streaming the song. Maybe I'm just not in a good "4g" area.

    I've known about slacker but didn't realize you could use it without data, I'll check that out though, thanks man.
     
  4. onelownismo

    onelownismo Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    23
    1
    16
    Eh... so I realized it was Juice Defender that was shutting off my Data every time my phone locked. Duh... lol.
     
  5. stancrazy

    stancrazy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    136
    18
    38
    Dude and i thought somethign was wrong with my antenna....
     

Share This Page

Loading...