1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support PAW Server + https

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by will_a, Oct 12, 2010.

  1. will_a

    will_a Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    28
    6
    16
    Littleton, CO
    I just ran across the 'PAW Server' app and it's pretty neat so far. I don't want to use it with http though, so I enabled https and restarted the app. It doesn't work at all now.

    I enabled bluetooth so I could manually update the config file on the sdcard and restart the server in http mode. It instantly started working again. I've tried a couple of different ports but can't get the https mode to work at all. The docs say that it will be slower which is understandable, but since it's not working at all I have to assume that I'm doing something wrong and missing something obvious.

    Anyone else using the PAW Server app with https enabled?


    thanks,
    will
     

    Advertisement

  2. joschi70

    joschi70 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009

    Oct 30, 2009
    6
    0
    5
    Hi Will,
    there seems to be a problem regarding https.
    This used to work, but somehow it doesn't any more.
    I'll have a look at it next week. Hopefully this will be fixed in the next release.
    Thanks for pointing that out.

    Bye
    Jochen
     
  3. will_a

    will_a Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    28
    6
    16
    Littleton, CO
    Hey Jochen,

    Thanks for the quick reply. So are you the developer of this app? It's really useful. Too bad I'm paranoid about using http for it. The web UI looks really clean and nice. If you are the developer, could I ask for one other security paranoid thing? It would be better if the initial login screen did not have any version or application name or anything that would help fingerprint it. Should just have 2 text fields and a button.


    thanks,
    will
     
  4. joschi70

    joschi70 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009

    Oct 30, 2009
    6
    0
    5
    Hi Will,

    sorry for the late reply.
    Yes I am the developer.
    HTTPS should work on next release, although there are some problems regarding SSL and Java when stoppng the server. In this case I have to kill the application, otherwise it will hang. Anyway, HTTPS should be working again.
    About the login screen ... I'll think about it.

    Bye
    Jochen
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...