1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root People can't hear me if I have headphones on

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DreamRaider, May 2, 2012.

  1. DreamRaider

    DreamRaider Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011

    Nov 29, 2011
    96
    0
    35
    Well you know the admires speaker for calls isn't too great, so I tried using my headphones to hear better. But there is a problem. No one can hear me talking while the headphones are in. I don't understand and that makes no sense, basically the headphone port is useless. No one can hear me unless I enable tty VCO, can anyone explain why? and this only helps for calls, but for skype or anything else no one can hear me. Any help please?
     

    Advertisement

  2. ajamie123

    ajamie123 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    196
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    196
    14
    38
    If your using regular headphones it mutes the phone mic if your using a headset then it should work
     
  3. DreamRaider

    DreamRaider Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011

    Nov 29, 2011
    96
    0
    35
    Headset with only one headphone slot? Well how can I disable that, I know lots of people that use headphones when they talk. Regular skull candy head phones.
     
  4. ajamie123

    ajamie123 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    196
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    196
    14
    38
    If you use a headset like from an iPhone it will work
     
  5. Jdgui

    Jdgui Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    139
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012

    Mar 24, 2012
    139
    22
    38
    Male
    california
    You need headphones with a mic....... #laggin
     
  6. InFiD3ViL

    InFiD3ViL Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012

    Mar 5, 2012
    109
    24
    38
    IT
    Spring Hill, Florida
    Yeah, the hands free that have the integrated mic is what works.

    I know when I plug in my Turtle Beach headset, it mutes the entire phone from external audio. The TB headset I use has a mic but it is USB and the headphones part is 3.5mm.

    Some older Metro phones used to come with the hands free earpiece. They even had an in-line mute switch.
     
  7. Mela Mela

    Mela Mela Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2017

    Apr 2, 2017
    1
    0
    5
    Good Day

    I have a Samsung Galaxy A5 2015 running on Marshmellow. However, I have a Samsung hearphone that is working properly. Since recently, when I am on a call for example Whatsapp call, I can hear the person but they are not able to hear me. Also, I am not able to send voice not when my hearphone is plugged in because it is not recording. I have read a similar problem like this on the net and they said the case might be the fault. And to think about it I bought a case 3 days back and It is maybe that reason. I tried to plug it in properly but still nothing happens. Please tell me how to solve this
     
  8. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    24,957
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    24,957
    13,917
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    Same as the OP probably, you need to use headphones that have a mic in them.
     
  9. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,671
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,671
    16,051
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    If you think your case may be the cause (stopping you from plugging headphones in properly?) that's really easy to test. (1) was it working before you put the case on, and (2) if you take the case off does it work? If the answer to both is "yes" then it's the case. If the answer to (2) is "no" then it's not the case.

    Otherwise, as Mike says does the headphone have a mic? If it does, does it work in another device, and does a different one work in your phone? Just swaps headphones with a friend and call each other to test: if you still have a problem with your phone then it's your phone, if they now have the problem and you don't it's the headphones.
     
    tommo47 and mikedt like this.
  10. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    24,957
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    24,957
    13,917
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    What should happen is, if you are using headphones that don't have a mic, the phone should make its own mic active for the call. And you'll need to hold the phone near your mouth, if it's down in your pants pocket or something, callers may not hear you.

    I know one phone I had, think it was a Nokia Symbian, and it would state "Use the phone mic for calls." and that was when using headphones without a mic in them instead of the stock Nokia headset, which did have a mic .
     
    tommo47 and Hadron like this.
  11. tommo47

    tommo47 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #52
    Points:
    463
    Posts:
    1,050
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012

    Feb 5, 2012
    1,050
    1,901
    463
    Male
    Retired
    Llangollen, North Wales.
    My HTC M7 & M9 have the equivalent of this in that there are two distinctly different earphone indicators that appear in the notification bar depending on whether a 3 ring earphone plug (microphone equipped) or 2 ring earphone plug (without microphone) is in use, and the phone makes the appropriate microphone active.

    Screenshot_20170403-102526.png Screenshot_20170403-102308.png
     
    #11 tommo47, Apr 3, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2017
    mikedt likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...