1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Partition Table problem

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by darkurza, Jan 15, 2012.

  1. darkurza

    darkurza Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011

    Apr 29, 2011
    24
    0
    15
    Toronto
    Ok so I just rooted, S-OFFed and installed Cyanogenmod 7 onto my HTC Desire. I noticed that the internal memory is the same as before so I wanted to do something about it. I read on alpharev.nl that it the partition tables could be switched. I followed their instructions:

    1) Download partition table. Since I'm using Cyanogenmod 7, I downloaded the corresponding one. 145M - 5M - 287M for System, Cache and Data.

    2) I backed up my current ROM.

    3) From RECOVERY, I flashed HBOOT and wiped everything. Cache, Data and Dalvik Cache.

    4) Restored my current ROM.

    When I checked again, the Internal memory is still at 147 M and not 287M.

    Has anyone had this problem before or know what I am doing wrong?
     

    Advertisement

  2. shauny13

    shauny13 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #106
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,274
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    1,274
    303
    163
    Male
    Beautiful Dorset
    All i know is you flash a table from fastboot not recovery, is that what you meant? From off hold back and power to get fastboot screen
     
  3. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    when you boot to hboot what does it say at the top in pink?
     
  4. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,682
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,682
    16,065
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    I think you need to read the root memory faq again. As shauny says, you don't use recovery for this (and alpharev 's instructions say that too).
     
  5. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Also you probably should format system too.if you didn't
     
  6. darkurza

    darkurza Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011

    Apr 29, 2011
    24
    0
    15
    Toronto
    Thanks for the tips. I gave up trying to figure out how this works with the phone and just did it through Windows with Android Flasher. At least now it works. I backed up and restored my CYanogen but I realize that so many settings are now screwed up. Gonna reflash Cyanogen. Hopefully this time it will be better.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...