1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

PDANet v2.45 -vs- v3.02

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by Rgray107918, Dec 17, 2011.

  1. Rgray107918

    Rgray107918 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011

    Dec 17, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    I have a droidX running android v2.3.3

    I just got an iPad2 running v5.0.1


    A couple of months ago I downloaded PDANet to use through USB with my desktop. The program worked flawlessly, and I enjoyed it. I later got in-home internet and stopped using PDANet. I never tried the bluetooth pairing before because I only needed USB pairing.

    When I got my iPad2 (couple of days ago) I decided to try PDANet through bluetooth (using v2.45). It worked, but was shaky. The connection wasn't great and my droid was literally inoperable while running PDANet through bluetooth. The droid was supplying data to the iPad, but I couldn't use the droid for anything else while PDANet was running.

    I decided to get the newest version of PDANet (v3.02) and see if it would work any better.

    Now, after installing v3.02, the iPad won't discover the droid at all. I've tried using PDANet v2.45 and v3.02 and no matter what, the iPad won't discover the droid.

    Anyone have any ideas or comments?
     

    Advertisement

  2. chiefvelo

    chiefvelo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    52
    2
    16
    I have a Bionic and ipad2. I asked pdanet about the bluetooth and they said it is not supported. but, you can pair it directly without pdanet and get internet access on the ipad. the only catch is that for some reason it only works on 3g and not 4g. I haven't tried it since the Bionic update this week so maybe it's been blocked or maybe not. You could uninstall pdanet like i did.
     
  3. Rgray107918

    Rgray107918 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011

    Dec 17, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Thanks for the reply.

    Yeah, I unistalled the new version and I was able to pair and connect the two again using the older v2.45.

    So, were you ever able to get PDANet to work for you on 3G? If so, did it bog your phone down terribly?

    Thanks
     
  4. Rgray107918

    Rgray107918 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011

    Dec 17, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    As an update, I am now able to get v3.02 to work.

    Possibly I was not pairing/connecting the phone and iPad correctly or I just got a bad download of PDANet from the market.

    I deleted v3.02 from the phone. One day later I reinstalled v3.02 and it now pairs, and works. My phone runs considerably better using v3.02 than it did running v2.45.

    The phone is still bogged down a bit, but I can at least scroll through screens, open apps, and use widgets. Everything takes a bit longer, but at least it works.

    The data speed on the iPad seems good as well.
     

Share This Page

Loading...