1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Password dots in Google search weirdness...

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by kayak23, May 2, 2011.

  1. kayak23

    kayak23 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011

    Jan 23, 2011
    14
    1
    16
    Ok, so the latest weird thing that this phone has started doing for no reason is, when I type any text into the google homepage, it turns into dots....just like when you enter a password in a password box.

    I was using it fine this morning, everything normal, then it just started doing this for no apparent reason...

    Has anyone come across this before or more importantly, know how to fix it?
    Ahhhhhgggghhhhh!!!!!!
    ahem...
     

    Advertisement

  2. malcster

    malcster Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    245
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010

    Aug 2, 2010
    245
    59
    53
    Male
    Nottinghamshire
    Got.exactly the same.problem this morning also my lifes wildfire has it also
    Seems a.bit hit and miss sometimes it does it other times it ok

    Strange
     
  3. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,075
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,075
    23,990
    3,118
    Scotland
  4. mogune

    mogune Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    20
    2
    16
    Got problem with Google search field since this morning. Nothing new was installed, or old unistalled, but now when type I get dots instead of letters, like when one types in password field. Tried changing language and keyboard, but no luck. Went over Google settings, also no luck. Even more strange is that it only happens on Google, but when the search is done and I try to type in search field of a Google result page, everything is ok. Don' know if it is relevant, but yesterday I've changed my Google account password.
    Does anyone have any thoughts?
     
  5. palubi090

    palubi090 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 2, 2011

    May 2, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    This is not a solution but just to let you know I'm having the same problem. Nothing new installed, updated, removed or downloaded and no settings changed and up until last night Google was working as normal. Now I'm getting these 'password' dots which is extremely irritating!!!! Seems to me that we are not going to be the only ones!!
     
  6. mogune

    mogune Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    20
    2
    16
    Yeah, but it seems that only people with HTC phones are affected. By the way, mine is HTC Desire.
     
  7. palubi090

    palubi090 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 2, 2011

    May 2, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Yep, I've also got a HTC Desire, interesting..............
     
  8. jordin

    jordin Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 2, 2011

    May 2, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I have the same problem since I switched on this morning. Restart does nothing. Can anyone help?
     
  9. mogune

    mogune Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    20
    2
    16
    Ha, ha, ha... Stupid HTC Desire! :)
     
  10. ancestryangel

    ancestryangel Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 2, 2011

    May 2, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    I have an HTC Desire HD and have the same problem.
     
  11. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,075
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,075
    23,990
    3,118
    Scotland
  12. dildeep

    dildeep Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010

    Dec 1, 2010
    16
    0
    15
    I solved this by going on applications and i just cleared the data of the internet

    Nope only temp solved it
     
  13. Andy.Roid

    Andy.Roid Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 2, 2011

    May 2, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Yep, I'm also getting the same 'password dots' as I type in the Google search bar...I thought it was just me!
    Any fixes let me know.
     
  14. Dcorys

    Dcorys Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 2, 2011

    May 2, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Htc desire z, same issue. I noticed it about 12 hours ago. Goggle mobile only. I switch to classic and all is good. Has anyone notified htc, or found more workarounds?
     
  15. mogune

    mogune Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    20
    2
    16
    In case anyone wonders, Clear data for internet app doesn't help.
    If you wish to try that anyway don't forget to back up your bookmarks first.
     
  16. jayess

    jayess Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 2, 2011

    May 2, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Happening to me today too. I wondered if it was some cute thing that Google was doing just for today.
     
  17. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,433
    Posts:
    13,001
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    13,001
    9,606
    1,433
    UK
    It doesn't seem to be affecting me on CM7, so I'm guesting it's a HTC Sense thing.
     
  18. Aldasa

    Aldasa Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 2, 2011

    May 2, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Just reporting that it happens on my wifes stock HTC Desire, but NOT on my rooted HTC Desire running CM7
     
  19. Jamie95

    Jamie95 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 2, 2011

    May 2, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Same problem. As far as i know i havent changed any setting. i just noticed that google was producing dots in the search bar! I have run out of ideas to solve the problem. someone out there please help me and everyone else experiencing the same problem.:( it seems to be quite common.:thinking:

    I have an HTC WILDFIRE by the way:)
     
  20. ancestryangel

    ancestryangel Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 2, 2011

    May 2, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Have sent email to HTC UK customer services but expect it Is worldwide problem so will have to wait and see if it gets fixed.
     
  21. landovr

    landovr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    723
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011

    Feb 2, 2011
    723
    75
    78
    Firefighter
    Alberta Canada
    Is this on the search widget or in the browser. Just curious to see if it happens to me.
     
  22. katseyz

    katseyz Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 2, 2011

    May 2, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Hi, i am having the same problem with an htc thunderbolt.
    i went to the local verizon store this morning to see if there was a fix.
    sales rep told me his thunderbolt was not doing this but within fifteen minutes or so his was doing the same thing.
    type into main google search screen turns text into dots similar to what you get when you enter a password.
    he called the htc rep but got his voicemail, then he called verizon support where the tech said they had gotten calls from people with several different types of phones.
    they claim this is a google mobile problem that will need to be repaired by google.
    kat
     
  23. Mitchturbo

    Mitchturbo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011

    Jan 21, 2011
    162
    11
    58
    Male
    Night Porter
    Lincolnshire UK
    Seems ok for me?

    Edit: if you press the search button on the phone, type in Google, it seems fine on the Google site...

    But when I went through my default browser it is showing up as dots as you've all said...
    Strange ??
     
  24. malcster

    malcster Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    245
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010

    Aug 2, 2010
    245
    59
    53
    Male
    Nottinghamshire
    Google homepage in the search box
    The instant search still predicts what you are typing though so I.still can't search for porn if the wife is.near :p
     
  25. kayak23

    kayak23 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011

    Jan 23, 2011
    14
    1
    16
    Its on the browser only, doesn't happen on the dedicated search button bottom right...
    Annoying as hell, glad to see I'm not alone though..
     

Share This Page

Loading...