• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

PC to phone syncing

Hi everyone,
although I know my way around Windows computers I am a complete novice when it comes to Android and Smart Phones. I have a 4 days old LG L55c Android 2.3.4 smart phone and am working my way through it.

Lists and Notes
:
I have installed EverNote, Astrid, etc. and am not totally satisfied. I am looking for an app that I can sync to some equivalent on my own Windows PC (or import a comma sep file) without needing to go through the web or Google. That is by direct usb cable. Is that possible? Does everything I use on the phone have to also be in the cloud? I am still leery of intrusting my stuff to the cloud.

Calendar:

Same question, Would like a calendar for my phone that I could sync with my PC via usb cable without passing first through the cloud. Most calendars on the PC import and export to standard ics files but I cannot find an Android calendar app that can import ics files.

There must be many others who would like something like this. Does it exist?

Thank you.

Personally, I think your fears of the cloud are unfounded because it's about ten million times more likely that your personal data will get compromised because your phone gets lost or stolen or because your house gets robbed, than because Google's or Microsoft's cloud gets hacked, and then your data (among all the millions of users) gets abused. However, if clouds are really against your religion or something...