1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root partition SD card. Im lost

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by 76ford90lx, Oct 17, 2011.

  1. 76ford90lx

    76ford90lx Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    532
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011

    Sep 10, 2011
    532
    96
    78
    Q.A. Supervisor
    Riverside, CA
    OK I'm lost and I guess u messed up. I partitioned the SD card and don't know what to do. I see the SD card know shows half its memory. But where us the other half? What do I do know? Sorry and yes I'm a idiot LOL. I'm Odin rooted and running shabby loaded 0
    9
     

    Advertisement

  2. ronk734

    ronk734 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011

    Oct 7, 2011
    43
    7
    16
    Ohio
    Well, you are ahead of me. I would like to partitioned a SD card and format, so I could put ALL of my apps on the card. Still reading and the more I read, the more lost that I get. :-(
     
  3. 76ford90lx

    76ford90lx Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    532
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011

    Sep 10, 2011
    532
    96
    78
    Q.A. Supervisor
    Riverside, CA
    LOL don't worry you can learn from my mistake. Follow me around if you want. I plan to make lots of them *facepalm*
     
  4. trenchkato

    trenchkato Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    507
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011

    Jul 9, 2011
    507
    127
    93
    Atlanta, Georgia
    how much space did you put on your partition??? it is possible the partition worked because your phone is reading it as a ext partition instead of external storage... have you tried to flash darktremors a2sd yet... if not go ahead.. then look in titanium backup (or the a2sd gui) to verify....
     
    omerta365 likes this.
  5. 76ford90lx

    76ford90lx Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    532
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011

    Sep 10, 2011
    532
    96
    78
    Q.A. Supervisor
    Riverside, CA
    I selected 1024ext and 128?? <-- cant remember that one lol. I have not tried darktremors yet and i cant for awhile, probably not even today at all. I'm going one step at a time on this. If its OK to go ahead then i will try the darktremors a2sd next time I get a chance to fiddle around.

    THANKS!!!
     
  6. trenchkato

    trenchkato Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    507
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011

    Jul 9, 2011
    507
    127
    93
    Atlanta, Georgia
    That makes sense then... 1024 = one gig of your 2 gig sd card... the 128 is used as a linux swap partition... i have mine set to 0 though, from what I understand swap is unnecessary for phone use... did you partition your card with clockwork mod??? if so installing darktremors wont be any more difficult...
     
  7. 76ford90lx

    76ford90lx Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    532
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011

    Sep 10, 2011
    532
    96
    78
    Q.A. Supervisor
    Riverside, CA
    Yes i went to CWM and did the partition honestly i was confused so i figured what the heck i would split it in two.. the "128" honestly i had no idea what it was for so i just picked the # in the middle. Thanks bro as you can see I'm a wondering noob LOL..
     
  8. 76ford90lx

    76ford90lx Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    532
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011

    Sep 10, 2011
    532
    96
    78
    Q.A. Supervisor
    Riverside, CA
    Quick question anyone. I downloaded the link2sd for right now mainly cause I'm impatient lol. So anyways I move my apps to the 2nd partition Right???

    I know dumb questions. please forgive me.
     
  9. 76ford90lx

    76ford90lx Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    532
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011

    Sep 10, 2011
    532
    96
    78
    Q.A. Supervisor
    Riverside, CA
    Nevermind. I thought you picked which one. Apparently with the link2sd it puts them on your first partition. i moved what it would let me and the second one is still empty.
     

Share This Page

Loading...