1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support partitioning sd card help

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by south69_dallas, Feb 8, 2010.

  1. south69_dallas

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    52
    0
    15
    student/manager
    texas
    So I wanted apps 2 sd, and I used a recovery image to partion my sd card...when I first rooted. Then before loading the roms I had to switch to a diff recovery image that had the option to apply updates. That all worked great but now some the apps are not in my app drawer? And when I look in the market they are installed but I can't delete them or uninstall them. I'm using a class 4 sd. I don't know or have the materials to partion my sd other than the recovery image so should I buy a new sd? Or flash a recovery image again? And how would I do that? And how do u delte threads on here?
     

    Advertisement

  2. damnmad

    damnmad Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    185
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    185
    3
    36
    Toronto
    Here I am :)
    Nope, don't flash a recovery (yet), and don't buy an sdcard. Which ROM are you running?
     
  3. south69_dallas

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    52
    0
    15
    student/manager
    texas
    Lmao, i m running cyanogens 4.2.14.1? Whatever his last release was...that's the annoying thing one of the apps I can't. Access is cyanogen updater :(
     
  4. south69_dallas

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    52
    0
    15
    student/manager
    texas
    They were working the first couple times I. Used them then they stopped and are unaccesiible...but the apps off sd is pretty sweet otherwise, since I've rooted I can't remember the last time I've had a lot of force closes or it goin slow its just a lot 2 learn sigh....
     
  5. damnmad

    damnmad Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    185
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    185
    3
    36
    Toronto
    lol that's the best ROM ever. It is actually the last release for now. The first thing I'd try is a reboot. If that doesn't work go into terminal and try fix_permissions (not likely to fix anything). There are some other stuff you can try, but tell me about these for now. BTW are you using any themes? Oh one last thing (not sure whether it's in my theme or in CM) at launcher click menu>More>Extended>Application drawer. Again, unsure whether it's in my theme or the rom. Tell me how it goes ;)
     
  6. south69_dallas

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    52
    0
    15
    student/manager
    texas
    Rebooted...nada....fix permissions did nothing....not running any themes jus the mod as is, and what's the launcher? Or what were you saying about it? But yea I can still c them under market downloads and tap them to see desc comments but can't open or un install still....next?
     
  7. south69_dallas

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    52
    0
    15
    student/manager
    texas
    Have u tried the open eclair or sum the others I've stuck with only cyanogen cuz I'm wary of putting a rom and not having the right other stuff n goofing up my phone even more lol
     
  8. damnmad

    damnmad Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    185
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    185
    3
    36
    Toronto
    lol No I haven't tried Eclair yet, but I did try some other stuff. CM is the best though. Back to your phone, go into terminal and type "ls /data/app" Look for the apps that you have but can't access. Tell me if you can see them there.
     
  9. south69_dallas

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    52
    0
    15
    student/manager
    texas
    Fisrt it said not found then I put a space after ls and it said permission denied?
     
  10. damnmad

    damnmad Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    185
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    185
    3
    36
    Toronto
    oh then type su then enter first. It'll ask you for permission. Allow it. That's root access ;)
     
  11. south69_dallas

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    52
    0
    15
    student/manager
    texas
    No they're not there??? Is that good or bad
     
  12. damnmad

    damnmad Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    185
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    185
    3
    36
    Toronto
    Can't say whether it's good or bad, but confusing for sure. Try flashing your ROM again is all I can suggest. This is where my experience hits a barrel. OUCH... Nandroid flash+ext first so u can have full option of reverting. The recovery that partitioned your sdcard can probably perform flash+ext backups. If not, I know for sure this one has it. It's the recovery I use (my fave so far)
     
  13. south69_dallas

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    52
    0
    15
    student/manager
    texas
    Ok so how would I change recovery images I can put the 1 back re partion my sd card re dowwnload my apps...wld I have 2 add the rom again? Can I use terminal 2 change recovery
     
  14. damnmad

    damnmad Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    185
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    185
    3
    36
    Toronto
    No I meant just flash the recovery. Then you backup with Nandroid (using the recovery). Flash the ROM again (no wipe this time). If nothing happens, wipe. No use, you can repartition sdcard or restore your backup.
     
  15. south69_dallas

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    52
    0
    15
    student/manager
    texas
    Ok but what do u mean flash the recovery what's flash? I'm still getting used to the tterms
     
  16. damnmad

    damnmad Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    185
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    185
    3
    36
    Toronto
    Sorry I was away.. again lol. Flash is what you do in fastboot. If you don't know what that is nvm. Just put the recovery into the sdcard and load it into the phone. BTW are you using Recovery Flasher? See if the apps return (very unlikely to me). If they don't, get into recovery mode and Nandroid backup. Then apply Cyanogenmod again. The CM file should be on the root of your sdcard. This can get you familiar with fastboot. You won't have to use it if you didn't use it when you rooted your phone. Flashing is replacing some software on the phone with another. Have you noticed Recovery "Flasher?" Just in case you use it. Tell me if unclear. I might be away for some time though. Sorry
     
  17. south69_dallas

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    52
    0
    15
    student/manager
    texas
    I went to terminal and input the command it didn't do anything, I researched on google through several threads and 2 things, 1st uninstall apps through market not settings and 2 if they r uninstalled and market thinks they're not ex open and uninstall r greyed out etc. Go to settings and managge apps click on market and uninstall updates. When I went back 2 market the apps were uninstalled and I was able 2 reinstall yay! Thanks 4 all the help so how do I close this thread?
     
  18. damnmad

    damnmad Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    185
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    185
    3
    36
    Toronto
    Wow lol You're welcome. Wasn't I bad this time? :D
    You just leave the thread open. I don't think there's a method of closing it. People should realize it's been solved... So one more thing to add to what I know. Thanks
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...