1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root pdf viewer

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by droidkevlar, Mar 28, 2010.

  1. droidkevlar

    droidkevlar Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    815
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    815
    111
    93
    If I rem correctly, GrdLock removed the pdf viewer from his ROM for the latest OTA leak. Anyone have that apk? Thanks in advance everyone.
     

    Advertisement

  2. NorthCounty

    NorthCounty Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    5
    0
    5
    He posted it today in his thread on xda. I couldn't get it to work though. Of course I really don't know what I'm doing either. If you get it to work please let me know.
     
  3. droidkevlar

    droidkevlar Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    815
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    815
    111
    93
    DO you have a link? COuldnt find it from searching for pdf
     
  4. tokyoglow

    tokyoglow Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010

    Mar 10, 2010
    37
    1
    36
    its in the latest official ROM 0.7 as well as evil eris 1.1
     
  5. droidkevlar

    droidkevlar Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    815
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    815
    111
    93
    ya, saw that but wanted to get it back on the ROM that GrdLock made...thanks though
     
  6. Bowho

    Bowho Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010

    Mar 21, 2010
    5
    1
    6
    I agree. I want to keep GrdLock's ROM, but the pdf viewer would be a useful addition.
     
  7. NorthCounty

    NorthCounty Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    5
    0
    5
  8. Bowho

    Bowho Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010

    Mar 21, 2010
    5
    1
    6
    Thanks NC for the link.... I just can't get it to install. I put in on SD card, browsed card for .apk using Astro File Manager. Everything starts out good however when i click on install, it starts up installing for about 1 second and then says ( Application not installed ).

    I am sure it is just my ignorance.
     
  9. GrdLock

    GrdLock Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    405
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009

    Nov 25, 2009
    405
    188
    68
    Texas
    Ok, fixed the PDFViewer problem.

    http://android.grdlock.net//index.p...lename=PDFViewer.apk&directory=GrdLocks Roms&

    You'll need that file, not one you may have previously downloaded. You probably can't install it via ASTRO or some other file manager either.

    Copy the file to your sdcard, then unmount it from your computer.
    Open up command prompt, change to your tools directory, and type these commands:

    adb shell
    su
    mount -o rw,remount /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
    cp /sdcard/PDFViewer.apk /system/app

    You should now have PDFViewer on your phone. If you get a disk space error that you're out of space, replace that last command with this one:

    cp /sdcard/PDFViewer.apk /data/app

    :)
     
  10. droidkevlar

    droidkevlar Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    815
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    815
    111
    93
    Thank you so much! you ROCK!
     
  11. Bowho

    Bowho Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010

    Mar 21, 2010
    5
    1
    6
    I second that ! Thanks GrdLock !
     
  12. NorthCounty

    NorthCounty Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    5
    0
    5
    Thank You!!
     
  13. dusthead

    dusthead Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010

    Jan 3, 2010
    86
    1
    36
    US Navy - IT Instructor
    New London, CT
    tried this today...once i put in the "su" command it printed the command again on the next line, then moved to the next line with no # or anything. now any command i enter is just mirrored with nothing happening....arg.

    EDIT: i tried it again and looked at my eris after i entered the "su" command...it came up with a prompt asking if i wanted to allow it...pressed allow and got #. perfect with fiirst copy command...thanks!
     

Share This Page

Loading...