1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Partition Issue

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Rossco_Pee, Aug 4, 2010.

  1. Rossco_Pee

    Rossco_Pee Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    270
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    270
    12
    38
    Iowa
    So I am trying to flash a new ROM that requires a partitioned SD for apps2SD. When I try to partition from ext2 to ext3, this is what I get:

    Error : Run 'fs ext3' via adb!

    Anyone know what is going on here? I am coming from CELBFroyo. Thanks.

    Edit: Duh I forgot to actually partition first. I tried to hit ext2 to ext3 first.
     

    Advertisement

  2. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
     #56
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,695
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,695
    1,927
    483
    Are you doing this within Amon's recovery?
     
  3. copestag

    copestag Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,355
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    May 23, 2010
    1,355
    247
    143
    yes its always good practice to actually create the partition before you try modifying it LOL
     
  4. AdrianC14

    AdrianC14 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    776
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    776
    62
    78
    California
    You are not suppose to partition your SD card for Froyo ROMs. If you have it partitioned, you will need to reformat your SD.
     
  5. copestag

    copestag Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,355
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    May 23, 2010
    1,355
    247
    143
    the OP is coming FROM a froyo rom and going TO a rom which requires partition
     

Share This Page

Loading...