1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Paradise island no longer showing up

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by pattonthegen, Jun 15, 2011.

  1. pattonthegen

    pattonthegen Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010

    Feb 13, 2010
    149
    3
    36
    san antonio
    Hello all,

    Not sure if this is the exact area that i should be posting this questions so forgive me if it isn't.

    I downloaded Paradise Island a while back, and have been playing it for a while now on my Epic 4G. I even talked my mother into downloading it on her Epic 4G, and two other friends on their mytouch 4G via (t-mobile at the time, but beleive they were bought out since then).

    I use to get regular updates for the game via the market. Recently my two friends who own the mytouch 4g & my mother who has the same phone i do said there was a recent update to the game that added new features and buildings. So i went to the market and pulled my apps to see if i had the same update, but noticed that paradise island is no longer showing up under my apps.

    I thought this was strange because I had been getting updates for the game from time to time up until a few weeks ago. So I restarted my phone went back to the market and still no paradise island is showing up. So then i just did a search for paradise island on the market. When i pulled it up, it showed as if i needed to install the game, like its not on my phone.

    So i thought well maybe its because the game is running all the time so i did a force close, went back to search and still nothing showing up under my apps, but its there on the market for me to download.

    So then i thought well maybe i just have to many apps installed on my phone from the market, and maybe the market has a limit on how many apps it can show at any one time under my apps so i uninstalled a few minor apps i rarely used, but it still does not show up.

    I have done a search on the net to see if anyone else is having this issue, but have not found anything as of yet. I even sent a email to the developer with my problem @ 2 weeks ago, and still have not heard back from them.

    However my mother and two friends contiue to get periodic updates for the game via the market.

    I have not done anything diffrent to my phone recently, and am out of ideas of what else the issue could be. I would really like to figure this out so i can get the updates as well to enjoy the new features. This is one of my fav games to play on my phone.

    So any help is welcome!!!

    Thaks all.
     

    Advertisement

  2. pattonthegen

    pattonthegen Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010

    Feb 13, 2010
    149
    3
    36
    san antonio
    So has anyone had this same problem either with this game or any other game, and if so how did you resolve it???
     
  3. icecold

    icecold Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    667
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    667
    75
    98
    WI
    I have had this problem when I do a restore of a backup of my apps. Just reinstall the app, it shouldn't wipe any of your data on the phone.

    Otherwise, there are apps to restore market links, i.e. Ti Backup, if you are rooted.
     
  4. pattonthegen

    pattonthegen Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010

    Feb 13, 2010
    149
    3
    36
    san antonio

    Thanks for the response!

    Seems strange because i haven't done any sort of restore in a while on my phone. From time to time i will create a fresh backup of all my files, but have not done a restore in a long time on this phone.

    It just seems like from one day to the next the app was gone. I use to get updates for it all the time, but now not only do i not get updates, but it doesn't even show up under my apps installed. At one point i even had a review listed for the app, but now when i look it up on the market it only gives me the option to install, and the developer has never responded.
     
  5. SandersJC64

    SandersJC64 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    69
    20
    38
    I've had this periodically happen where an app or apps would no longer show up under My apps, and what I did was go to Menu>Settings>Applications>Manage Applications and select the All tab, find the Market app and clear cache and clear data. They would show up after that.
     
  6. pattonthegen

    pattonthegen Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010

    Feb 13, 2010
    149
    3
    36
    san antonio
    Humm went to try this, but am a bit worried because when i hit "clear data" it says "all information you've saved in this application will be deleted permanently" so i didn't do it because it seems that its going to earase all my saved data and i would have to start over, is that correct?
     
  7. icecold

    icecold Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    667
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    667
    75
    98
    WI
    If I remember correctly, the Paid apps will show up no matter what. The free ones may take some time to show back up. I think if you install and uninstall an app the free ones should be restored as well...
     
  8. pattonthegen

    pattonthegen Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010

    Feb 13, 2010
    149
    3
    36
    san antonio
    Well this is a free app, and if i uninstall it, then re-install it i will loose all my saved progress which i don't want to do.

    It seems like hitting clear data will effectivly do that??
     
  9. icecold

    icecold Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    667
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    667
    75
    98
    WI
    The data / cache would just be for the Android Market, not the apps...

    If you want the update, just reinstall the app from the market. It won't affect the data, especially if this is the only app you are having issues with.
     
  10. pattonthegen

    pattonthegen Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010

    Feb 13, 2010
    149
    3
    36
    san antonio

    Hey thanks for all the advice. I ended up just going to the market and installing the app on top of its self, and that did the trick. I didn't lose any data, and now i have the latest version and can get updates. It shows back up under my apps in the market as well.

    thanks again.
     

Share This Page

Loading...